We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-image
Happy201501 wrote a review Feb 2024
Bradenton, Florida72 contributions
This was our 16th cruise but our first Celebrity cruise. It will be our last Celebrity cruise due to poor maintenance, poor "anytime dining" and internet lounge service breakdown for the last 5 days of this 12 day cruise.

Celebrity failed to maintain the AC system in our cabin resulting in condensation overflowing and flooding several drawers containing my clothing early on in the cruise. Celebrity laundered the clothing but failed to communicate the cause and solution to their mechanical breakdown.

Celebrity advertises "anytime dining" but we had to wait 30, 45 and even 60 minutes to be seated in Main Dining (San Marco) for dinner. As an insulin dependent diabetic disclosed to Celebrity prior to boarding , this caused serious issues for me. The person in charge of seating, Mahdi, refused to help despite multiple discussions. He has been promoted above the level of his abilities. The food in Main Dining was acceptable but below the standards of Princess, Holland America, Disney, Oceania and Norwegian. The meals in the specialty restaurants - Le Petit Chef and Tuscan Grille were excellent.

The premier beverage package includes fresh squeezed juices but one morning it too 30 minutes to receive fresh squeezed orange juice in Main Dining. Fresh squeezed juice was not available in the buffet restaurant.

The iLounge computers did not work the last 5 days of the cruise. We repeatedly engaged the IT staff which was unable to identify or correct the problem on all of the computers in the iLounge.

Constellation has a bad history of covid and norovirus outbreaks. On January 12, over 92 passengers and 8 crew members had norovirus. When we disembarked on Feb. 5, we tested positive for covid 3 days later. We were fully vaccinated and boosted prior to boarding and had never had covid prior to this cruise. Future passengers should consult the federal website of the CDC to track outbreaks.
Read more
Sail Date: January 2024
Cabin Type:
Type of Trip:
Destination: Caribbean
Cabin
Dining
Service
Pools & Sundecks
Onboard Activities
Entertainment
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Celebrity Constellation

121 reviews
 All photos (1,524)1,524
Full view
Traveller (392)
Common Areas (674)
Dining and Bars (335)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
11 Night Cruise to the Eastern Mediterranean
Departure date
Monday, 26/08/24
Route
Rome (Civitavecchia), Florence (Livorno), Portofino, Naples, Taormina (Messina), Brindisi, Dubrovnik, Kotor, Split, Ravenna (Bologna)
View Map

Overview

About
Passengers: 2,170   |   Crew: 999
Passengers to crew: 2.17:1
Passengers to space: 46.2:1
Launched: 2002   

Decks

  • Deck 2
  • Deck 3
  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
Additional decks
Deck 2 layout
Cabins
  Ocean View 7 (07)  
  Inside Stateroom 12 (12)  
  Inside Stateroom 11 (11)  
  Ocean View 8 (08)  
 

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 170 - 191 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 94
Accessible rooms: 3
Maximum passengers: 5
Number of cabins: 454

Activities & entertainment

Activities (25)
  • Acupuncture*
  • Basketball Court
  • Canyon Ranch SpaClub*
  • Celebrity iLounge*
  • Demonstration Kitchen
  • Enrichment Lectures
  • Fitness Center
  • Fitness Classes*
  • Game Shows
  • Hair Salon*
  • Hot Tubs (4)
  • Jogging Track
  • Karaoke
  • Library
  • Live Music
  • Persian Garden*
  • Pools (2)
  • Rooftop Terrace
  • Team Trivia
  • Therapy / Treatment*
  • Video Arcade*
  • Oceanview Café & Grill
  • Fun Factory
  • X Club
  • Michael's Club
Entertainment (9)
  • Casino Tournaments*
  • Celebrity Theater
  • Comedy Shows
  • Disco & Dancing
  • Featured Films
  • Fortunes Casino*
  • Movie Screen
  • Reflections Lounge
  • Rendezvous Lounge
Dining (19)
  • Bar
  • Drink Specials
  • Mixology Classes*
  • Wine Tasting Seminars*
  • Blu - Aqua Class
  • Café Al Bacio - Coffee Bar*
  • Tuscan Grille - Contemporary Italian*
  • Pool Grill - Fast Food
  • Spa Café - Healthy Fare
  • The San Marco Restaurant - International
  • Crush - Martini Bar*
  • Martini Bar - Martini Bar*
  • Mast Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Oceanview Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Luminae - Suite Class
  • Sushi on Five - Sushi*
  • Gelateria - Sweets*
  • Qsine - Unique Fare*
  • Cellar Masters - Wine Bar*
* May require additional fees

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 36
  • 23
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
avatar-image
shelleyWakefield_uk wrote a review 5 Jul
Wakefield, United Kingdom46 contributions
Best food ever on a cruise!!! First time on Celebrity Constellation and we had a wonderful time. The staff are the friendliest we have ever met on a cruise ship. The food was outstanding. The itinerary from Ravenna to Civittiavachia was one of our favourites. Croatia is a must do, we booked trips via private tour companys and had no problem at all. Our ferry trip to Cinque Terre was cancelled a few days before due to rough seas, but we were reimbursed very quickly and we went to plan B which was travelling on the tourist train that stopped at all five villages. Stunning scenery and fab weather. Without a doubt we would definetly cruise again on the Constellation.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bob B wrote a review Jun 2024
Hackettstown, New Jersey2 contributions
We recently went on an 11 night cruise to Italy and Croatia. The Constellation is a beautiful ship since it was refurbished about 5 years ago. The entertainment was excellent. All the service staff (cabin attendent, wait staff in the restaurants) we met were excellent. They were very friendly and attentive. Unfortunately, the quality of the food was a huge disappointment in the main dining room and at the buffet. We tried various beef dishes numerous times (including filet, prime rib) and all were chewy. The shrimp cocktail was terrible. The shrimp were very small and were soft and mushy. These are just a few examples of the poor quality food we experienced. Over the past 4 or 5 years we've been on NCL and Oceania cruises and the food was far superior to Celebrity. Not sure if this is just a problem on the Constellation or with Celebrity.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
alandeans63 wrote a review May 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom646 contributions
My wife and I along with two friends spent 10 nights on this ship and it was an absolute delight! Staff were very attentive and friendly. The Hotel manager Cameron Robertson sorted out our issues without delay and so did the Guest Relations manager. The Martini bar staff were all excellent and so were the staff serving us every evening at table 148. Entertainment was varied and well organised and also the resident bands and musicians aimed to please.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dan L wrote a review Apr 2024
3 contributions
We did a transatlantic in March 2024 from Tampa to Barcelona. 14 days. We regret to say that, with a few exceptions, this cruise was very disappointing. The worst thing was the food. It became a real problem. To begin with, it was very very repetitive. After three days we realized that almost two thirds of the buffet was the same for lunch and dinner EVERYDAY. That might not have been such a problem if the food had been good but in general it was bland at best, bad at worst. The soups were thickened with lots of corn starch, the salad dressings were cheap, commercial, and possibly watered down. Almost all the chef plates were some sort of stew, every day and every night. The pizza as well as the pasta and even the burgers were the most flavorless imitations we have ever tasted. The Mexican salsa tasted like tomatoes out of a can, the corn chips were often stale and my wife discovered one day that the guacamole had gone bad. It's as if there were no standards at all in the buffet kitchen as well as in the main dining room. I asked for a glass of house red and they brought me cheap Chilean from a screw cap bottle and it tasted like vinegar. The chef really seemed to like his macaroni. It was in everything. It was like hospital food in a bad neighborhood. At least the desserts and fruits were good, the gelato was delicious and they had a decent selection of good cheeses. We ate only twice in the main dining room because it just wasn't a good experience. Another thing was really bothered us was the incessant and all-pervasive recorded dance music. You couldn't get away from it, even at 6:00 am in the Oceanview buffet. It was whiny voices, techno dance all the time. One guest even did a survey about the music and found out that everybody hated it. The Sky lounge is a splendid room with a spectacular view but we could never enjoy the place without the interminable, loud and constant trivia games. If it wasn't that, it was (you guessed it) dance music. The spa is a beautiful room with nice meditative music but there was never enough seating for the demand. The Entertainment. Except for the Lucky Band and a couple of acts one night in the theater, the entertainment was amateurish at best and downright bad sometimes. To be fair, there were some very good things. The decor on the Constellation is quite tasteful. The staff was, for the most part, absolutely delightful and ready with a smile. Our room was well-appointed and clean with a very comfortable bed and our steward Christine was perfectly charming and professional. We feel that our cruise could have been magical but the lack of standards and attention in crucial areas made it a less-than-average experience. We won't cruise with Celebrity again.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Paul O wrote a review Apr 2024
Saskatoon, Canada71 contributions
Our 12-day cruise aboard the Celebrity Constellation unfortunately fell short of expectations due to significant issues with the ship's condition, overcrowding, and inadequate management of amenities. Despite the best efforts of the staff, the overall experience was marred by several concerning factors. The ship itself is run down and in dire need of refurbishment, with numerous issues that detracted from the enjoyment of our trip. The most notable of these was the persistent smell of raw sewage in the hallway and stairwell outside of our cabin, creating an uncomfortable environment for passengers. Additionally, our cabin experienced issues with black mold in the bathroom and on the air exchange/air conditioning unit, posing health risks that caused us to develop upper respiatory infections. The glass on our balcony was cracked and broken, presenting safety hazards with exposed sharp edges. One of the most concerning aspects of the cruise was the overcrowding and prevalence of passengers with mobility challenges, many of whom were using motorized scooters. While the staff did their best to accommodate these individuals, the sheer number of scooters made navigating the ship challenging and at times hazardous. Unfortunately, these challenges resulted in accidents occurring onboard, including an incident where my foot was run over by a motorized scooter, causing significant bruising. Additionally, a staff member delivering a drink to our table in the solarium was struck by a scooter, resulting in him falling onto me and causing further injury to my neck and shoulder. The staff didn't want to cause a seen and profusely apologized while the person driving the scooter continue on their way at full speed. Furthermore, the management of amenities such as the solarium left much to be desired. Despite rising early to secure chairs, we found that they were taken by 4:30 am every morning, often with towels or books left unattended for hours. On the one morning we managed to secure chairs, our belongings were callously tossed aside and our space occupied when we briefly left to get coffee and fresh fruit. Despite bringing our concerns to the staff, no action was taken to address the issue. Despite these difficulties, it's worth noting that the staff onboard the Celebrity Constellation were lovely and did their utmost to assist passengers throughout the cruise. However, the issues with the ship's condition, overcrowding, and mismanagement of amenities ultimately overshadowed their efforts. In conclusion, while the Celebrity Constellation cruise offered promising destinations and a dedicated staff, the overall experience was marred by significant shortcomings in ship maintenance, overcrowding, and management of amenities, detracting from the enjoyment of the voyage. Additionally, as seasoned travelers who have had the opportunity to explore various destinations, particularly with Celebrity Cruises, we were deeply disappointed by the decline in the quality of our recent experience. The standards of food, entertainment, and overall service noticeably diminished compared to previous voyages. Despite expectations for improvement after the ship was scheduled for dry dock and a major refurbishment in 2019, it was disheartening to find that Celebrity decided to continue operating it without addressing underlying issues, potentially sacrificing passenger satisfaction for short-term financial gains. We would caution future travelers to explore alternative cruise lines such as Virgin and Princess, which may offer better value for money and a more satisfying overall experience. We hope that Celebrity Cruises will take steps to address these concerns and restore the high standards that once made them a preferred choice for discerning travelers.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
11 Night Cruise to the Eastern Mediterranean
Departure date
Monday, 26/08/24
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.