We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Olive Terrace

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
22 Van Der Stel Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
+27 23 230 0071
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 377: English reviews
Pretoria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This restaurant came recommended from the guest house where we were staying and had a great rating on trip advisor. We believe it's a good place to eat but it just wasn't our evening. Food came over an hour late. Steaks were undercooked and when we told the waitress, steaks were just put back on the grill. The manger however... More 

Helpful?
Thank KLMKR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Simply delicious food and very friendly waiters. The sweet potato chips are heavenly and I felt less guilty finishing them😉

Helpful?
Thank Charlene B
Nelspruit
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our waitress was great and welcomed us warmly. It was a cold, windy day so all dining was in the main dining room. The ambiance could be improved with better lighting and being a cold day the fireplace was begging to come to life. Our meal was great and we would certainly visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Patricia many thanks for your review and helpful comments. You are quite right, on a chilly day it creates a great ambiance to have the 2 fireplaces lit in the restaurant. I have spoken with the waiting staff and asked them to shift into autumn mode, and be ready to light the fires. Hope to welcome you back soon... More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Olive Terrace Bistro and Lounge restaurant is an outdoor deck under dappled shade, looking out onto the main street in town. Specialising in local, seasonal produce, the menu includes descriptions of cheese from Druk my Niet farm and free range eggs from De Heuvel, while the fruit is from the surrounding valley estates. The vegetables and herbs are from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Berenice M
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Berenice many thanks for your review, and your comments regarding our use of local produce. Even our salt is sourced from the nearest supplier. Khoisan hand harvest their sea salt in Velddrif, Western Cape. The salt has no chemical additives or anti-caking agents, and is rich in natural minerals and trace elements. Hope to welcome you back soon Alasdair More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here today for my birthday to have some cake, ordered the cheesecake with berry coulis. Was the worst cheesecake ive had, the coulis was jam, the base was soggy tasting marie biscuit and margarine and the cheesecake was flavourless and tiny and at R50 a slice! Was extremely disappointing...wont be returning for dinner tonight as originally planned as this... More 

Helpful?
Thank MichelleSK646
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Michelle thanks for taking the time to write your review. As with any negative review, we investigate fully in order to deal with anything that genuinely needs attention. It appears that you were very disappointed that we don't have cakes available for sale with coffee as that was what you were looking for. We are a restaurant and there... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have just spent Easter long weekend in Tulbagh and ate three times at this excellent bistro-style restaurant. Meals included fine rump steak at country price well below it's equivalent in Cape Town and equally excellent thin-base pizza. Whoever runs the kitchen really knows their stuff. The service was prompt, efficient and friendly. Strongly recommend the restaurant to anyone visiting Tulbagh

Helpful?
Thank odette12013
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Odette many thanks for your kind review. We try hard to maintain consistent high standards, through staff training and mystery guests. We make as much as possible in house using locally sourced fresh produce. Hope to welcome you back soon Alasdair More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a lovely find in a small town. Food so well presented and ingredients all fresh. Not overpriced either. Super service rounded off a lovely experience

Helpful?
Thank Leighshe
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Leighshe many thanks for your review. We work hard to ensure our staff are able to critique our food and wine offerings. Our menu changes weekly and we have tasting sessions with our waiters and chefs, and we visit local wineries to see the farm and production facilities, and enjoy a wine tasting. Hope to welcome you back soon... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner here whilst overnighting in Tulbagh. Tulbagh is a really beautiful town, and a walk down the historic Church Street is a must for any visitor. The Olive Terrace is in the revamped Tulbagh Hotel and is well worth a visit.We sat inside and enjoyed the warmth from the log fire. It has a fairly standard menu (steaks,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas many thanks for your review, and for dining at the Olive Terrace bistro. As autumn approaches we are lighting our fireplaces in the evenings, which provides warmth and a cosy atmosphere. We are shortly opening a tapas wine bar at the hotel as well, which will serve award winning local wines and light meals. Look forward to welcoming... More 

Salt Rock, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were fortunate to stumble upon the Olive Terrace for Sunday lunch whilst passing through Tulbagh. The location is ideal at the entrance to the Tulbagh hotel - right on the main road in Tulbagh and the raised terrace adds a nice sense of privacy from the roadside passers-by. The food is exceptonal with a wide variety of freshly prepared... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bedindin
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Bedindin many thanks for your generous review. As you state our emphasis is on the use of local fresh produce including our wines. We have a young enthusiastic kitchen team , so we try and make everything possible in house. Even the nougat for the turn down service in the hotel, is made in house. The tapenade you mention... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful service from attentive staff. Everything we ate mains and dessert was amazing. Only down side was the quality f the live music from across the street at times.

Helpful?
Thank Colin F
Alasdair61, Owner at The Olive Terrace, responded to this review

Dear Colin many thanks for your review. Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us, and that you were well looked after by our valued staff. Hope to welcome you back soon Alasdair More 

Travellers who viewed The Olive Terrace also viewed

Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality
 

Been to The Olive Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$10
Cuisine
African, Pizza, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22 Van Der Stel Street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Witzenberg Municipality  >  Tulbagh
  • Phone Number: +27 23 230 0071
Description
The Olive Terrace Bistro at the Tulbagh Hotel: open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner. The a la carte menu is a celebration of South African flavours and locally sourced seasonal fruits and vegetables and we cater for vegetarian, vegan and gluten free diets. All our dishes are prepared in our own kitchen. We also have a wood fired pizza oven. The restaurant supports many community initiatives, buying produce from the Tulbagh Community Garden and sponsoring young people through the City and Guilds Catering course.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Olive Terrace and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Noordwijk, The Netherlands

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Olive Terrace staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?