We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

My company is sending me Abidjan I have a lot of concerns.

Corpus Christi...
2 posts
My company is sending me Abidjan I have a lot of concerns.

I work in the Oilfield and my company is sending me to Abijan Cote D'ivoire to pick up a boat and return it to the U.S. I have heard good and bad story's about Africa but I am only 19 and this is my first time going over sea's. My biggest concern is the Ebola outbreak in Sierra Leone, Guinea, and Liberia. Liberia borders Cote D'ivoire and I'm not sure if Cote D'ivoire has had any reported cases. But going through customs Is another issue, I heard you could have items taken from you like a laptop, or money, or over the counter medicine. What should I and what should I not pack. And just how safe is Abidjan in general? Thank you for your help.

Stockholm, Sweden
Destination Expert
for Morocco
Level Contributor
10,856 posts
171 reviews
1. Re: My company is sending me Abidjan I have a lot of concerns.

About Ebola - it is OK, not one case is reported on Cote Ivory.

And about the customs - who told for you about such story? I was there in January and was impressed of how effective and good they were. No problems at all we had.

It is safe there also, we rented a car and traveled alone through the whole country, to Grand Bassam and then Yamoussoukro, Daloa etc without some problems with someone.

Abidjan is safe but of course, you would avoid to go to small streets, be careful with your wallet etc, don't go out after darkness, take in such case taxi.

It is warm there so pack not so warm clothes of course. Wet period can be now but it is warm so you will be only wet.

Corpus Christi...
2 posts
2. Re: My company is sending me Abidjan I have a lot of concerns.

Thank you very much for the help!

Stockholm, Sweden