We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beware of racist and xenophobic hostel!

London, United...
2 posts
2 reviews
Beware of racist and xenophobic hostel!

Hey all. Im a PhD student in London, and I was travelling to Venezuela in February. I booked with DAL BO HOSTEL for 5 nights in Caracas. The manager wrote me a very aggressive email cancelling my reservation based on my nationality!!. Im Colombian. (he argued several Colombians booked and didnt show up) Although we exchanged several emails, and I insisted I was travelling, he was always aggressive, and it was obvious he was uncomfortable with me just for the fact that im Colombian. In the end without any explanation he unilaterally decided to cancel my booking!! (I have all the emails to prove this). This xenophobic behaviour should not be expected from a hostel where so many people from all the world meet. Although most of the people travelling are European and American, I would encourage everyone not to sponsor the racist behaviour of this hostel. Please choose another option and let people know. I was very disturbed!

Eastbourne, United...
Level Contributor
474 posts
1. Re: Beware of racist and xenophobic hostel!

Sorry to hear about this experience.

Why not make a complaint to INDEPABIS, the consumer protection agency in Venezuela? You can make the complaint online on their website (see below).

www.indepabis.gob.ve

Margarita Island
Destination Expert
for Margarita Island
Level Contributor
2,375 posts
4 reviews
2. Re: Beware of racist and xenophobic hostel!

You know as a posada owner I read this a few days ago when it was posted & even went so far as to look this place up on-line.

They have many excellent reviews & comments.

I had never heard of them before this post.

I then read this comment again this morning.