We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Do we have time for Greece?

Lincoln, Nebraska
2 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Do we have time for Greece?

My husband and I are planning a trip to Europe. We have 15 days, and this is my first time going there. We are typically doers, but I do enjoy a good nights sleep. I'm worried that we are cramming too much into this trip and won't be able to enjoy it. Please advice. Do you think we need to take out Greece?

Monday: Arrive in Paris at 1pm

Tuesday: Paris

Wednesday: 6am flight to Athens - Day in Athens

Wednesday overnight ferry to Santorini

Thursday: Santorini

Friday: Santorini

Saturday: Fly from Santorini to Rome

Sunday: Rome

Monday: Train from Rome to Florence

Tuesday: Florence

Wednesday: Train from Florence to Cinque Terre

Thursday: Cinque Terre

Friday: Train from Cinque Terre to Venice

Saturday: Venice

Sunday: Train from Venice to Switzerland

Monday: Switzerland

Tuesday: Fly back to US at 6am

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
40,461 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Do we have time for Greece?

8 different places in 15 days - yes, I do think that is far too many places. Have you looked at the train schedules to figure out how much time you will be spending on the trains plus checking in and out of all those hotels, getting to and from the train station and/or airports - when you fly, you have to be at the airport about 2 hours before the flights.

Going to Rome for that short amount of time then going all the way north just isn't the best use of your time. Rome is a big city, rich with a lot to see and you can barely scratch the surface in four days let alone the time you have set aside for the city. Same with Venice and Florence.