We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Is Transit Visa Required at London(Heathrow) Airport?

Surat, India
6 posts
Save Topic
Is Transit Visa Required at London(Heathrow) Airport?

I am a student, intending to travel from Ahmedabad to Toronto, Canada via Jetairways on 18th of April. My query is that for this journey the connecting flights are from London, Heathrow Airport. So do I need a Transit Visa for the UK? Or I can travel without it and just pass throw the airport terminals? For the onward journey, my terminal is changed in London from 4 to 2. Please advice.

18 replies to this topic
Portland, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Air Travel
Level Contributor
33,477 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Is Transit Visa Required at London(Heathrow) Airport?

It's your responsibility to check the official sites.

Here is the official UK Government site which is easy to use.

https://www.gov.uk/check-uk-visa

It looks like traveling to Canada on a valid Canadian Visa means you don’t need a transit visa but make sure you verify this yourself.

Newcastle upon...
Level Contributor
961 posts
224 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Is Transit Visa Required at London(Heathrow) Airport?

You usually only need a transit visa if you want to leave the airport as you have a long layover.

Portland, Oregon
Destination Expert
for Air Travel
Level Contributor
33,477 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Is Transit Visa Required at London(Heathrow) Airport?

"You usually only need a transit visa if you want to leave the airport as you have a long layover."

=========

Nope. wrong.

According to the UK Government website linked to in #1 (assuming) Indian citizens traveling to Canada on a valid Canadian Visa can can leave the airport at the discretion of the UK Border (immigration officer).