We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maven Car Sharing?

Florida
Level Contributor
9 posts
11 reviews
Maven Car Sharing?

Hello. I'm from Florida and we all use personal cars here even to travel. So, I'm fairly new to public transit and getting around without owning a car. We are coming to Boston next week and we need to rent a car or do a car sharing to go visit Lexington/Concord. Can anyone advise on car sharing? I can't even start an account without my license and I'm a little nervous putting that information into an app that I know nothing about. Thanks so much!

Best Seller
Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
1,106 Reviews
from US$44.05*
Best Seller
Day Trip to Martha's Vineyard
683 Reviews
from US$105.00*
Best Seller
Boston Whale Watching Cruise
601 Reviews
from US$55.65*
6 replies to this topic
Boston, MA
Destination Expert
for Boston
Level Contributor
26,627 posts
67 reviews
1. Re: Maven Car Sharing?

Car sharing in the way I think you mean (as opposed to zipcar) is fairly new to the area. I have seen it advertised in subway stations.

Massachusetts has strict rules about auto insurance and I wonder it there will be significant savings over a regular rental.

Boston...
Level Contributor
7,752 posts
4 reviews
2. Re: Maven Car Sharing?

I would either do a traditional car rental or rely on Lyft/Uber rather than ride sharing.

Florida
Level Contributor
9 posts
11 reviews
3. Re: Maven Car Sharing?

Okay thank you for your advice. I think we will just do a traditional rental car.

Boston...
Destination Expert
for Killington
Level Contributor
2,130 posts
27 reviews
4. Re: Maven Car Sharing?