We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clothing recommendations for Brooks Lodge (early Sept)

West Hartford...
Level Contributor
256 posts
302 reviews
Clothing recommendations for Brooks Lodge (early Sept)

My wife and I will be spending 2-nights at Brooks Lodge in early Sept 2018. We're in our 60's and I'm a photographer.

A couple of questions:

1) Does it get very muddy at Brooks lodge if it rains? Any special clothing recommendations?

2) What kind of walking is there - is the ground very uneven - are hiking boots recommended?

3) How far do you have to walk to get to the bear-viewing platform?

4) Has anyone brought a tripod with them to Brooks Lodge? If so, how easy is it to pack on the flight over there from Anchorage, and how big of a tripod can you bring?

Any other recommendations?

Thanks!

12 replies to this topic
United States
Level Contributor
1,805 posts
136 reviews
1. Re: Clothing recommendations for Brooks Lodge (early Sept)

Many of the trails around Brooks can get muddy after rain. A lot of people wear hiking boots but some just wear good walking shoes.

There are several viewing platforms at various locations in Brooks Camp. The Falls Platform (which is just adjacent to the Brooks Falls) is the one that gets pretty crazy busy at times and they have maintain a waiting list and limit the amount of time each person can spend so as to give others a chance. It has a capacity limit for the number of folks at a given time. It's about a mile or so from the Lodge. Another platform is probably just about 300 to 400 feet from the Falls Platform. There is also a platform on the river close to the Lodge. Just about 5 minutes away.

The trails are sort of packed dirt with some packed gravel mixed in at places. Fairly flat with some exceptions.

West Hartford...
Level Contributor
256 posts