We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matt H wrote a review Sep 2021
Nottingham, United Kingdom33 contributions8 helpful votes
My family and I had a lovely time on board the Disney Magic cruise staycation from Tilbury. Whilst you can tell the ship is the oldest in the fleet, it’s absolutely spotless and clean and has lots of character.

The food was good and the staff throughout the ship, no matter of their role, were tremendous and attentive. A real credit to the Disney organisation.

The two stage shows we saw (Tangled & Disney Dreams) were both very high quality and my daughter loved the kids club so much we had to book her back in later the same day.

The Animator’s Palate restaurant was magical and my favourite of the three. We only went to Cabanas buffet once but the food was good and the selection on offer was very good.

The meet and greets with the characters were really good, it’s just a pity they had to be socially distanced but Disney can’t be blamed for this. Would have liked to see more of the characters wandering around the ship and also to have notifications about what characters would be making appearances and what time.

The shops were slightly disappointing in their range of merchandise they sold, too much clothing and not enough general memorabilia.

My daughter and wife had an amazing time and even a grumpy old man like me will never be able to see a pair of Mickey Mouse ears without feeling that Disney magic.

Special thanks to Joey (from the Philippines) and Komang for their excellent, friendly service and for taking the time to make my daughter feel so special and making her the origami animals and flowers.
Read more
Sail Date: September 2021
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip: Family (young kids)
Destination: Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Disney Magic

80 reviews
 All photos (171)171
Full view
Traveller (143)
Common Areas (99)
Dining and Bars (12)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
4 Night Cruise to the Bahamas
Departure date
Thursday, 02/12/21
Route
Miami, Castaway Cay, Nassau, Miami
View Map
Cruise OnlyUS$907pp
View Deal

Overview

About
Passengers: 1,754   |   Crew: 950
Passengers to crew: 1.85:1
Passengers to space: 48.5:1
Launched: 1998   

Decks

  • Deck 1
  • Deck 2
  • Deck 3
  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
Additional decks
Deck 1 layout
Cabins
  Deluxe Oceanview Stateroom (09D)  
  Deluxe Inside Stateroom (10C)  
 

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 215 - 260 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 130
Accessible rooms: 7
Maximum passengers: 5
Number of cabins: 362

Activities & entertainment

Activities (32)
  • Disney's Oceaneer Lab
  • It's a Small World Nursery
  • Disney's Oceaneer Club
  • Senses Spa & Salon*
  • Hair Salon*
  • Senses Treatment Salon*
  • AquaLab
  • Chill Spa
  • Nephews' Splash Zone
  • Cabanas*
  • Spa Villas*
  • Edge
  • Vibe
  • Wide World of Sports Deck
  • Character Events
  • Fitness Classes
  • Trivia
  • Arts and Crafts Classes
  • Deck Parties
  • Nightly Live Music
  • Game Shows
  • Scavenger Hunts
  • Karaoke
  • Dance Parties
  • Extensive Kids Programs
  • Pin Trading
  • Sing-Alongs
  • Video Game Competitions
  • Adults-Only Events
  • Pools (4)
  • Hot Tubs (4)
  • Waterslides
Entertainment (5)
  • Promenade Lounge
  • Walt Disney Theatre
  • D Lounge
  • Buena Vista Theatre
  • Disney Movies Onboard
Dining (15)
  • Lumiere's - French Inspired
  • Keys - Piano Bar*
  • O'Gills Pub - Irish Pub*
  • Fathoms - Funky Nightclub*
  • Animator's Palate - West Coast
  • Preludes Bar - Movie Snacks*
  • Signals Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Beverage Station - Soft Drinks
  • Eye Scream - Ice Cream
  • Daisy's De-Lites - Quick Bites
  • Pinocchio's Pizzeria - Pizza
  • Cove Café - Coffee Bar*
  • Frozone Treats - Ice Cream
  • Pete's Boiler Bites - Fast Food
  • Palo - Gourmet*
* May require additional fees
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 9
  • 4
  • 4
  • 10
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
mtwnix wrote a review Oct 2021
U.K. 67 contributions24 helpful votes
Went on UK staycation with two cabins, four adults 13 yr old boy and almost 2 yr old girl. Cabins great, spacious and clean. Sadly they only catered for small girls between 3 and 10. Very limited activities for other ages and nothing catered towards boys, absolutely nothing. If you liked meet and greets with princesses this is for you but otherwise it’s lacking severely. Shopping very poor and only one location for drinks which was ridiculous. If wanted Coke from bar you had to pay despite having drinks package. Food good especially evening meals. Staff great but knowing weather unlikely to be great Disney had almost no activities other than colouring yes colouring. Appreciate some restrictions from covid but really really poor especially for boys. Not a cheap break but definitely did not get the quality Disney experience, very disappointing.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Jacqueline B wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
First cruise been on and from start to finish has been the most fantastic once in lifetime experience.From all crew on board port staff entertainment food everything so amazing couldn't fault a thing.First place been to where actually felt like they make everyone feel that they matter to them.
Read more
Helpful
Share
MikenSheila wrote a review Sep 2021
Hockley, United Kingdom16 contributions7 helpful votes
Lovely “ old school” ship with wrap around promenade. Spacious inside cabin. But no tea or coffee or water. ( water purchased through room service only) Dining experiences in Animators and Lumieres was great fun and very elegant respectively. Rapunzels dinner show was fun. Adult only Palo brunch was exceptional .Food was excellent throughout. Take away outlets around pool efficient and healthy options available early to late. Health protocols were in place and at times OTT for example queues for both pool and jacuzzis then only 15 minutes swim time. This after double vaccination, PCR tests ( under 18) and port side lateral flow before boarding all. Masks in theatre but not dining rooms. Masks in corridors but not on covered decks. Disney Dreams theatre show was pure Disney Magic, Freeze the night away a great experience but only half hour and Tangled show a bit repetitive as one of the main dining areas Tangled themed too. Early seating dinner 6pm meant show times were nearly nine pm and beyond . But Dream’s was also a matinee performance so perfect. Sadly real let down was no activities for under 3 years old. No clubs, no play areas, and worst of all no access to any pools . As a multi generation group this left us torn between two grandchildren. One who could use flumes and slides one who could not. The latter being able to swim and not needing swim nappies but under 3 so banned. This wasn’t highlighted on Disney website or signage on deck. The basketball area was the only “safe” area to use but balls were not available “due to Covid restrictions “ yet deck quoits could be had to play on decks only. No nursery open and club areas only open 2 hours early each morning for general use otherwise over 3 age only. Meet and greet was at a safe distance only and characters were repetitive. Micky and Minnie mostly and princesses. Otherwise it was hit and miss. And required queuing. Think we saw about 10 different characters through 3 days. No staff singing at table ( Covid protocol) to celebrate birthday. All waiters masked. Room Stewards not No Disney toys to purchase only pricey clothes. All in all was enjoyable to spend time as family ( at dinner) but not cruising as we know it and all very expensive . Drinks were top end pub prices . Two gins & tonic and American “pint” ale ( smaller than UK pint) $30. Would not do again as more disappointing Disney than Magic .
Read more
Helpful
Share
Matt H wrote a review Sep 2021
Nottingham, United Kingdom33 contributions8 helpful votes
My family and I had a lovely time on board the Disney Magic cruise staycation from Tilbury. Whilst you can tell the ship is the oldest in the fleet, it’s absolutely spotless and clean and has lots of character. The food was good and the staff throughout the ship, no matter of their role, were tremendous and attentive. A real credit to the Disney organisation. The two stage shows we saw (Tangled & Disney Dreams) were both very high quality and my daughter loved the kids club so much we had to book her back in later the same day. The Animator’s Palate restaurant was magical and my favourite of the three. We only went to Cabanas buffet once but the food was good and the selection on offer was very good. The meet and greets with the characters were really good, it’s just a pity they had to be socially distanced but Disney can’t be blamed for this. Would have liked to see more of the characters wandering around the ship and also to have notifications about what characters would be making appearances and what time. The shops were slightly disappointing in their range of merchandise they sold, too much clothing and not enough general memorabilia. My daughter and wife had an amazing time and even a grumpy old man like me will never be able to see a pair of Mickey Mouse ears without feeling that Disney magic. Special thanks to Joey (from the Philippines) and Komang for their excellent, friendly service and for taking the time to make my daughter feel so special and making her the origami animals and flowers.
Read more
Helpful
Share
SKystalker1 wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
(Departed from Tillbury Docks UK) I booked this last minute for my wife and little girl. I wanted my daughter to be whisked away and wrapped up in a cocoon of Disney Magic, she was, but I was not expecting me and my wife to be whisked away with her….but we were! After the trip, my daughter cried, wanting Micky Mouse. She had such a wonderful time, we all did. Watching her face light up meeting all the characters, she was mesmerized. Everything from accommodation to service was impeccable. Everything was so clean and glimmering – nothing lazy or tacky. You feel like the staff is a family who takes enormous pride in the boat and ensure you have a wonderful time, and they truly deliver on that. I think WALT himself would be proud. The little meet and greet of all the Disney characters were all a delight. All so professional and buzzing with character. It was a joy to watch every interaction. The shows were nothing short of spectacular, especially the MINI broadway productions held in the theatre below deck, which included a lovely story, with Peter pan, introducing Cinderella, Aerial, The Lion King, and of course Frozen. That production was the crown jewel of this voyage and was achingly good. I think Disney should consider more of the mini-cruises around the UK because they are absolutely FANTASTIC and affordable if just for a few days! I would book 2 every year if they were available in the UK all year round / or just through spring to autumn! – Do they do a STARWARS cruise? If so, get that ship over here also!!!
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
4 Night Cruise to the Bahamas
Departure date
Thursday, 02/12/21
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Top deals
Cruise OnlyUS$907pp
View Deal
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.