We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andy keen wrote a review May 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom1316 contributions375 helpful votes
+1
We do not love cruising but one can only sail around the Hoorn in a ship.
We have done a world cruise, the Baltics and Alaska, all required a ship.

Food was not as good as we expected but was good.
Some times the food was only warm and the dress up resteraunt was repetitive with an 8 day repeat
Drinks very expensive £14 for a small house wine inc service charge and £7.30 for a beer.

Ship organisation was excellent with getting on and off in every port a dream.

Resident group in the Yacht Club Synergie were amazing, we love bopping but these guys could play everything in every style

Lara Szabo the harpist....stunningly good as was all the classical performances.

Evening shows......in house gang, Brilliant.....three booked shows were good....the rest very poor stuff.

Ships tours are very expensive around £150 for most ports.
All around South America we went off piste….VERY safe as long as one behaves as one would in Londinium.
Hired a taxi in Lima for two days....4 of us £70 each and we went EVERYWHERE including Pachacarma, Miraflores, Markets etc.

Get off the ship and there are loads of tours right in front of you.
Do not listen to scare stories, folk fall in love, have babies and grannies in S America and they watch out for tourists.
Go to the T I in every port..
End of the world train plus tour of Ushuaia cost us £45 each,,,,ship charged £150 each.

Do NOT pay the service charge...tip individually as you think.
Go to the desk and tell them you do not wish to pay the service charge as it is optional
We paid £1600 up front as we were told it was for cabin steward and meal waiters...NOT so and we had to tip these separately.

All in.....not a bad cruise but deck space is limited as a big part of the deck is reserved for first class...( called Princes grill and queens grill )
Read more
Sail Date: January 2020
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip:
Destination: South America
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Cunard Queen Victoria

55 reviews
 All photos (2,141)2,141
Full view
Traveller (178)
Common Areas (1,233)
Dining and Bars (557)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
5 Night Cruise to the Baltic Sea
Departure date
Friday, 22/04/22
Route
Southampton, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Southampton
View Map
Cruise OnlyUS$533pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$533pp
View Deal
View all 4 deals

Overview

About
Passengers: 2,081   |   Crew: 981
Passengers to crew: 2.12:1
Passengers to space: 44.7:1
Launched: 2007   

Decks

  • Deck 1
  • Deck 2
  • Deck 3
  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
Additional decks
Deck 1 layout
Cabins
  Deluxe Inside (GB)  
  Deluxe Inside (GC)  
  Oceanview (EF)  
  Oceanview (EB)  
  Oceanview (EC)  
 
Amenities
Pursers Office
Toilets
Connexions 1
Tour Office
Toilets
Royal Court Theatre
Grand Lobby

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 242 - 472 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 0
Accessible rooms: 14
Maximum passengers: 3
Number of cabins: 566

Activities & entertainment

Activities (45)
  • Aerobic Area
  • Afternoon Tea
  • Art Classes*
  • Ballroom Dance Classes
  • Book Clubs
  • Bridge Classes
  • Champagne Afternoon Tea*
  • Connexions 1*
  • Connexions 2&3*
  • Courtyard
  • Cunard Royal Spa & Fitness Centre*
  • Cunard Royal Spa & Fitness Centre*
  • Darts Competitions
  • Deck Quoits
  • Fencing Classes
  • Fitness Classes*
  • Gala Evening Balls
  • Golf Competitions
  • Hair Salon*
  • Hot Tubs (4)
  • Hydropool*
  • iPad and Computer Workshops*
  • Karaoke
  • Library
  • Library
  • Needlework & Knitting Corners
  • Onboard Movies
  • Pools (2)
  • Royal Spa & Fitness Centre*
  • Royal Spa & Fitness Centre*
  • Scavenger Hunts
  • Shuffleboard Competitions
  • Solo Travelers Get Togethers
  • Spa*
  • Sports Deck
  • Thalassotherapy Pool*
  • The Alcove
  • The Book Shop*
  • The Zone*
  • Thermal Suites*
  • Trivia
  • Wellbeing Seminars
  • Children's Outdoor Area
  • Teens' Outdoor Area
  • The Play Zone
Entertainment (10)
  • Casino*
  • Nightly DJ
  • Nightly Live Music
  • Onboard Lectures
  • Passenger Talent Shows
  • Queens Room
  • Royal Court Theatre
  • Royal Court Theatre
  • Royal Court Theatre (Middle)
  • Yacht Club
Dining (25)
  • Bar - Atrium Bar*
  • Bar - Nautical bar*
  • Bar - Bar*
  • Bar - Bar*
  • Midships Lounge - Atrium Bar*
  • Lido Restaurant - Casual
  • Winter Garden - Casual bar*
  • Churchill's Cigar Lounge - Cigar Bar*
  • Admiral's Lounge - Clubby Lounge*
  • Golden Lion - English Pub*
  • Lido Grill - Fast Food
  • The Verandah Restaurant - French*
  • Britannia Club - International
  • Britannia Restaurant - International
  • Britannia Restaurant - International
  • Commodore Club - Martini Bar*
  • Chart Room - Nautical bar*
  • Lido Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Pavilion Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Grills Lounge - Suite Guests
  • Grills Terrace - Suite Guests
  • Grills Upper Terrace - Suite Guests
  • Princess Grill - Suite Guests
  • Queens Grill - Suite Guests
  • Bar - Verandah Bar*
* May require additional fees
Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 9
  • 12
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
James M wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions
Today Cunard sent me a brochure. Last cruise with Cunard was some time ago and the worst ever cruise of all my 20 cruises. It was a Christmas/New Year cruise and sadly the food and the service was not 'white star service'. By the time I got my meal every evening the other people on the table had finished their meal. The last meal I ate in the restaurant was a medium rare steak. It came out dripping in blood. When I sent it back the head waiter said there was no such thing as a medium rare steak. I'd love to go on another cruise but nervous booking with Cunard.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Andy keen wrote a review May 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom1316 contributions375 helpful votes
+1
We do not love cruising but one can only sail around the Hoorn in a ship. We have done a world cruise, the Baltics and Alaska, all required a ship. Food was not as good as we expected but was good. Some times the food was only warm and the dress up resteraunt was repetitive with an 8 day repeat Drinks very expensive £14 for a small house wine inc service charge and £7.30 for a beer. Ship organisation was excellent with getting on and off in every port a dream. Resident group in the Yacht Club Synergie were amazing, we love bopping but these guys could play everything in every style Lara Szabo the harpist....stunningly good as was all the classical performances. Evening shows......in house gang, Brilliant.....three booked shows were good....the rest very poor stuff. Ships tours are very expensive around £150 for most ports. All around South America we went off piste….VERY safe as long as one behaves as one would in Londinium. Hired a taxi in Lima for two days....4 of us £70 each and we went EVERYWHERE including Pachacarma, Miraflores, Markets etc. Get off the ship and there are loads of tours right in front of you. Do not listen to scare stories, folk fall in love, have babies and grannies in S America and they watch out for tourists. Go to the T I in every port.. End of the world train plus tour of Ushuaia cost us £45 each,,,,ship charged £150 each. Do NOT pay the service charge...tip individually as you think. Go to the desk and tell them you do not wish to pay the service charge as it is optional We paid £1600 up front as we were told it was for cabin steward and meal waiters...NOT so and we had to tip these separately. All in.....not a bad cruise but deck space is limited as a big part of the deck is reserved for first class...( called Princes grill and queens grill )
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Rob Liddle wrote a review Apr 2020
7 contributions
Cabin and dining staff always polite and helpful. Cunard pays great attention to guests' safety and health stressing importance of hygeine and sanitation. Sadly, many passengers appeared to ignore this advice, failing to remain in cabins when sick with colds and coughs. Food generally excellent and most of the nightly entertainment superb. A minor annoyance for us was the requirement for men to wear coats to dinner on informal nights given the limited packing space.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Jim B wrote a review Mar 2020
Paris, France78 contributions45 helpful votes
While the ship itself is really beautiful there are many problems here that justify not booking again: 1. The new suites on the back of the ship are visually stunning and spacious, however, the construction and location both result in ENORMOUS noise, especially in rougher seas. This lead to 7 sleepless nights, and needless to say, some grumpy passengers. These are very expensive as well. 2. The internet is insanely expensive and way below standard as far as speed and downloading. The idea of paying for dated internet is really unacceptable, in fact, shameful. Even the staff complains bitterly about this! 3. If you book the Queen's Grill, and you are NOT a world traveler (that is, on the 70+ day cruise) despite a hefty tab you are treated like a second class citizen with the worst possible seating available. In fact, one couple just left the ship mid cruise after being seated in an undesirable 6 top table despite requesting a two top long before the cruise began. On more than one occasion, we have been seated either next to the crew exit or serving station.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Chris Grice wrote a review Feb 2020
Chester, United Kingdom3 contributions6 helpful votes
This was our second timeon this stunning ship and I am pleased to say it did not disapoint, Infact if anything the service was better this year than the last time we went. I will keep this review to: service, dinning, entertainment and accessability. Service: The service on Cunard has always been second to non, and sometimes it only takes a trip to a 'normal hotel' to remind yourself of the differance. the room stuards were fantastic, the waiting staff were so propt and professional, but at the same time not stuffy Dinning: we didn't eat in the buffet for main meals but the snacks and pizzas etc were yummy. the main dinning room had a fantasic sellections of alacate menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. typically around 5 options of starters main and pudd for each meal, we never had a duplicated menu. if you could not find what you wanted or didnt like the source etc they would do their best to accomodate (which with a 500 plate sitting is pretty impressive) Entertainment: all cunard ships are focused areound relaxing and the queen Vic is no exception. the daytime entertainment was fab, expect lots of quizes as well as casino torniments, demon trations and seminars.. our cruise also had Fencing lessons which was great fun (all be it a little wobbly on a sea day) the evening shows seemed to have gone down in quality from last year, the performers seemed less pollished and the standard of dancing had declined. there were however more musicians in the bars this time around which suited us better, so swings and round abouts really. Accessability: Our son has Autism and I have to say the staff where fantastic with him, they also helped up by giving us details of the boarding process and ship so that we could help him prepair. The other guests where also very good with him (on the most part) Due to the laied back nature of their ship I would really recomend it to anyone with both physical or hidden disabily Tips n tricks. - If you need help ask the staff, or email ahead, they have always been fantastic - the behind the sceans tour is fantasic, espessially if you are into 'how it works / megaships type things - as others have stated the drinks are comparible with a City Hotel, i was used to this as I go to a lot of business meetings and events, but to some it was a shock. Personaly i didn't mind it.. i would rather pay an extra £1.50 for my drink and enjoy it than be surrounded by larger louts anyway - Casina, if you go to the free casino lessons, you may well get a free bingo ticket :-)
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
5 Night Cruise to the Baltic Sea
Departure date
Friday, 22/04/22
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Top deals
Cruise OnlyUS$533pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$533pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$517pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$533pp
View Deal
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.