We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Which is the best places to see Northern Light in May 2012?

Thailand
Level Contributor
23 posts
7 reviews
Which is the best places to see Northern Light in May 2012?

From reading many topics in Lapland forum, I decide to go to Lapland in May 2013 to see Northern light.

Which is the best places or location to see by not join tour? I've 3-4 nights to wait for my luck to see the lights.

Stranraer, United...
Level Contributor
235 posts
6 reviews
1. Re: Which is the best places to see Northern Light in May 2012?

think you're better off going in winter as there is too much daylight in summer. I'm no expert, just from what I've read on here

Finland
Destination Expert
for Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6,478 posts
91 reviews
2. Re: Which is the best places to see Northern Light in May 2012?

If the aurorae are your only reason to visit Lapland, reschedule. In May there is not much night at all and aurorae cannot be seen in daylight. Furthermore there is no longer much snow around (depending on the year and location in Lapland of course).

Lapland is at it'sbest in the Winter, do come in March, not too cold, but still full Winter. Theoretically the further North the better are your chances for aurorae.

Helsinki, Finland
Destination Expert
for Tallinn, Finland, Helsinki
Level Contributor
9,367 posts
62 reviews
3. Re: Which is the best places to see Northern Light in May 2012?

It can't be done in May. At the end of the month there is no night at all in northern Lapland, where your chances of a sighting are best (in good conditions).

Even in the middle of winter, you would be lucky to see the aurora on such a short trip.