We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

j1 jobs summer 2010

czech republic
2 posts
Save Topic
j1 jobs summer 2010

Hi,

I'm a student from Czech Republic and I'd like to go to Huntington Beach this summer (mid june - end of september). I was wondering whether there's a chance to get a summer job... do you have any advice?

LA
Level Contributor
9,927 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: j1 jobs summer 2010

Post this on the Lonely Planet Thorn Tree USA branch.

Huntington Beach...
Destination Expert
for Huntington Beach, Newport Beach, Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
6,249 posts
179 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: j1 jobs summer 2010

Always a chance but you would have to have a "green card" enabling you to work legally. Most student visas don't allow you to work.

Huntington Beach
Destination Expert
for Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
1,423 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: j1 jobs summer 2010

J1 Visa's allow them to work here Cats. Most must show proof that they have a job set for them to get the J1's (owner/manager signs a document saying so) unless they have a certain amount of money in the bank. They are only allowed to stay for a certain period of time and most only stay between school sessions. However, they do need a social security card to get paid. For some of them, the process of completing that part is confusing.

Malimea...you wont find a job by posting online here. You need to be contacting the places of employment by email instead. This will require some google searching on your end. Some establishments, particularly in downtown HB, do hire J1's this way.