We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Domestic flights in Madagascar

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 posts
1 review
Domestic flights in Madagascar
Save

Hello,

I have only seen very bad reviews of domestic flights in Madagascar. Are they as really that unreliable?

Apart from being expensive, is it really not recommended to fly with the country and travel by road?

Is it better and cheaper to book flight once we arrive into Antananarivo?

Lastly, what are the airlines that operate within the country?

Thank you

Level Contributor
16 posts
4 reviews
4 helpful votes
1. Re: Domestic flights in Madagascar
Save

I am planning a trip in the fall, and while i have zero experience with the reliability of the flights, i can tell you why i bought domestic flights for my trip. it is very expensive - a round trip from the capital to morondava was about $650 US. the only reason i'm doing it is because i'm short on time. from what i've read, the infrastructure in mada is challenging, so a trip that would normally take you a couple hours to drive at home may take you 24-48 hours at best. you'd probably have to hire a driver or take a taxi-brousse (which actually sounds fun / like an adventure), but i just didn't have the time to do it. air madagascar is the only airline i could find. hope this helps a little!

Avila Beach...
Level Contributor
1,372 posts
9 reviews
7 helpful votes
2. Re: Domestic flights in Madagascar
Save

I also don't have a lot of experience, but I recently flew from Ifaty to Tana on Air Madagascar. It cost $200+ and while I keep reading how unreliable they are they were right on time, no problems.

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
101 posts
29 reviews
22 helpful votes
3. Re: Domestic flights in Madagascar
Save