We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

What to wear in August??

Steamboat Springs...
Level Contributor
36 posts
36 reviews
Save Topic
What to wear in August??

We will be spending 3 weeks in Alaska in August. The trip starts in Juneau and ends in Anchorage and we will be hiking, camping and town-seeing along the way.

What is the BEST rain jacket, umbrella, gear to wear to stay dry, warm, but not too warm?

I'm a novice when it comes to camping for 3 straight weeks and I need some good recommendations.

Thanks!

fti
MN
Destination Expert
for Alaska
Level Contributor
15,520 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: What to wear in August??

Check "Top Questions about Alaska" then the thread "What clothes are recommended for summer travel in Alaska?"

Steamboat Springs...
Level Contributor
36 posts
36 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: What to wear in August??

Thank you! I'm trying to get the hang of this site! :o)

Healy, Alaska
Destination Expert
for Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
40,204 posts
44 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: What to wear in August??

One thing to not worry about is fashion - Alaska prefers function over fashion, so don't worry about how things look. :)

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8,152 posts
45 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: What to wear in August??

Layers and waterproof. Funny thing about umbrellas, they say that is the drop dead giveaway on tourists, because locals don't use them :)

Edited: 26 April 2011, 23:59
Ketchikan
Destination Expert
for Ketchikan
Level Contributor
2,250 posts
51 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: What to wear in August??