We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Visiting Hong Kong in late August 2015

Vasco Da Gama, Goa...
Level Contributor
16 posts
31 reviews
Visiting Hong Kong in late August 2015

Hey y'all, me and my family were thinking of visiting Hong Kong in around the last week of August or so. We are fine with the hot and humid weather because we ourselves stay in a hot region, but I was warned about typhoons and rains during this time.

How frequent are the rains/typhoons? The weather forecast for the last week of August shows no sign of rain, but I am not sure if they are accurate for Hong Kong (I studied in the USA and the forecasts for the region used to be bang-on accurate). We really do wish to visit Lantau Islands, Macau, do the "Land Between Tour" etc and of course Disneyland and an HK city tour. Any advice / opinion would be highly appreciated! Thank you!

Edited: 15 August 2015, 15:47
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
2,586 posts
6 reviews
1. Re: Visiting Hong Kong in late August 2015

Well according to the BBC weather forecast between now and the 24th of August (which is as far ahead as they show just now) there is one lovely sunny day. The rest are rainy/very rainy and thunderstorms are predicted on 3 days. No info I can see about typhoons. So yes it rains a lot at this time of year!

However they have a very good advanced warning system in place for different levels of storms/typhoons and the various attractions like Ocean park and Disneyland may have restricted opening or be closed depending on how bad the weather is forecast to get. The airport only closes in the most severe cases but this does happen more in typhoon season of course.

We have been to Hong Kong twice between December and February and it is just like a good Scottish summer (though even then more humid!!)

Hong Kong, China