We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Farm Stay for Family with 5-yr old near Lausanne

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
18 posts
27 reviews
Farm Stay for Family with 5-yr old near Lausanne

For late Aug. Looking for one which has separate cabin/chalet style accommodation if possible. Thanks.

London
Level Contributor
8,329 posts
98 reviews
1. Re: Farm Stay for Family with 5-yr old near Lausanne

Lausanne is down by the lake. There are accommodation options up in the local vineyards (which I am not very experienced with, but others could suggest if this interested you). There are some very basic options up on the plain, which is where gentle countryside begins (but I haven't seen anything yet where I'd want to stay), or there are a number of nice options up in the local mountains.

If you want to do what is called a night on the hay - where you stay in your sleeping bag on a bed of hay up in they hay loft of a working small farm. You can get a package which includes dinner and they have lots of small animals to play with.

http://www.chaletincrota.ch/

There is a hike of about an hour from the nearest bus stop to get there, or there is road access if you have a car. I would imagine they could arrange to pick you up from the bus stop if you asked. For planning purposes on www.rail.ch, the nearest bus stop is Les Rosalys, place.

There are also rustic hotels set in pastureland, so you would still be surrounded by cows etc. I have one in mind on a small nature reserve lake that might suit you:

tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g644345-d1416…

tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g644345-d1416…