We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-image
jeanette s wrote a review Apr 2024
6 contributions
This was my 3rd MSC cruise, each on a different ship. This trip on Fantasia the Cabin was excellent, food was not good in the Red Velvet restaurant. Food was excellent in the Butcher’s Block restaurant which is an extra charge. The pizza and fresh fruit were good at the buffet other food was not good at all. Excursions was ok , would have been better if they included admission to Cathedrals and museums especially in Florence. Taxis from Civitavechia to Rome are a scam and will attempt to charge $100-$200/person . Schedule your transportation in advance or take the shuttle to the train to the airport in Rome.
Read more
Sail Date: April 2024
Cabin Type:
Type of Trip:
Destination: Mediterranean
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

MSC Fantasia

223 reviews
 All photos (423)423
Full view
Traveller (406)
Common Areas (136)
Dining and Bars (59)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
7 Night Cruise to the Western Mediterranean
Departure date
Saturday, 12/10/24
Route
Valencia, Florence (Livorno), Rome (Civitavecchia), Genoa, Marseille, Tarragona, Valencia
View Map

Overview

About
Passengers: 3,274   |   Crew: 1,637
Passengers to crew: 2:1
Passengers to space: 42.1:1
Launched: 2008   

Decks

  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
  • Deck 8
  • Deck 9
  • Deck 10
Additional decks
Deck 5 layout
Cabins
  Oceanview Stateroom – Bella (O1)  
  Interior Stateroom – Bella (I1)  
 

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 215 - 215 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 260
Accessible rooms: 28
Maximum passengers: 6
Number of cabins: 1143

Activities & entertainment

Activities (27)
  • Pool (4)
  • 4D Cinema*
  • Aqua Park
  • Arts Classes
  • Cyberlibrary
  • Dance Classes
  • Deck Parties
  • Evening DJ
  • F1 Simulator*
  • Game Shows
  • Hot Tubs (10)
  • Karaoke
  • Library
  • MSC Arena Sport Center
  • MSC Aurea Spa*
  • Power Walking Track
  • Shuffleboard
  • Sports Tournaments
  • Top 18 Exclusive Solarium
  • Trivia
  • Video Games Arcade*
  • Virtual World*
  • Waterslides
  • I Graffiti
  • Il Polo Nord
  • Teen's Area
  • Teens Toboga
Entertainment (8)
  • Live Music
  • Comedy Performances
  • L'insolito Lounge
  • Liquid Disco
  • Palm Casino*
  • Piazza San Giorgio
  • Teatro L'Avanguardia
  • MSC Yacht Club
Dining (19)
  • Il Cappuccino Coffee Bar - Cafe*
  • Il Cerchio d'Oro Panoramic Restaurant - Casual
  • L'Africana Buffet - Casual
  • Zanzibar Buffet - Casual
  • The Cigar Lounge - Cigar Bar*
  • Le Vele Bar - Cocktail Bar*
  • Manhattan Bar - Cocktail Bar*
  • The One Bar - Exclusive Bar*
  • Red Velvet Restaurant - International
  • Fantasia Bar - Lobby Bar*
  • El Sombrero Tex Mex - Mexican*
  • Il Transatlantico Piano Bar - Piano Bar*
  • Bar delle Fontane - Pool Bar*
  • The Glass Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Sports Bar - Sports Bar*
  • Gaudi Bar - Top Deck Bar*
  • La Cantina Toscana - Wine Bar*
  • L'Étoile MSC Yacht Club Dedicated Restaurant - Yacht Club Guests
  • Top Sail Lounge - Yacht Club Guests
* May require additional fees

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 25
  • 37
  • 38
  • 69
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
avatar-image
Josi H wrote a review 8 Jul
3 contributions
My second cruise but different destinations. Recommend to families with children that the only thing not good for me as the young traveller and party boy
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Breda O wrote a review May 2024
10 contributions
Just back from a wonderful week on the MSC Fantasia. We have done a few cruises with them and would be happy to book an MSC cruise again for next year. we have done other cruise companies but find MSC good. We did the Aurea experience, and for us it was worth it. We were on the ship seamlessly by 11:45 am benefit of the Aurea, and could go straight to our cabin to drop off our hand luggage. A few minutes later a bottle of cava and chocolate was dropped to our cabin. Things that could be improved on is the Buffet at Zanzibar. It is crazy no order what so ever from rude fellow passengers. Food is ok there but that push and shove to get food on our plate was not good, and trying to get a table was crazy. It would be good if they had some sort of a system there, but its just total chaos there. Such a pity as there is something to suit everyone's taste. Our experience in the red velvet was very positive and enjoyed all our meals there. We were very well looked after there by 1st in command the lovely dining room hostess Sindy Romero from El Salvador, who graciously welcomed us at mealtimes, always smiling and looked after us so well. A special mention also to Yamin Moh-Sohibul from Indonesia who in our opinion is one of the best waiters MSC could have, so jolly and attentive, also an amazing assistant waiter is Abhishek Anand from India always making sure we were happy with our food and drinks. Such hard working people. A credit to MSC The wine that was served was good, and all the staff there are amazing. We had the premium drinks package and we went out of our way to have coffee and drinks in the cappuccino Lounge, especially to meet the beautiful Alexia Pardeshi from the Phillippines. Alexia went above the call of duty to make me a drink of my liking and always made our day with her cheerfulness. We loved her company. Our cabin was cleaned every day, but the cabin attendant wasn't the best to be honest. He was a nice person and we didn't want to bother him too much or get him into trouble by complaining. The Cabin : Day 1 we had to ask for soap, as it was empty, also as we were on the Aurea experience we had no bath robe's which again we had to ask for. We were on the cruise for 1 week and our sheets were never changed, as there was a small rip on the sheet, so I knew we had the same sheets for the entire week. On the day the balcony was cleaned I met him while he was cleaning the balcony and I asked him if when he was cleaning our cabin, if he could remove the glasses that we had our coctails in from the previous night, and he replied that he was too busy, and to leave it outside the cabin door, which I really didn't want to do for safety reasons. The day at sea our cabin was cleaned very late in the evening, as we went back to the cabin a few times during the day and still no bed made up. We didn't mind too much as we were busy enjoying all the ship has to offer. These were just minor issues for us, and wouldn't stop us from booking again. One of the things we noted as we entered the cabin on the first day was there was a slight smell of cigarette smoke, and we saw that the room attendant had left a diffuser in our cabin, so he was obviously aware of the smell also. Even though smoking isn't permitted on the balcony, our next door neighbours obviously ignored and the smoke came to our direction. There are plenty of designated smoking areas in the ship, like the cigar lounge and other areas on deck. The ship in general is spotlessly clean. The lifts are a bit of a nightmare as there are a lot of passengers using them so really slow at peak times. Our balcony cabin was on deck 11 and ideally located for the lift, cabin number 11191. We always took the stairs down and got the lift up. This is my honest review. We had a wonderful week on the Fantasia and are almost ready to book our cruise for next year on another MSC ship yet to be decided.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jeanette s wrote a review Apr 2024
6 contributions
This was my 3rd MSC cruise, each on a different ship. This trip on Fantasia the Cabin was excellent, food was not good in the Red Velvet restaurant. Food was excellent in the Butcher’s Block restaurant which is an extra charge. The pizza and fresh fruit were good at the buffet other food was not good at all. Excursions was ok , would have been better if they included admission to Cathedrals and museums especially in Florence. Taxis from Civitavechia to Rome are a scam and will attempt to charge $100-$200/person . Schedule your transportation in advance or take the shuttle to the train to the airport in Rome.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anna A wrote a review Apr 2024
Preveza, Greece4 contributions
It was my first experience with MSC cruises only 6 days trip. But this is not enough. Next time I will take minimum 14 days trip. The ship is so comfortable, from morning to evening there are events on 15 floors. Food is all the day day and you can choose from any kind of kitchen that suits you.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
meri wrote a review Apr 2024
16 contributions
+1
We stayed in this beautiful floating hotel for six nights. This was my first cruise trip . At first, I was worried after reading the negative comments, but then I was surprised with all the orderliness, beauty, and coordination..... All the staff were polite and friendly. The cabins were cleaned at least three times a day. Various and interesting programs were planned for all hours, so that sometimes we had little time and missed a lot of fun programs (especially dance lessons). The restaurant on the 14th floor was open 24 hours a day and we could go to this restaurant whenever we wanted to eat and drink. The variety of food was very good. The pizzas were great. Fruits and vegetables were very fresh and varied. The only fault that could be found was that the napkins and glasses of the restaurant were dirty. There were many good stores on the ship, which surprised us with their discounts on the last day :)) I would definitely like to travel with this ship again. :) :)
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
7 Night Cruise to the Western Mediterranean
Departure date
Saturday, 12/10/24
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.