The high speed train station in Cuenca is called Fernando Zobel Station, named after the founder of the Museum of Spanish Abstract Art. The train station is located 4 km from downtown Cuenca and one can take the No. 12 bus to the downtown bus station. The bus leaves every 60 minutes and the trip takes about 15 minutes. After that one can take the No. 1 bus to reach the upper town to reach the Plaza Mayor, where the Cathedral is located. If one wants to save time, take a taxi to the Plaza Mayor. To go back to the train station, one takes the No. 1 bus from the Plaza Mayor to the bus station downtown, then take the No. 12 bus to the train station. It is not advisable to go on a Monday, because the museums in Cuenca will be closed on that day.
1. Our Lady of Grace Cathedral - The Cuenca Cathedral was constructed in the Gothic Anglo-Norman style between 1182 and 1270. The famous architect Ventura Rodriguez redesigned the main altar during the 18th century. There are sculptures of Pedro de Mena, the greatest sculptor of the 16th
2. Museum of Spanish Abstract Art - Fernando Zobel was a Filipino who was born in Manila in 1924. . In 1946 he studied history and literature at Harvard. He started painting and was influenced by
the works of Mark Rothko and took up modernism and abstract expressionism. Later he moved to Cuenca and painted landscapes by the Jucar River. He created the Museum of Spanish Abstract Art in one of the Hanging Houses in 1966.
3. Hanging Houses - The hanging houses are called “casas colgadas”. They were built in the 14th
century and are built over a rock above the Huecar River Gorge. Actually there are only three left.
4. Diocesan Museum - Beside the Cathedral is the Episcopal Palace, which contains the Diocesan
Museum. There are fine paintings, two of them by El Greco.
5. Saint Paul Bridge - The old bridge of Saint Paul was built between 1533 and 1589, and it crossed the
gorge over the Huecar River. Unfortunately the old bridge fell down. A new bridge was built in 1902, and this was made of wood and steel. It is about 60 meters high over the gorge.
6. Saint Paul Convent - On the other side of the Huecar River is the Saint Paul Convent, which was built in the 16th century. The architecture of the convent was Gothic and the priest who founded the convent was Juan del Pozo, a Dominican. Today it contains the Parador. The cloister has a beautiful patio with a fountain.
7. Church of San Pedro - This church was Romanesque when it was built. In the 18th century, the famous architect Jose Martin de Aldehuela rebuilt it with a Baroque façade.
2. Restaurante Meson Casas Colgadas (Calle Canonigos, s/n; Tel: 969-223-509) - This is located at one of the hanging houses and is considered one of the best restaurants in town.