We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BKK connections

Newcastle upon...
Level Contributor
51 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
BKK connections

Hello All

I’m due to travel between Phuket, Bangkok and then onwards to Sydney and just wanted to get some information before I finalise plans and book tickets.

If I booked a flight from Phuket to Bangkok with Bangkok Airways at 12:20 to arrive at 13:50 and with an onward flight to Sydney with Emirates at 19:30 would this be enough time? Assuming I’ll have to go through immigration and collect my bags and check back in.

I’ve no experience of BKK but would have thought that is plenty of time? Any advice would be appreciated. I could also book a slightly later flight with Thai to arrive at 14:45 but not sure which is the preferable carrier and would rather be comfortable with timings but I’d welcome any opinions.

16 replies to this topic
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
6,821 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: BKK connections

Are you booking this as 1 through ticket or 2 separate tickets?

Cambridge, United...
Level Contributor
1,962 posts
32 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: BKK connections

You do know Phuket and Bangkok are in the same country right? So there is no immigration to clear on that leg. You get off the plane, grab your bags and job done.

Make sure you check in online for the flight from Bangkok to Sydney, and you should be ok to be honest - although just for that extra buffer I would prefer the earlier flight.

UK
Level Contributor
2,614 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: BKK connections

You need to complete exit passport control at BKK which can be time consuming (up to an hour) and baggage delivery can also be slow depending on how busy they are.