We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Student Ticket Prices from Budapest to Vienna

singapore
Level Contributor
49 posts
Student Ticket Prices from Budapest to Vienna

Hi guys, I'm traveling from Budapest to Vienna next weekend and was looking to purchase tickets from OEBB.at

I'm a university student (age 24) and i'll be traveling with another friend of the same age.

When we tried to buy the tickets, Oebb listed the one-way total price as 19 Eurs and said that "2 people may travel with this ticket". Hence only 1 ticket was necessary.

Is correct? because i've never heard of such a discount before and was wondering if this offer is correct before buying my ticket.

Thanks!

Burnley, United...
Destination Expert
for Vienna
Level Contributor
18,392 posts
104 reviews
1. Re: Student Ticket Prices from Budapest to Vienna

Unless I'm mistaken you cannot book this journey on OeBB as it starts in Hungary. I think the advice usually given is not to use the Hungarian Railways website, but to just buy at the station in Budapest. The price will be the same.

singapore
Level Contributor
49 posts
2. Re: Student Ticket Prices from Budapest to Vienna

that's weird, i can select the option to buy tickets from the website though.

Will tickets be sold out during this time of the year in general?

Burnley, United...
Destination Expert
for Vienna
Level Contributor
18,392 posts
104 reviews
3. Re: Student Ticket Prices from Budapest to Vienna

No, they can't sell out. €19 for two is a good price, but when I looked at the ticket booking page it was only offering this price for slow trains with two or three changes, not for the direct trains. If you are OK with that and it lets you book online then go ahead!

Vienna
Level Contributor
3,885 posts
4. Re: Student Ticket Prices from Budapest to Vienna