We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
daviddocklands wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom255 contributions94 helpful votes
I suspect it may be a while before you can cruise around the Middle East again- but it was a good winter break. Of course most of the stops are to modern high rise cities- so if that's not your thing you probably won't like it.
We found our room comfortable with a nice balcony at the back of the ship. The food was fine.
The average of passengers was a lot less than most cruises we have ben on
Read more
Sail Date: February 2020
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip:
Destination: Middle East
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Royal Caribbean Jewel of the Seas

105 reviews
Traveller (147)
Common Areas (1,005)
Dining and Bars (293)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
6 Night Cruise to the Western Caribbean
Departure date
Monday, 11/01/21
Route
Galveston, Costa Maya, Belize City, Cozumel, Galveston
View Map

Overview

About
Passengers: 2,191   |   Crew: 852
Passengers to crew: 2.57:1
Passengers to space: 41.1:1
Launched: 2004   

Decks

  • Deck 2
  • Deck 3
  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
Additional decks
Deck 2 layout
Cabins
  Ocean View (2N)  
  Ocean View (8N)  
  Interior (6V)  
  Interior (1V)  
  Interior (2V)  
  Ocean View (1N)  
 
Amenities
Medical Facility

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 179 - 271 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 91
Accessible rooms: 6
Maximum passengers: 5
Number of cabins: 517

Activities & entertainment

Activities (28)
  • Adventure Beach
  • CruiseCritic Meet and Mingle
  • Dance Classes
  • Dance Classes
  • Dance Parties
  • Fairways of Jewel
  • Fitness Classes*
  • Hot Tubs (3)
  • Library
  • Pool Games
  • Pools (3)
  • RC Online*
  • Rock Climbing Wall
  • Rock Climbing Wall
  • Running Track
  • Running Track
  • Scavenger Hunts
  • Sports Court
  • Sports Deck
  • Sports Tournament
  • Trivia
  • Video Arcade*
  • Vitality At Sea Fitness Center
  • Vitality At Sea Spa*
  • Wine Tasting*
  • Waterslides
  • Adventure Ocean
  • Fuel Teen Disco
Entertainment (17)
  • Live Music
  • Casino Royale*
  • Cinema
  • Coral Theatre
  • Coral Theatre
  • Deck Parties
  • Demonstrations
  • Game Broadcasts
  • Game Shows
  • Karaoke
  • Movie Screen
  • Poolside Movies
  • Serengeti Card Club
  • The Game Reserves
  • The Safari Club
  • Vortex Nightclub
  • Wellness Lectures
Dining (18)
  • Shoreside Dining Room - American
  • Tides Dining Room - American
  • Izumi - Asian*
  • Lobby Bar - Atrium Bar*
  • The Pit Stop - Casino Bar*
  • Windjammer Café - Casual
  • Windjammer Outdoor - Casual
  • The Congo Bar - Clubby Bar*
  • Zanzibar Lounge - Clubby Bar*
  • Café Latté-tudes - Coffee Bar*
  • Viking Crown Lounge - Iconic Bar*
  • Giovanni's Table - italian*
  • Schooner Bar - Nautical bar*
  • Pool Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Sky Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Solarium Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Chops Grille - Steakhouse*
  • Vintages - Wine Bar*
* May require additional fees
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 29
  • 20
  • 9
  • 9
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Shawni_and_Buck wrote a review Sep 2020
Dubuque, Iowa6,398 contributions558 helpful votes
+1
We cruised from Miami to the A, B, C islands and Labadee. The ship itself was not near as big as most of the ships we have cruised, but it was perfect for what we wanted. For adults just looking to relax, there was plenty to do. We especially enjoyed the way the ship was built with glass everywhere so you could soak in the panoramic views from lots of spots on the ship (the elevator is so cool, completely glass and looking out to the ocean), the sky bar where you could enjoy your cocktails and still check out the action on Lido where the shows were taking place, the casino, the Solarium adults-only pool area, and the rotating bar. We have always booked a balcony room to get away for some private time and still enjoy the ocean views. Our cabin was nice, clean, and tended to every day by the friendly cabin steward. Standard small bathrooms. Comfy beds. The food was good. We did not eat at any specialty restaurants but did enjoy the buffet and the main dining area. No complaints there. Specialty coffees and fresh-squeezed juice were included in the drink package, which we thought was definitely worth it. The solarium also served food if you wanted to stop and grab a bite there too. For entertainment, we had fun at the adults-only Quest show (very adult humor and visuals), enjoyed some towel folding and jewelry presentations, had a friend participate in the belly flop contest, saw an amazing world flag presentation, etc. There were quite a few games at the Lido pool. Some we watched; some we participated in. It's all up to you. Sometimes you can catch live music here, as well as a few other spots on the ship. They have karaoke. They also have a nice piano bar area set up where the piano player was just amazing. The rotating bar was a new concept for us and we enjoyed our time there. They have a DJ and a small dance floor there as well, but it was pretty dead there the night we went (since it was the last night of the cruise?).There is also a casino onboard. We liked the casino and loved the staff there. One of our friends won lots of money. We didn't, but we did not lose a lot either. We did catch one show on our cruise, which we enjoyed as well. I would say if you are planning a trip with kids (especially teens), they might not find as much to do here as they would on some of the other bigger ships geared more towards adventure. There is a small kids' pool with a little water slide, mini golf, basketball court, and a rock climbing wall.No surf riders, iFly, or anything like that. However, if you just want a nice, relaxing, adult getaway with the focus on the ports and the a unique glass-enclosed decks, you can't go wrong with this ship.
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
JAMES K wrote a review Aug 2020
Colchester, United Kingdom225 contributions99 helpful votes
Having never sailed on Jewel of the seas i was very excited. the ship has alot to offer and is kept in very good condition. the speciality restaurants were great. especially chops which was delicious. so many great views of the ocean too, this class of ship is known for that! I cant wait to try another ship like her.
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Karen L wrote a review Jul 2020
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Our cabin was filthy..bedding stained with all sorts of body fluids..furniture old worn dirty..cups and kettle filthy..no one was interested in doing anything about it. The whole ship was shocking..dirty pool and surrounding area..dreadful buffet restaurant...never travel,on this ship..go with P & O their ship was fabulous entertainment diabolical..it was the worst cruise we had ever been on. Royal Caribbean did not want to know..
Read more
Helpful
Share
daviddocklands wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom255 contributions94 helpful votes
I suspect it may be a while before you can cruise around the Middle East again- but it was a good winter break. Of course most of the stops are to modern high rise cities- so if that's not your thing you probably won't like it. We found our room comfortable with a nice balcony at the back of the ship. The food was fine. The average of passengers was a lot less than most cruises we have ben on
Read more
Helpful
Share
Vincent R wrote a review Mar 2020
Dublin, Ireland169 contributions40 helpful votes
My friend and I decided to take this Cruise for my Birthday. We chose an outside cabin with balcony.The beds were really comfortable and the food and service was first class. The price including flights was very reasonable. My friend priced it in Germany and it was €400.00 more than from Dublin.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
6 Night Cruise to the Western Caribbean
Departure date
Monday, 11/01/21
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.