We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Joanne H wrote a review Oct 2020
Bingley, United Kingdom1002 contributions252 helpful votes
I sailed from New York to Southampton, I used the cruise to relocate back to the UK after living in Florida for 7 years. It was cheaper than flying and I was able to bring more luggage back while I waited for the rest of my belongings to be shipped.
Having never sailed before I was not sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the amenities there were in it. The ship was lovely, the food was tasty and fresh and I enjoyed both the buffet and formal nights
The entertainment was on the whole pretty good
Although I was using the cruise as a means to an end I actually enjoyed myself and would recommend this ship to others
Read more
Sail Date: November 2019
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip:
Destination: Europe
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Cunard Queen Mary 2 (QM2)

156 reviews
 All photos (3,546)3,546
Full view
Traveller (328)
Common Areas (2,108)
Dining and Bars (1,014)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
28 Night Cruise to the Eastern Caribbean
Departure date
Monday, 13/12/21
Route
Southampton, New York (Manhattan), New York (Manhattan), New York (Manhattan), Tortola, St. Kitts (Port Zante), Barbados, Dominica, St. Maarten, New York (Manhattan), Southampton
View Map
Cruise OnlyUS$3,764pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$5,484pp
View Deal
View all 4 deals

Overview

About
Passengers: 2,620   |   Crew: 1,292
Passengers to crew: 2.03:1
Passengers to space: 56.6:1
Launched: 2004   

Decks

  • Deck 2
  • Deck 3
  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
Additional decks
Deck 2 layout
Cabins
  Single Oceanview (KB)  
 
Amenities
Gents
Grand Lobby
Golden Lion
Tour Office
Britannia Club
Royal Court Theatre
Photo Gallery
Gents
G32
Bar
Casino
Disabled Restroom
Britannia Club
Bar
Cunard Connexions
Tour Office
Britannia Restaurant
Illuminations
Pursers Office
Voyage Sales Office
Gents

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 250 - 270 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 150
Accessible rooms: 3
Maximum passengers: 3
Number of cabins: 813

Activities & entertainment

Activities (46)
  • Afternoon Tea
  • Art Classes*
  • Atlantic Room
  • Ballroom Dance Classes
  • Beauty Salon*
  • Book Clubs
  • Bookshop*
  • Bridge Classes
  • Canyon Ranch SpaClub*
  • Canyon Ranch SpaClub*
  • Canyon Ranch SpaClub*
  • Champagne Afternoon Tea*
  • Cunard Connexions*
  • Darts Competitions
  • Deck Quoits
  • Fencing Classes
  • Fitness Center
  • Fitness Classes*
  • Gala Evening Balls
  • Golf Competitions
  • Hot Tubs (7)
  • iPad and Computer Workshops*
  • Karaoke
  • Library
  • Needlework & Knitting Corners
  • Onboard Movies
  • Photo Studio*
  • Pools (3)
  • Relaxation Lounge*
  • Scavenger Hunts
  • Shuffleboard
  • Shuffleboard
  • Shuffleboard
  • Shuffleboard
  • Shuffleboard Competitions
  • Solo Travelers Get Togethers
  • Sports Centre
  • Sports Centre
  • Thalassotherapy Pool*
  • The Fairways*
  • Therapy Pool*
  • Trivia
  • Wellbeing Seminars
  • Baby Zone*
  • The Kids Zone /Teen Zone
  • The Play Zone
Entertainment (14)
  • Casino*
  • G32
  • Illuminations
  • Illuminations
  • Illuminations
  • Nightly DJ
  • Nightly Live Music
  • Onboard Lectures
  • Passenger Talent Shows
  • Planetarium Movies
  • Queens Room
  • Royal Court Theatre
  • Royal Court Theatre
  • G32
Dining (26)
  • Bar - Nightclub Bar*
  • Bar - Pool Bar
  • Bar*
  • Bar*
  • Bar*
  • Bar*
  • Bar*
  • Kings Court - Casual
  • Champagne Bar - Champagne*
  • Churchill's - Cigar Bar*
  • Sir Samuel's - Coffee & Wine*
  • Golden Lion - English Pub*
  • Boardwalk Café - Fast Food
  • The Verandah Restaurant - French*
  • Britannia Club - International
  • Britannia Club - International
  • Britannia Restaurant - International
  • Britannia Restaurant - International
  • Commodore Club - Martini Bar*
  • Chart Room - Nautical bar*
  • Terrace Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Grills Lounge - Suite Guests
  • Grills Terrace - Suite Guests*
  • Princess Grill - Suite Guests
  • Queens Grill - Suite Guests
  • Carinthia Lounge - Wine Bar*
* May require additional fees
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 24
  • 21
  • 8
  • 11
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
OrsaKSA wrote a review Nov 2021
Roma29 contributions40 helpful votes
Dear Cunard Management, i am writing this here because there is no way i can contact you and your customer service people basically tells me that you have no managers.... I tried to call , the customer service told me to write ( in a very rude and hill mannered way ), I wrote to customer service and nobody is answering. I wrote to Cunard Group and to Onboard service for a month and nobody bother to even acknowledge the email. This is appalling! I booked a Britannia balcony for the cruise in August Southampton to NewYork and i need some support that i am not getting. I hope anyone from Cunard reads my message before i cancel the trip
Read more
Helpful
Share
James Stuart S wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
In all, I have now had four cruises cancelled due to covid. Each time they sent an email to say I could have 100% refund, or the fcc of 125% of the value. As you can probebly see, four times over, I would have doubled my initial payment. I called to rebook, and was pleased to see this was correct. I rebooked the same cruise, and was left with a substantial credit, to book another one. A few weeks later, I called to book the second one, and was told cunard had made an error and I now not only didn't have a credit on my account, but also, owed funds for the one I'd already booked - and indeed had an invoiced to show it was fully paid. I have got onto cunard and now have this query being reviewed by their complaints team (note: don't bother with cust serv agents, they have obviously been told to try and fob off customers). I wondered, if anyone else had these same issues?
Read more
Helpful
Share
Redhill P wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Such a joke ! Refund to cancelled cruise by Cunard dragged on for more than SIX months and ZERO response from them. Suddently, after stepping up actions to get back my refund, they came back with a reply saying all refunds to be done by cheque now, BUT, they cannot send cheques to internatinal customer due to "several issues"! Cunard takes all sorts of payment mode when it comes to collecting money from customers, but can ONLY refund through cheque to a registered UK address ! Make sense to you ? Anyone ? So beware ! Even Cunard comes up with tricks like this ! Shocking !
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Brook n Mac wrote a review Oct 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom43 contributions68 helpful votes
We travelled Southampton to NYC in Aug 2017 ( had to put nov 2019 as so late in doing my review ) . It was fashion week so lots of models and Designers on board. It was simply one of the best experiences we have ever had, we had never cruised before and so glad we pick Cunard as our first, the welcome, service, food were all amazing can not fault it. The sail away party is just great and gets you in the mood. The guest speakers were really interesting. Night club is great too. We loved the bar and spent most nights in here. We did the formal dining twice and It was amazing, the staff were fantastic with my daughter who was only 3 at the time. Kids club was great my daughter loved it and it open until 11pm 😄. I would recommend buying the soft drink package, We cannot wait to travel again in Aug 2021 we are doing transatlantic again but NYC to Southampton this time.
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Joanne H wrote a review Oct 2020
Bingley, United Kingdom1002 contributions252 helpful votes
I sailed from New York to Southampton, I used the cruise to relocate back to the UK after living in Florida for 7 years. It was cheaper than flying and I was able to bring more luggage back while I waited for the rest of my belongings to be shipped. Having never sailed before I was not sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the amenities there were in it. The ship was lovely, the food was tasty and fresh and I enjoyed both the buffet and formal nights The entertainment was on the whole pretty good Although I was using the cruise as a means to an end I actually enjoyed myself and would recommend this ship to others
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
28 Night Cruise to the Eastern Caribbean
Departure date
Monday, 13/12/21
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Top deals
Cruise OnlyUS$3,764pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$5,484pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$12,851pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$3,764pp
View Deal
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.