We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King's Head Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
Lakeside Hotel A591, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
+44 17687 72393
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good35%
  • Average16%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegan Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Lakeside Hotel A591, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food served is excellent. We had chicken supreme, rump of lamb and the burger. The food was the best that I have ever had and the burger was home made and so succulent. Prices were reasonable and if you are staying at The Lodge...More

Thank Stephanie F
Jessica J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Stephanie F, Thank you so much for sharing such lovely words about your time spent with us. I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your food with us. The Chef and his team are really passionate about what they do so...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a mixed stay. It wasn't clear when booking that only certain rooms are pet friendly and we had our reservation changed to a very small room because we had our dog with us. On our honeymoon, it was not a room I would...More

Thank George C
Jessica J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi George C, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback we get as it helps to highlight things we may have overlooked. I have looked over our listing on LateRooms which I noticed...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quality food at a affordable price . We have eaten here several times over the past 2 years and each time the hotel has always delivered excellent food . If you have room at the end of the meal try the sticky toffee pudding its...More

Thank dunks115
Jessica J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi dunks115, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I am love to hear from returning guests especially when you consitantly enjoy our food. I totally agree though, the sticky toffee pudding is amazing! We look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Good food at reasonable priced a bit on its own so would need taxi or transport had a lovely meal as we were staying at the stybeck farm B&B

Thank Ianastwood
Jessica J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Hi Ianastwood, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am pleased you enjoyed your food with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in The Lakes. Kind regards, Jess

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Called into this lovely pub on our way to Windermere, it’s dog friendly so we were able to take our puppy in for lunch in the bar area. We opted for scampi and chips in a basket delicious, customer service very good staff friendly and...More

Thank Jacqueline S
Jessica J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Hi Jacqueline S, Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely words about our Inn. I am happy to know you felt welcome here with your puppy, we all love a cute dog, and that you enjoyed your food. I hope you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

I spent 5 nights here and explored every part of the Lakes radiating out each day. Great hotel, very comfortable room and great choice of breakfast... the full English setting me up for the whole day! I was travelling alone and was able to take...More

Thank Sarah S
Jessica J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Hi Sarah S, Thank you for sharing your kind words about your stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time here and felt well looked after. We like to make sure guests are well fed for days exploring The Lakes, so I...More

Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

The King’s head is a typical inn with nice staff and good food. Very good location. Plenty room for parking and you can’t hear the road at night. Keswick is nearby for shopping. The staff is very helpful and hard working. Next time we visit...More

Thank JossP63
Jessica J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi JossP63, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your time spent with us. I am so pleased to know we could offer everything you felt you needed to make your stay enjoyable. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 31 July 2018

This place was a great addition to our Lakes District holiday. We wanted to stay at a traditional roadside inn - what a fine choice this was. The staff at the front desk were very helpful, parking is ample and accessible and the pub and...More

Thank bluesonwhyte
Jessica J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi bluesonwhyte, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. I am so pleased to know you found our team helpful. The whole team work really hard to show the guests we genuinely care about their stay and...More

Reviewed 23 July 2018

Steak and kidney pudding was huge but the meat was tough, dry, grizzly and fatty. Clearly very little attention had been paid to preparing the meat properly. The pudding itself had a strange aroma which I put down as paprika. I'm unsure why paprika would...More

Thank JackTheLad77
Jessica J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi JackTheLad77, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate all comments as it can help us improve our service. I am saddened to hear that you felt we weren't as good as we once were. I'm an unsure whether you mean this in more...More

Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Driving past the car park was always full/ busy so decided to give it a go one evening whilst staying locally, outdoor seating area on the grass is nice, bar area quite nice too and seating around the bar, as you go in and turn...More

Thank 12njh
Jessica J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Hi 12njh, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your evening with us. We appreciate all feedback we get as it helps highlight areas we may need to pay more attention too. I am glad to know you felt welcomed by...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Dale Head Hall
223 reviews
.40 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
651 reviews
5.26 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
2,430 reviews
5.38 km away
The Borrowdale Hotel
1,169 reviews
5.61 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mizu Pan-Asian Restaurant
55 reviews
5.36 km away
Flock Inn cafe & tea shop
163 reviews
6.68 km away
Helvellyn Country Kitchen
321 reviews
6.98 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Bowder Stone
173 reviews
6.33 km away
Threlkeld Quarry and Mining Museum
232 reviews
6.73 km away
Castle Crag
76 reviews
6.99 km away
Glenridding Sailing Centre
197 reviews
7.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
gatatriper
18 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from christine k | Reviewed this property |
from 9.30 am
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lakeside Hotel A591, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick  >  Thirlmere
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 72393
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing