We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-image
David T wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Good points. Cabin with balcony very nice and I liked the itinerary very much with only Marseille being a bit underwhelming. Tunis, Palermo & Naples are great.

Negatives. Ship way too many passengers for the number of amenities. Sun decks very crowded, pools over crowded - queuing to use, food - breakfast good, lunch and evening meal average, live entertainment average.

The big BIG negative for me is the lack of care about airport transfers. MSC had no concept whatsoever that dropping passengers at the airport for the return flight 8 (EIGHT) hours before departure is UNACCEPTABLE. Why should passengers pay the price for MSC efficiency? We put various alternatives to MSC having alerted them to the problem but no-one has the authority to book us on an earlier flight, arrange a seat on a later transfer, or offer a support package for our lovely day sitting in the airport.

Too big to care.

In short. Never again with MSC. Sorry.
Read more
Sail Date: September 2023
Cabin Type:
Type of Trip:
Destination: Mediterranean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

MSC Grandiosa

414 reviews
 All photos (381)381
Full view
Traveller (380)
Common Areas (48)
Dining and Bars (17)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
7 Night Cruise to the Western Mediterranean
Departure date
Saturday, 05/10/24
Route
Naples, Florence (Livorno), Marseille, Barcelona, Tunis (La Goulette), Palermo (Sicily), Naples
View Map

Overview

About
Passengers: 6,297   |   Crew: 1,700
Passengers to crew: 3.7:1
Launched: 2019   

Decks

  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
  • Deck 8
  • Deck 9
  • Deck 10
Additional decks
Deck 5 layout
Cabins
  Fantastica Oceanview Stateroom (O2)  
  Interior Studio Stateroom (I1S)  
  Fantastica Inside Stateroom (I2)  
 

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 200 - 235 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 262
Accessible rooms: 32
Maximum passengers: 10
Number of cabins: 1378

Activities & entertainment

Activities (16)
  • Arts Classes
  • Dance Classes
  • Deck Parties
  • Evening DJ
  • Game Shows
  • Karaoke
  • MSC Aurea Spa*
  • MSC Gym by Technogym
  • Power Walking Track
  • Sports Tournaments
  • Trivia
  • Attic Club
  • Doremi Lab
  • Doremi Studio
  • Juniors Club Lego
  • Young Club
Entertainment (5)
  • Casino*
  • Comedy Performances
  • Live Music
  • Lounge
  • Theatre
Dining (11)
  • Infinity Bar - Atrium Bar*
  • Marketplace Buffet - Casual
  • Champagne Bar - Champagne*
  • Edge Cocktail Bar - Cocktail Bar*
  • Meraviglia Bar & Lounge - Cocktail Bar*
  • Main Dining - International
  • Main Dining - International
  • Atmosphere Bar North - Pool Bar*
  • Bamboo Bar - Pool Bar*
  • MSC Yacht Club Grill - Suite Guests
  • Top Sail Lounge - Suite Guests
* May require additional fees

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 93
  • 46
  • 63
  • 62
  • 151
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
avatar-image
Shelley Horton wrote a review 10 Jul
2 contributions
The boat itself was nice; clean and tidy. The buffet was carnage - a complete free-for-all and the food was very average. It was full of loud, rude people (mostly Europeans) with no manners, and you felt pushed around all of the time and everything was a fight - in fact it was exhausting! The entertainment (shows) were absolutely shocking - the same in house entertainment team every night. You had to pay for everything extra - they are just out to make as much money from you as possible. Never again with MSC!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Satunnainenmatkailija wrote a review Jun 2024
Tampere39 contributions
6 middle-aged ladies and Western Mediterranean. The week was pretty much everything we expected, we had really nice time on the cruise. Clean ja spacious cabin with balcony, lots of entertainment and a beautiful ship. Embarkation ja disembarkation were smooth and efficient. We took 2 well organized tours (at Tunis and Pompeiji), nothing to complain about. Sushi-restaurant on the ship was excellent. Dinners at the complimentary restaurant (purple crab) worked very well. We had a very nice waiter, always smiling:) Breakfasts at la Perla were very tasty. Only things that did not work very well were the Marketplace buffet (which was a bit of a mayhem) and the info desk. Otherwise, everything was perfect. Can definitely recommend this cruise!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
flame01 wrote a review Jun 2024
dublin689 contributions
We have completed only 2 previous cruises, this was appalling for a number of reasons .... Food Food in the restaurant was never hot, always tepid. And the portion sizes were shocking small. The food in the Marketplace Buffet was tastless and once again never hot, just tepid Overall the food was really really poor Dinner in the main restaurant each evening involved using your smart phone to download the menu via a QR code. We saw a few older passengers with no smart phones having problems with this. Not once did I see any staff member offer anyone a printed menu. It certainly seemed as if MSC could not care less Passengers On a few occasions we had Italian passengers in the cabin each side of us, smoking and vaping. Some were shouting to their friends on lower decks down from the balcony. We saw passengers vaping in the bars with no one stopping them. We were awoken at night by people running on the corridor outside our cabin (12091), the sound of doors banging at night was shocking We noticed a lot of groups of teenagers on the ship, the boys would sit blocking the stairs beside the theatre in the evening, 6 or 7 of them at a time Noise Having to listen to announcements in 4 or 5 languages at each port covering safety drills was just too much. We had to listen to all these announcements over and over again, it got really annoying not just tedious Emergency drill Having to watch a video on TV was weird but then when we went to our muster station, it was just to have our card scanned. Our muster station was a long way from our cabin and we know, in an emergency we would never find it .. The whole emergency drill was shockingly poor Bars Why was there never "Tonic" for my Gin in the Horizon bar. for each day of our cruise there was never tonic available. The steps at each side of he Horizon bar were treacherous, we saw 4 people slip on them and fall down the steps, some non-slip coating should be put on them. Too many kids in the bars at night, running around freely without their parents minding them Overall, the noise on the ship from so many passengers was intolerable, the shouting was appalling and also with so many young children being left almost to roam as they wished by parents who really seemed to not care less was shocking The good points .... The staff we interacted with were all excellent, but particular mention must go to Bernard Kariuki and Benny Pinto in the Infinnity Bar. Every evening my wife & I stopped at the Infinnity Bar to chat with these 2 guys. They were really very friendly, hospitable and always in good cheerful mood. These 2 guys are a credit to MSC and should be recognised accordingly. Also of note was our dining room host Miss Senia Bardales, such a warm friendly personality and so professional in everything that she did. Even when we bumped into her at other locations on the ship, she would always share a smile and here good humour There were way too many people on the ship. Long lines every day to get into the Buffet, lines were stopped to allow people leave. It was almost a scramle each day to try and get seats in the buffet, and if you were alone.. you had to run a gauntlet of hoping your table had not been taken while you went to get your food / tea / cofee Prior to boarding I tried to join the Voyagers Club, but your site would not recognise my address, making it impossible to do so. I eventually did it at Guest services but not before standing in line for 40 minutes, the Guest Services always had a huge line waiting to be seen We did 2 off ship tours ... To Carthage & Pompei, both were excellent with superb guides but getting back on the ship took ages Would I sail again with MSC ... absolutely not
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brano wrote a review May 2024
5 contributions
We were very satisfied with the services. A lot of people but overall it was very good cruise. Big thanks especially to two wonderful waiters Liuz Rocha and Nripendra Chatuverdi who provided best services and were real professionals.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Walter J wrote a review May 2024
1 contribution
+1
After 4 pleasant high-quality cruises with other companies our first cruise with MSC was very disappointing. Next to a few positive perceptions our overall experience was dominated by numerous incidents, poor service and quality of food, sheer incompetence and being tricked on various occasions. A short resume: - The big buffet restaurant was over-crowded all day long. Each day, going for breakfast or lunch implied fighting for places to sit down and withstanding a continuous avalanche of noise and shouting. - Few variation in food which in general was one-sided and of low quality. - Most of the time you had to go yourself to the bar yourself to order a drink, waiters just occasionally came at your table themselves. - On average you waited 10 to 15 minutes before getting your drink. However we noticed that without a drink package you wait shorter. Probably for a commercial reason. - Each time of day a line of 10 to 20 people was waiting before the reception and information desk. - Entertainment program was moderate with the same actors performing the entire week. - On first days the balcony of our cabin and the railing were still dirty, cleaned afterwards. - Our clothes got covered with black oil stiches when sailing from Napoli while sitting on the upper deck below the flue gas exhaust pipes of the ship. Washing the clothes didn’t remove the stitches after which MSC offered a (non-refundable!) compensation of €30,-: “We expect the stiches to go away after 1 or 2 more washings”. - Frequently the ship flue gas exhaust emitted dirty brown smoke. Indication of too much NOx and/or SOx quit possible violating MARPOL guidelines. Pictures of this will be discussed with IMO and NABU. - Visiting Livorno and Marseille implied paying an unexpected amount of respectively €10 and €17 per person for a shuttle bus to bring you to the city center. Not paying implies you can’t go anywhere else. - On the last evening on the ship wrong labels were delivered in our cabin to label our suitcases. Fortunately we discovered this, if not we would have missed our flight the next morning. - The morning of departure my wife wasn’t allowed to disembark the ship because her invoice balance was negative. This was impossible since all our costs were to be booked on my credit card account but due to an administrative error MSC created a new account for her to book the costs of the last shuttle bus. We didn’t succeed in settling this using my credit card and our 2 bank cards. Only after we paid in cash we were allowed to leave the ship and being very lucky not to miss the bus to the airport. The glitz and glamour that MSC displays on the outside shows a great imbalance with the actual experience of cruising with the company. Fortunately this cruise only lasted 1 week. For sure we will never cruise with MSC again.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
7 Night Cruise to the Western Mediterranean
Departure date
Saturday, 05/10/24
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.