We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

tipping????/ currency????

Which Sharm El Sheikh hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Level Contributor
18 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
tipping????/ currency????

This is my first time to egypt and i'm extremely confused about what to exchange my money into :-\

There are two of us going for one week we have arranged 2trips which will cost us £80.00 altogether we were considering taking £200 leaving us 120 free for any extras but i really dnt know what to change this into????

I want to change my money this weekend so would be thankful for any help

SKELMERSDALE
Level Contributor
721 posts
33 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: tipping????/ currency????

hi there the rate of exchange is pretty good best place to change your money is when you get to egypt the staff will take £1 coins but its not easy for them to get it changed back hope this helps

Egypt
Level Contributor
70 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: tipping????/ currency????

Just bring 20 GBP worth of Egyptian pounds with you (to get you by at first)

then Change the rest in Sharm and change it into Egyptian pounds

Swansea, United...
Destination Expert
for Sharm El Sheikh
Level Contributor
9,966 posts
50 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: tipping????/ currency????

Hi there

Change your money in Sharm you will get approx 10% more for your money. You don't need to change any money before you go, there is a bank at the airport and the exchange rates throughout Sharm are similar and no commision to pay. Tip in LEs not pound coins. Please read the Tips at the top of the messages and the questions in blue down the right hand side of the page. Most of what you need to know is there

Regards

barbarah

Level Contributor
18 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: tipping????/ currency????