We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Highlander Pub

€€ - €€€, ,
19 St Andrews Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
+27 46 604 5400
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good25%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lamb burger” (3 reviews)
“line fish” (6 reviews)
“panna cotta” (2 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Gastropub, Bar, Grill, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
19 St Andrews Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

There are limited restaurants in Port Alfred that serve decent food and this used to be one of them. Unfortunately the standards here are steadily going downhill while their prices are going steeply uphill! To pay R200.00 in a pub for a poor, tasteless and...More

Thank Glenn0K
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good atmosphere and we were looked after by friendly and efficient staff. Unfortunately, the food did not live up to our expectations. My son and I had burgers which were tough and had a slightly unusual flavour. My wife had a 'rump' peppered steak -...More

Thank Michael L
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Michael: Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Highlander Pub. Please accept my apologies for the poor standards you were exposed to. I have started following up with the Team members concerned to ensure that the standards we expect are...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

In September I posted the service was going backwards well service was fine but ....... I ordered a Sea and Surf this is clearly a saltwater meal BUT I was served Asian dam fish unacceptable. In September I posted about the usage of catfish (barbel)...More

Thank jong656
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Jong 656: According to Wikipedia Pangasius ( also known as Basa) is a catfish. Wikipedia shows barbel to be a member of the carp family, which would mean that catfish and barbel are not of the same family. Wikipedia also mentions that Pangasius/Basa is...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This had to be the best meal in Port Alfred. Located on site of our hotel at royal st Andrew ‘s hotel it was a 2 min stroll accross the courtyard. The service was excellent and the waitrons were very attentive and friendly 🙏. Great...More

Thank Lindy Andre v
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lindy: Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Highlander Pub. I have passed your comments on to the Highlander team, who appreciated them a great deal. We hope we see you in the Highlander Pub again soon. Wessel Benson General...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One would think it is a lesser quality food eatery seeing as the Thistle is a fine food one right next door, but no. Food is just as good. Mood is jovial and friendly. Try this one first with friends or a group then go...More

Thank Thobela
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Thobela: Thank you for posting a review of our restaurants. I have passed your comments on to the Kitchen Team, who appreciated them a great deal. We hope we see you in both the Highlander Pub and The Thistle Restaurant again soon. Wessel Benson...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant enough pub and service Location is not great but views are limited. Need a better wine selection. Fish and chips was the winning dish for the family

Thank SL M
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear SL M: Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Highlander Pub. We hope we see you in the Highlander Pub again soon. Wessel Benson General Manager Royal St Andrews Hotel

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for lunch, place was not even busy. Ordered drinks and food and after other patrons got there food, it became obvious that our food order was never done. Really disappointed.More

Thank adrian w
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Adrian: Please accept my apologies for the poor standards you were exposed to. I would appreciate more details - day and time would assist me in following up with the Team members concerned to ensure that the standards we expect are maintained at all...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just enjoyed an absolutely first class meal at this lovely pub/restaurant. From the moment a friend and I arrived for lunch we received nothing but attentive service. We were seated immediately by our friendly waitress and offered menus and drinks. We both ordered the local...More

Thank hydejanet
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Janet: Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Highlander Pub. It was great to see you again. I have passed your comments on to the Highlander team, who appreciated them a great deal. We hope we see you in the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very disappointed with our food. We had been recommended to go here. Maybe it was just the wrong night. We ate in the bar.More

Thank Penny T
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Penny T: Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Highlander Pub. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you experienced. Its a pity that you did not speak to the manager on duty , who would have been able to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ordered chicken schnitzel and ask for it not to be overcooked. Received a cremated piece of chicken slapped on a plate with chips on the side. Presentation 0/10, burnt dry chicken, one of the the worst meals I have had for a long time. This...More

Thank Judie127
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Judie: Please accept my apologies for the poor presentation of the Chicken Schitzel you were served. I have started following up with the Team members concerned to ensure that the standards we expect are maintained at all times. We hope we will see you...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Port Alfred
Royal St Andrews Hotel
418 reviews
.04 km away
Halyards Hotel
340 reviews
1.17 km away
MyPond Hotel
350 reviews
1.42 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
332 reviews
10.11 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Graze By The River
217 reviews
1.44 km away
The Wharf Street Brew Pub
287 reviews
1.47 km away
Zest Cafe
82 reviews
1.37 km away
The Links Restaurant
177 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fish River Sun Golf Course
52 reviews
2.01 km away
River Spa Port Alfred
23 reviews
1.21 km away
The Royal Port Alfred Golf Club
29 reviews
.26 km away
The Kowie History Museum
12 reviews
1.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Highlander Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Cuisine
Gastropub, Bar, Grill, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 19 St Andrews Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Port Alfred
  • Phone Number: +27 46 604 5400
  • E-mail
Description
An Iconic pub which has been the meeting place for family and friends in the Eastern Cape since 1979. Full bar service and including, cocktails and shooters.Three Craft beers on tap, one of which is specially made for the Highlander Pub.Full a la Carte Menu with vegetarian and kiddies items.Several TV screens for the sports fans. Famous for it's " See you at The Highlander" invitation.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing