We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Del34 wrote a review Aug 2020
Quebec, Canada62 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
I preferred the Epic and the Escape because the staff on the getaway was less friendly: didn’t always notice you, let go some people witouth washing their hands at the entrance of the buffet, etc. Also, western carrinean stops where less interesting then the eastern ones according to me. Had a perfect inside cabin bought with a beverage package
Read more
Sail Date: October 2019
Cabin Type: Suite
Type of Trip: Couple
Destination: Caribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Norwegian Getaway

174 reviews
 All photos (3,576)3,576
Full view
Traveller (1,374)
Common Areas (1,747)
Dining and Bars (892)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
17 Night Cruise to Europe
Departure date
Sunday, 05/12/21
Route
Rome (Civitavecchia), Florence (Livorno), Cannes, Barcelona, Valencia, Malaga, Seville, Lisbon, Ponta Delgada, Miami
View Map
Cruise OnlyUS$4,465pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$4,287pp
View Deal
View all 3 deals

Overview

About
Passengers: 3,963   |   Crew: 1,595
Passengers to crew: 2.48:1
Launched: 2014   

Decks

  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
  • Deck 8
  • Deck 9
  • Deck 10
Additional decks
Deck 5 layout
 

Cabins

Activities & entertainment

This ship's activities will be coming soon!
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 40
  • 44
  • 19
  • 21
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
weddingadvice_7 wrote a review 18 Nov
Dublin. Ireland21 contributions4 helpful votes
Just back from a 10nt cruise around Greece on the Norwegian Getaway. Firstly, the good stuff. The staff could not do enough for you (they are by far the jewel in the crown). The food ranged from gorgeous to absolutely amazing. Our favourite speciality restaurant was the Tappanyaki for entertainment value and don't miss the Tropicana when 'Burn the Floor' do their mini show. The entertainment was just incredible particularly 'Burn the Floor'. Danilla Williams whose beautiful voice matched her beautiful personality (and Irish dancing skills😉) and Craig on drums adding a little more magic to Howl of the Moon. The staff on the rope course and waterslides couldn't have been nicer and so encouraging. As the ship was at 60% occupancy there was rarely queues for anything bar the odd Ilusionarium or Syd's show but they normally had a 2nd show that night which you could go to. Now for the bad. We had a 3.5hour wait to board the ship despite being given an allocated time. We expected a longer check in with having to do an antigen test but it was chaotic with WIFI problems delaying negative results and another hour and half standing around waiting for your number to be call to embark. As we have 2 teenagers, we went to register for the Entourage Club but were told there were not enough teenagers on board to justify opening the club and they didn't have the staff to supervise. By the third day this was becoming a big problem as the kids had nothing to do in the evening. We were not the only parents having this problem as they open the Club for a Wii session from 5-6pm, to which 30 odd children arrived. However, the problem was in the evening after dinner and this was never addressed. During the day the kids had waterslides and rope course but after they closed there was nowhere to go and nothing for them to do. It was a real issue as they would just hang-out on staircases until they were moved on. This problem could have easily been fixed by opening for an hour or two in the evening but we were told this was not possible because of Covid restriction. Had we even been given prior notice of the Clubs closure we would have brought a football to play on the pitch(no balls were given out by NCL due to covid restriction). It was all very strange. I do have to say that the kids thought Simon (cruise director) was very entertaining with his 'Woohoo's. Overall, we had a great holiday but I would think twice before booking another cruise until Covid restrictions were eased and the kids were guaranteed evening entertainment. Also note that despite NCL's advertisement of the cruise ship and it's facilities, there is no mini golf course.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Nathan Abigosis wrote a review Sep 2021
Red Deer, Canada3 contributions3 helpful votes
Great cabin with balcony, excellent steward service from I. Ketut, delicious food, safe Covid protocols, awesome waterslide with friendly staff - especially Noah. Excellent dining room service from Edy Suantara and Richard Perez. Entertainment was okay but not outstanding.
Read more
Helpful
Share
MaDier90 wrote a review Sep 2021
Boston, Massachusetts213 contributions65 helpful votes
I paid several hundred dollars to upgrade to a club balcony suite when I should have simply upgraded to a balcony cabin. I thought, and the "consultant" confirmed, that the cabin was larger, nicer, and came with many amenities. Turns out the cabin is the same size, only the bathroom is a bit larger, and the balcony is essentially the same size. Also watch out, they include the balcony in the cabin size, so a 239sf cabin with a 32 sf balcony is really a 207 sf cabin. The best amenity, the ability to make specialty restaurant reservations in advance, is not available on this cruise, yet I was told at booking that it was! Most of the other amenities are actually available on all/most other categories, such as free room service breakfast! And no allowance, not even a shipboard credit, for the lack of promised amenities. Also, no allowance for the inability to get off the ship at two ports unless on an excursion - NCL added several VERY EXPENSIVE excursions instead! I am dreading the actual cruise and all the charges for things that are supposedly included, since my $1,000" cruise is over $3,000 and counting. I will update the review after the cruise. Pro tip: the hefty service charge - on top of charges for each individual item - is not compulsory, so do not pay in advance and have them remove it from your final bill.
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Neomi D wrote a review Sep 2021
Toronto, Canada73 contributions56 helpful votes
Loved the 27 dining choices,especially the Shanghai Noodle bar and O'Sheehan's Irish pub among the Complimentary dining restaurants. The Speciality dining is fantastic; I highly recommend Wasabi Sushi, Teppanyaki, La Cucina, Le Bistro and Ocean Blue. The highlight of this ship are the shows- sizzling 'Burn the floor' & 'Million Dollar Quartet' leave you wanting more... Dont miss the fastest waterslides at sea & the challenging ropes course.
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Del34 wrote a review Aug 2020
Quebec, Canada62 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
I preferred the Epic and the Escape because the staff on the getaway was less friendly: didn’t always notice you, let go some people witouth washing their hands at the entrance of the buffet, etc. Also, western carrinean stops where less interesting then the eastern ones according to me. Had a perfect inside cabin bought with a beverage package
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
17 Night Cruise to Europe
Departure date
Sunday, 05/12/21
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Top deals
Cruise OnlyUS$4,465pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$4,287pp
View Deal
Cruise OnlyUS$4,562pp
View Deal
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.