We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ray G wrote a review Mar 2020
Hervey Bay, Australia17 contributions4 helpful votes
OK my cabin 8138 was below the Lido restaurant on Level 9 so I had to put up with bangubng doors and kitchen movements for a while in the morning and night however when I got jack of it and called the Pursers office it stopped mighty quickly. That and the fact that all payments were in USD so extras were very expensive for an Australian trip to tasmania were the two minor complaints.
Lets get to the ship.

Absolutely stunning and I mean 5 star stunning. My cabin was absolutely fantastic. The food was a surprise as I expected not great food after my last cruise ( not on Cunard) The food was surprisingly good. Wine list extensive with some pretty good wines. Staff were nothing short of brilliant. The captain kept us really well informed and the journey really smooth. Despite 60kmph winds on the 2nd last night and 2-3 metre swells, I barely felt a thing. I slept like a baby.

Would I go on a Cunard cruise again? 100% yes.
Read more
Sail Date: March 2020
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip:
Destination: Australia
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Cunard Queen Elizabeth

86 reviews
 All photos (287)287
Full view
Traveller (267)
Common Areas (114)
Dining and Bars (91)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
10 Night Cruise to the British Isles & Western Europe
Departure date
Monday, 13/12/21
Route
Southampton, La Coruna, Seville, Gibraltar, Lisbon, Lisbon, Southampton
View Map

Overview

About
Passengers: 2,068   |   Crew: 996
Passengers to crew: 2.08:1
Passengers to space: 43.4:1
Launched: 2010   

Decks

  • Deck 1
  • Deck 2
  • Deck 3
  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
Additional decks
Deck 1 layout
Cabins
  Oceanview (EB)  
  Oceanview (EF)  
  Deluxe Inside (GC)  
  Deluxe Inside (GB)  
  Oceanview (EC)  
 
Amenities
Toilets
Voyage Sales Office
Grand Lobby
Pursers Office
Toilets
Royal Court Theatre
Tour Office

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 228 - 352 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 0
Accessible rooms: 14
Maximum passengers: 3
Number of cabins: 611

Activities & entertainment

Activities (47)
  • Spa*
  • Spa*
  • Spa*
  • Aerobic Area
  • Afternoon Tea
  • Art Classes*
  • Ballroom Dance Classes
  • Book Clubs
  • Bridge Classes
  • Card Room*
  • Champagne Afternoon Tea*
  • Chessboard
  • Darts Competitions
  • Deck Quoits
  • Fencing Classes
  • Fitness Classes*
  • Gala Evening Balls
  • Games Deck
  • Golf Competitions
  • Hair Salon*
  • Hot Tubs (4)
  • Hydropool*
  • iPad and Computer Workshops*
  • Karaoke
  • Library
  • Library
  • Needlework & Knitting Corners
  • Onboard Movies
  • Pools (2)
  • Royal Court Theatre (Middle)
  • Royal Spa & Fitness Centre*
  • Royal Spa & Fitness Centre*
  • Royal Spa & Fitness Centre*
  • Royal Spa Treatment Rooms*
  • Scavenger Hunts
  • Shuffleboard Competitions
  • Solo Travelers Get Togethers
  • Spa*
  • Thalassotherapy Pool*
  • The Alcove
  • The Zone*
  • Thermal Suites*
  • Trivia
  • Wellbeing Seminars
  • Children's Outdoor Area
  • Teens' Outdoor Area
  • The Play Zone
Entertainment (9)
  • Casino*
  • Nightly DJ
  • Nightly Live Music
  • Onboard Lectures
  • Passenger Talent Shows
  • Queens Room
  • Royal Court Theatre
  • Royal Court Theatre
  • Yacht Club
Dining (24)
  • Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Admiral's Lounge*
  • Bar*
  • Bar*
  • Bar*
  • Bar*
  • Garden Lounge*
  • Midships Bar - Atrium Bar*
  • Lido Restaurant - Casual
  • Churchill's Cigar Lounge - Cigar Bar
  • Café Carinthia - Coffee and Wine*
  • Golden Lion - English Pub*
  • Lido Grill - Fast Food
  • The Verandah Restaurant - French*
  • Britannia Club - International
  • Britannia Restaurant - International
  • Britannia Restaurant - International
  • Commodore Club - Martini Bar*
  • Lido Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Grills Lounge - Suite Guests
  • Grills Terrace - Suite Guests
  • Grills Terrace - Suite Guests
  • Princess Grill - Suite Guests
  • Queens Grill - Suite Guests
* May require additional fees
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 20
  • 11
  • 9
  • 7
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
colinsp2013 wrote a review 5 Dec
Eastcote, United Kingdom291 contributions87 helpful votes
The cabin staff were very helpful and it was cleaned well The Queens Grill restaurant was excellent as well with an amazing menu and very helpful staff Highly recommended
Read more
Helpful
Share
Geoffrey P wrote a review Nov 2021
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
I had booked a cruise with Cunard for November but due to my booster being available to book, at a time I would be at sea I followed the governments advice and booked my booster, urgent according to all government advice. I contacted Cunard and was informed that irrespective of the government advice I will lose 90% of my payment as the cancellation was within 9 days of the cruise. I followed the government’s advice and lost 90% of my £7000 plus payment.If I had booked with Royal Caribbean I would have been able to transfer, this was not available at Cunard. You are allowed to cancel with full transfer with Royal Caribbean upto 48 hours from your cruise for any reason, with Cunard it’s 30 days soon to become 90 days whereas Royal Caribbean are keeping their cancelation policy right up to September 2022. My advice at these turbulent times is book with zRoyal Caribbean not Cunard.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Hedgender wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
This was a UK cruise. Cabin not as good as on other ships we have cruised on. Cabin stewards very slow to get cabins done. On a few days the Cabin was not ready until nearly lunchtime. The food was good but service often very slow, odd when there were only 1300 passengers and a full complement of crew. The entertainment was not as good as on other ships, daytime lectures mostly on ceremonial music, planets or the oceans. Huge number of very elderly and infirm (and I am 69!) which made it feel like an old folks home. Anything not being done as usual was "due to Covid" whether that was relevant or not - it was often used as an excuse to not do something. Also nobody was allowed ashore unless they paid for a shore excursion at very high prices-it cost us £116 for a trip to the Titanic experience when the museum itself is £15 per person entry! We had to put up with a tour round Belfast in the rush hour when the museum is only 10 minutes from where the ship was berthed. Many others were also saying that the tours were poor value for money. Overall, we will not be travelling anywhere with Cunard again.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Richard C wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
First class holiday ,destress and be treated like a king and queen by the crew,Take out the drinks package prior to boarding,stop the gratuities at pursers office on the first day.wifi and mobile date you pay for ,tip the crew you work with .gym is great .laundrette on each deck ,wellness centre is great but too expensive for us. entertainment on board is great. Food and drink is excellent. Peace and quite on the ship no kids about . take a cabin between decks 6 to 8 .
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ColinO wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
The accommodation, food and cleanliness were fine, the entertainment not as good as usual. The problems started when, at the end of the first part of the cruise (Sydney>Tasmania>Sydney), we were informed that the second part (to New Zealand) was cancelled due to coronavirus. A meeting for UK travellers was held on the penultimate evening, but we were not informed of this, so there were no ongoing arrangements for us at disembarcation the following day. We were hastily dispatched with others to a hotel in Sydney, but Cunard officials on ship did not notify Cunard Shoreside services in UK where they had sent us, we were not supplied with a letter with Cunard contact details, and there were no Cunard representatives in the hotel. Consequently, we were left apparently stranded in Sydney, whilst others were departing according to arrangements made for them whilst on-board. Eventually other passengers gave us some email addresses, and using hotel computers we contacted, among others, the Guest Relations Officer for Carnival, Australia, who informed us 'you will need to arrange your own return flights and then claim back the refund of these from the UK office.' We did this, since Cunard seemed to have abandoned us, but on return we were told we should have waited for Cunard to arrange our repatriation, and only nominal refund was made. Faced with abandonment in Australia, and desertion by Cunard, we had had to arrange our own repatriation. So if you travel with Cunard and a crisis occurs, do NOT expect them to respond in a competent or professional manner - it was a shambles, and we have been left to pay most of the cost!
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
10 Night Cruise to the British Isles & Western Europe
Departure date
Monday, 13/12/21
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.