We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Non-luxury travel in French Polynesia

Bahrain
10 posts
Save Topic
Non-luxury travel in French Polynesia

Hi,

I am interested in travelling in FP but I don't want the whole resort thing. I would like to stay in maybe small beach bungalows etc and travel from island to island. Any thoughts anyone?

Many Thanks

Seattle, WA. USA
Level Contributor
2,884 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Non-luxury travel in French Polynesia

There are plenty of small mom&pop type resorts that are much cheaper (and much more basic) than the main (and expensive) hotels. While I've no personal experience with them I can point you to some websites that feature them. Here are a few I'm aware of:

http://www.tahitiguide.com/@fr/directory/details.asp?filter_1=/2/21/&&prestations=/1/5/&office=110

http://www.boraboraisland.com/tostay.html

hostels.com/en/…RecordID.10287

http://www.mai-moana-island.com/

http://www.temanuata.com/

... or simply do a search on "Bora Bora Pensions", "Moorea Pensions" etc.

Also the local experts here can doubtless direct you to some of the more reputable places.

Ken

santa barbara,CA
Destination Expert
for French Polynesia, Cook Islands, Tahiti
Level Contributor
8,438 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Non-luxury travel in French Polynesia

Hi lozza:

There are a myriad of places to stay on these islands that aren't resort type properties. Many islands have pensions that are wonderful! Small bungalows on the beach for the most part. Some of these are:

RANGIROA:

pension chez josephine

MOOREA:

hotel hibiscus

les tipaniers

HUAHINE:

pension mauarii

BORA BORA:

hotel matira beach

Village Temanuata

Chez Rosine Masson

Chez Robert & Tina

Chez Nono

Chez Rosina

Village Pauline

bora Bora Yacht Club

Mai Moana Island

Le Paradis

Pension Lagoonarium