We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-image
Col wrote a review Apr 2024
Hunter Valley, Australia9 contributions
We cruised on 5 April 2024 on Celebrity Edge in Aqua Class to southern Australia.
Had Premium Access pass and boarded quickly in Sydney. The ship was a WOW factor, modern and stunning. A nice lunch in the dining room on Day 1. Staff were very friendly and our Aqua Class room was nice. The window went down to half way to make it a balcony room. The toilet is wedged in a corner between the shower and wall. A bit of a small area. The toilets did block up on deck 9 the odd time.
We are 2 couples in our early 60s who booked Aqua Class rooms.
We had upgraded to premium drink package and premium wi-fi from the classic package that came with Aqua Class.
The spa area was nice for Aqua Class.
The Blu restaurant for Aqua Class was excellent for Breakfast and Dinner. The staff were benchmark. Melanie did an amazing job with her smiling face made our day.
We also dined at Specialty Restaurants being Le Petite Chef, Eden, Raw on 5 and Fine Cut Steakhouse which were all outstanding. Amazing staff in all restaurants except the Bar Waiter in Raw on 5 as he had no idea with serving wines when meals came out when the wines were pre ordered and lacked skills. This was again repeated with our second visit to Raw on 5 by the Bar waiter.
The Ocean View Bistro was one of the best cruise ship bistros we have experienced.
The food was fresh, plenty of friendly staff and presentation was excellent.
We have sailed numerous times with Royal Caribbean, Celebrity and P&O.
We sailed to Melbourne, Adelaide, Kangaroo Island and Hobart which were all great ports. We did ship tours at all ports except Adelaide.
In Adelaide we used the Train to get to the City from Outer Harbour Train Station.
It is opposite the pier. When in Adelaide we got Tram to Glenelg which is a nice beach location with nice shops and cafes. It cost $10 for a ticket all day and a Seniors Card was free for cruise passengers.
The Celebrity Edge Tender boats are first class with padded seats and the Magic Carpet platform was perfect to tender across to Kangaroo Island.
On Kangaroo Island we did the Seal Bay tour. Amazing.
In Hobart we did the small boat tour down the Derwent River to Iron Pot Lighthouse.
It was fantastic.
.
Negatives.
The weather was wet and the seas were rough leaving Sydney to Melbourne. The ship rocked and rolled throughout the cruise. I have been on the Celebrity Solstice in 6 meter seas and it cruised far better than the Celebrity Edge. Not sure why but the Celebrity Edge seems to look taller and maybe this is the reason.
It was also rough from Melbourne to Adelaide. It was also very rough going down the west coast of Tasmania and again on the east coast of Tasmania heading home. The weather was at time wet and cold winds which restricted access to the pool areas, pool bars, Sunset Bar, the Magic Carpet and the Roof Top Grill. These areas are open with no roof top coverings and wind howling through the glass window pane gaps on the pool deck. The shops onboard were catered for high end customers. There was no party atmosphere.
The Port days were fine, so after shore excursions, we could use to open areas till we sailed. The areas on top were nice and so was the Sunset Bar area and lounges.
The inclement weather days caused the inside bars were extremely crowded and so to the restaurants. An extra inside restaurant had to be opened due to crowds at lunch time.
The undercover Solarium Pool are was crowded and at capacity most days.
The Martini bar is hard to access due to Seating around the bar and the Casino/Sports bar was the same. You had a better choice with the Premium drink package at these bars. The Club bar didn't open till later in the day.
The Premium drink package ( Up to $20 USD/ $29 AUD a drink) didn't cover all drinks and cocktails. In the Eden Bar the cocktails start at $24 USD and only covered entry spirits to maybe some mid priced spirits. Strange since we paid for a Premium drink package. This seemed unreasonable. The chairs were hard to get in and out of, as they are very low.
Our friends we cruised with had cruised on Celebrity Edge 1 month earlier to Hobart in March 2024 and used all facilities on the Pool deck and bars/ food areas.
They too were disappointed this time as this changed of Dynamics of the ship with the lack of party atmosphere. They found it a little boring too.
.
Overall the Edge in is a nice modern ship but we would only cruise again in Summer, as it became boring with limited inside areas to relax when the weather is inclement.
Food 10/10
Specialty Dining 10/10
Staff 9.9/10 ( The Raw on 5 Bar Waiter stopped a perfect score)
Aqua Class room 7.5/10
Blu Restaurant food and Staff 11/10
Premium Drink Package 7/10 (Not value for money everywhere, made to pay extra)
Premium Specialty Coffee 5/10 ( it was hit and miss)
Onboard Shops 5/10 (Too many high end shops $$$$)
Bars 6/10 (Access and sitting locations)
Pool Deck and bars, Roof top Grill 3/10 (due to weather, lack of undercover areas)
.
We prefer the Celebrity Solstice, as it has more areas to relax and unwind and better suited to weather conditions.
Celebrity, please bring back the Celebrity Solstice to Australia for Australian, South Pacific and New Zealand cruises from Sydney.
We are loyal to Celebrity and Royal Caribbean brand and we are Elite and Diamond Plus with their Loyalty Programs.
Hopefully this is a fair review.
Read more
Sail Date: April 2024
Cabin Type:
Type of Trip:
Destination: Australia
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Celebrity Edge

282 reviews
 All photos (2,446)2,446
Full view
Traveller (808)
Common Areas (1,072)
Dining and Bars (726)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
7 Night Cruise to Alaska
Departure date
Friday, 09/08/24
Route
Seattle, Ketchikan, Endicott Arm, Juneau, Skagway, Inside Passage, Victoria, Seattle
View Map

Overview

About
Passengers: 2,918   |   Crew: 1,320
Passengers to crew: 2.21:1
Passengers to space: 44.3:1
Launched: 2018   

Decks

  • Deck 2
  • Deck 3
  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
Additional decks
Deck 2 layout
 

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 131 - 304 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 256
Accessible rooms: 16
Maximum passengers: 4
Number of cabins: 1013

Activities & entertainment

Activities (26)
  • Live Music
  • Barber*
  • Destination Gateway
  • Edge Cabanas*
  • Enrichment Lectures
  • Fitness Center
  • Fitness Classes*
  • Game Shows
  • Hot Tubs (4)
  • iLounge*
  • Jogging Track
  • Karaoke
  • Magic Carpet
  • Motion Studio A
  • Motion Studio B
  • Pools (3)
  • Relaxation Room
  • Rooftop Garden
  • Salon*
  • Sea Thermal Suites*
  • Team Trivia
  • The Spa*
  • Treatment Rooms*
  • Camp At Sea
  • The Basement
  • The Retreat Lounge
Entertainment (9)
  • Casino*
  • Casino Tournaments*
  • Comedy Shows
  • Disco & Dancing
  • Eden
  • Featured Films
  • Grand Plaza
  • The Club
  • The Theatre
Dining (28)
  • Rooftop Garden Grill - Al Fresco Dining*
  • Drink Specials
  • Mixology Classes*
  • Wine Tasting Seminars*
  • Sunset Bar - Aft Bar*
  • Blu - Aqua Class
  • Casino Bar - Casino Bar*
  • Mast Grill - Casual
  • Oceanview Café - Casual
  • Café Al Bacio - Coffee Bar*
  • Grand Plaza Café - Coffee Bar*
  • Il Secondo Bacio - Coffee Bar*
  • Eden Bar - Craft Cocktails*
  • Eden Restaurant - Dinner Theatre*
  • Spa Café & Juice Bar - Healthy Fare
  • Le Grand Bistro - Interactive French*
  • Cosmopolitan Restaurant - International
  • Cyprus Restaurant - International
  • Normandie Restaurant - International
  • Tuscan Restaurant - International
  • Raw on Five - Japanese*
  • Eden Café - Light Fare
  • The Martini Bar - Martini Bar*
  • Magic Carpet - Panoramic Dining*
  • Pool Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Fine Cut Steakhouse - Steakhouse*
  • Luminae at the Retreat - Suite Class
  • The Retreat Pool Bar - Suite Class
* May require additional fees

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 47
  • 41
  • 24
  • 28
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
avatar-image
SR621 wrote a review 17 Jul
Massachusetts351 contributions35 helpful votes
We were on the Edge the week of June 28 to Alaska. We were very impressed with the ship. Our Infinite Veranda room was great and it fit my family's needs (and wow- what a spacious bathroom). Our 10 and 12 year olds loved their Camp at Sea program (kid acitivities). Whenever we were on ship they wanted to go. They offered 3 sessions each day that are 3 hours long. We found ourselves going to the Eden lounge area alot in the evening. We loved listening to Johnny and the rest of the musicians. The whole ship was immaculate. All staff were friendly. We would cruise with Celebrity again.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CS1Portland wrote a review Jun 2024
Portland, Maine850 contributions279 helpful votes
First cruise experience, along with first port experience and first Alaska experience. 1. The Edge is a beautiful ship, sleek designs, plenty of bars and restaurants. 2. The port of Seattle is a living nightmare a horror story of poor logistics, too many ships, people, vehicles and pedestrian crossings. It simply doesn't work and needs a makeover. 3.Alaska cruising allows for calm seas for first timers to find their sea legs. 4. Cabin 12120 exceeded our expectations for design and size, drawers and closet space, plenty of bathroom shelving, and the indoor balcony with floor to ceiling window that opens halfway. Janet was an extraordinary cabin attendant. 5. The Alaska port towns are each similar as old mining towns and overcrowded with other ships and passengers. the railway ride White Pass Summit in Skagway is exceptional. 6. The last stop in Victoria was too late in the day, shame the schedule does not allow for an earlier arrival. 7. The entertainment, games, dances, bands, musicians, comedian, were for the most part excellent. 8. The Ocean View buffet food was remarkably good for quality and variety for the "masses". 9. Lots of hiccups in all other restaurants we ate in, simple small matters that should be rectified such as cooking temperatures of steaks and lamb. 10. A 7 bottle wine package that was advertised by email ahead of the cruise that simply did not exist. 11. Better bar training to understand the difference between sparkling wine and champagne and greater accuracy between wine lists and actuality. 12. Staff all try to do what's right and what's best for the customer, that is clear to see and experience. 13. The Celebrity APP could use improvements and be more user friendly for a group chat. Our first and certainly not our last cruise as we experiment next with different size ships and companies. This particular cruise was very good value for money and good memories.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Paradise Travel Group wrote a review Jun 2024
Richland, Washington11 contributions
What an absolutely beautiful ship. The food is great. Numerous options for dining and entertainment. The Edge class ships are to be seen.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
C K wrote a review Jun 2024
1 contribution
On the Celebrity Edge cruise ship right now. 6/1-6/8. 1st of the cruise ship is very nicely designed and this is about 1yr old ship so everything is very new. My favorite location is the Envy and the spa. I bought a package deal which let me use spa the whole time I was there which was really great. It’s still way too cold to enjoy the outdoor areas at all. All the staff members were very attentive and nice. Now let’s get to the cons of it all. I’m glad we didn’t book all the tours cuz the amount of time is so short not including the time it takes to get there. We did the canoeing which took 40min to get there and then we canoe around the lake in the cold drizzle rain and then had some snacks off shore then took like a 15min walk around then canoe back. It was so boring cuz I thought we would have more time to hike. Then our next excursion was the helicopter glacier. Helicopter ride was nice but short and landing on glaciers we were there for 30min max. We weren’t allow to go anywhere. I thought the glacier would be more beautiful blue than I thought. That was a disappointment from where my friend went. Then we did the The Summit tour. Bus took us on a 45min ride with only 2 stops, 1 was 10min then the other was 5min, got us to take pic of the Alaska sign then rushed us back to the bus to go back. Such a disappointment with these tours . For the entertainment of the ship my favorites were the guitarist Jonny and singer Lucy, others were mediocre. Th lady that takes about the whales were good info. The worst was the Colors of Life, it was like a high school musical performance. The choreography, the dancers, and singers. There was only one that’s was good was the acrobatic guy on the rope. Last but not least talk about food which is the most important of all. Nothing we had was good. Everything as just ok like a cafeteria food. Most of them were blan, cold, over cooked. It’s like it’s been sitting there for a long time. The specialize restaurants were the same too. Did the cruise ship cut back on hiring all the food specialized people? I’m not sure If I’ll be returning to this cruise.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
srsimpkins1 wrote a review Jun 2024
Dayton, Ohio22 contributions6 helpful votes
Pros Food good Friendly staff Alaska is beautiful Reality clean, although, there was a dead bird on the Dec below our balcony all week. Staff walked around it without taking any action. Very gross. Cons Don’t buy excursions through Celebrity. Do it on ports. We had one of Celebrities cancel at last minute and completely messed up our schedule. Another one was not what celebrity described. If you buy from celebrity you don’t know what you’re getting. Ship was built for cold weather cruising not much here to do. Daws glacier was not as nice as glacier bay. Ship only got about 2 mile from the glacier and then you had to pay small vessels to go you closer. Only Holland America and Princess goes to glacier bay. I would suggest using them for Alaska.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
7 Night Cruise to Alaska
Departure date
Friday, 09/08/24
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.