We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hiking and Photography in Winter Need advise on Where to go

2 posts
Save Topic
Hiking and Photography in Winter Need advise on Where to go

I will be staying near Belluno and Zoppe di Cadore. I am a landscape photographer but will be limited to a day and one night(if there are clear skies for astrophotography) I don't have the money or equipment for skiing and my rental car has chains but no snow tires. My questions are:

Where are the best spots from the road to see the Dolomites?

Which roads might be closed?

Are there any favorable but short hikes where I can view the really spectacular peaks? Such as Monte Cristallo, Tre Cime, etc?

Also what cable cars/gondola lifts are open in winter that I can ride back down?

San Lorenzo di...
Destination Expert
for South Tyrol Dolomites
Level Contributor
731 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Hiking and Photography in Winter Need advise on Where to go

Adriana, firstly I should say that I am sure you’ll be alright with your car. Chains will probably be enough, if it snows, while you’re here, simply don’t drive if you don’t feel 100% safe.

When will you be around? Next week or mid April. See, we don’t have that much snow this year, so there is a chance we won’t have much snow in 6 weeks time (this is just an assumption, we’ll have to see what happens). In any case, the major roads will be mostly open, from mid March some are closed in the afternoons for the avalanches.