We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

money???

Which Patong hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
bargara australia
Level Contributor
15 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
money???

I am going to Thailand next week..I have organised some thai baht here. Should I bring australian dollors as well or use the atm? This is my first time in Thailand..Thanks in advance...

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15,864 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: money???

Don't change money before you leave - you get a better rate here! Check the FAQS (Top Questions) on the right for a comprehensive answer to your question.

Darkan, Australia
Level Contributor
655 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: money???

Bring Aussie $ and change it to Thai baht. Don't change any at home.

Money changers and banks all over the place. Much better rate that at home.

ATM charge a fee - cash no fee.

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1,474 posts
24 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: money???

A.t .m Charges a fee ,but you don't have to carry loads of cash. I think its safer ,and who cares about 20 or 30 dollaers in fees over a vacation .....Really

Mindarie, Australia
Level Contributor
956 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: money???

we are taking visa debit card to pay for hotel extras and jewellery and have paid for our tours already so we are taking aus dollars. Its been suggest on T/A to change a small amount at airport just so as you have some money in thai for tips when you get there like luggage guys at hotel but the best rates are in patong and we plan on changing just enough on a daily basis

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
374 posts
72 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: money???

Ive learnt that aussie cash with cards as a emergency back up gets you the best value..

GPC

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5,597 posts
34 reviews
Save Reply