We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belize Newbie looking for advice

Iowa
Level Contributor
186 posts
136 reviews
Belize Newbie looking for advice

So I'm a Belize newbie and looking for help. We travel extensively throughout the Carribean islands but want to give Belize a try. We've only been to Belize on our first and last cruise and I have always wanted to get back there. I "think" we have it narrowed down to splitting San Pedro and Caye Caulker for two weeks. Is there one we should go to first? Placencia looks nice too, but looks more difficult and expensive to get to and harder to split time? We would love to wake up to a nice water view in the morning but don't require high end accommodations.

Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
665 posts
89 reviews
1. Re: Belize Newbie looking for advice

We too were introduced to Belize on a cruise. We fell in love with Caye Caulker due to no cars, dirt streets, laid back casual atmosphere, great cheap food (go during lobster season) and world class snorkeling nearby. We went for a week this past Feb. with several friends and are returning this coming Feb. We thought about splitting with San Pedro but decided we wanted the slower vibe. But next Feb we are spending time in San Ignacio and Tikal to see more ruins.

Dallas
Level Contributor
186 posts
42 reviews
2. Re: Belize Newbie looking for advice