We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Opinions sought on safety in Acapulco

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 posts
3 reviews
Opinions sought on safety in Acapulco

Hi-

We have friends renting a luxury villa in the hills above Acapulco who have invited us to join them. I've been reading up on the area (having last visited in 1989!) and I have to admit I'm very nervous to go. We were going to rent a car and explore and I've already nixed that idea. I guess we can hire a car and driver/ tour guide, but I'm nervous about going anywhere. Am I being overly cautious here? Is Acapulco still a safe place to visit? How would you recommend we get around? What should we go see? I remember the main beaches being kind of dirty and crowded when I was a college student - are there better (safer), quieter beaches nearby?

Thanks for any advice!

1. Re: Opinions sought on safety in Acapulco

-:- Message from TripAdvisor staff -:-

This post was determined to be inappropriate by the TripAdvisor community and has been removed.

To review the TripAdvisor Forums Posting Guidelines, please follow this link: http://www.tripadvisor.com/pages/forums_posting_guidelines.html

Our staff may also remove posts that do not follow our posting guidelines, and we reserve the right to remove any post for any reason. Thanks for being a part of the TripAdvisor travel community!

Removed on: 12 October 2011, 11:55
San Antonio...
Destination Expert
for Chapala, Puerto Vallarta, Nuevo Vallarta, Ajijic, Chapala
Level Contributor
14,448 posts
617 reviews
2. Re: Opinions sought on safety in Acapulco