We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oregon Dunes Recreation National Park

Cape Cod
Level Contributor
18 posts
5 reviews
Oregon Dunes Recreation National Park

My husband and I will have part of one day and one overnight (and a little of the morning) at the dunes. I'm a photographer and wonder if anyone can give me advice as to the best part of the dunes to visit, given the brevity of our stay. I'd also appreciate a recommendation for a room in the area. Lastly, is the Sea Lion Cave worth a visit? Thank you!

Green Valley...
Level Contributor
18,030 posts
65 reviews
1. Re: Oregon Dunes Recreation National Park

If you provide your itinerary, advice would be easier, especially given your limited time.

Sea Lion Caves: No.

Sea Lions: Newport, old town, the docks.

Sea Lions: Just north of the caves, a viewpoint, look straight down to the rocks below - and the lighthouse to the north for a lovely picture.

Eugene, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Eugene, Springfield
Level Contributor
9,996 posts
200 reviews
2. Re: Oregon Dunes Recreation National Park

With the dunes stretching for more than 60 miles, I'm not sure there is a "best part to visit," especially photographically. If you take a photo of 200-300 ft dunes reaching out to the horizon, it might look like the Sahara (as that desert appears in old movies), but you will lose all proportionality. Having a dune buggy coming off such a dune cliff (a deadly likelihood) would give you the element of size comparison.

Also, you might want a photo showing the dunes surrounding some lakes and tree islands (where bears happen to roam, by the way). Or you might want the ocean and surf in the photo. Or the lagoon at Honeyman State Park.

Do you want sunrise on the dunes...or sunset?