We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelling alone to Nigeria

5 posts
Save Topic
Travelling alone to Nigeria

Hello, I got accepted for an internship in the federal university of petrolium ressources in effurun DElta state, Nigeria .

This is my first time travelling outside of Tunisia. I will be travelling alone.

I ll be going to lagos and then to benin city where the host will be waiting for me. However they said I need to leave the airport to another one in order to reach my internal flight from lagos to benin

would please give me some tips inorder to help me be safe , use trasport, and just know how to adjust and be accepted

Mentioned in this post
Nigeria
Nigeria
Africa
Fela Kuti Private Tour
from US$70.00*
Free Cancellation
La Campagne Tropicana Private Beach...
from US$72.50*
Free Cancellation
Lekki Conservation Centre Private...
2 Reviews
from US$84.00*
Free Cancellation
11 replies to this topic
England, United...
Level Contributor
16,079 posts
104 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Travelling alone to Nigeria

I reccommend you download the student handbook, which is available via this link to the University’s own website...

Link here.

https://www.fupre.edu.ng/s/?fupre=page&id=92

5 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Travelling alone to Nigeria

Thank you a lot

it is really helpful. However I would like some advice about the journey and about cabs from the lagos airport to ikeja in order to take the internal flight. I am a bit scared becasue it my my first time travelling. and should I have naira with me or dollars are okay. where can I exchange money at the airport?

I am a 22 years old girl travelling alone are there some things to do to protect myself .

I know that media make things looke scarier and what they show is not true and all but I want to know more things to be prepared.