We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Garden Room

€€ - €€€
111 Station Road, Stanley, Ilkeston DE7 7RR, England
+44 7791 923053
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good0%
  • Average8%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
22 Mar 2016
“"What a treat !"”
2 Dec 2015
“A Fabulous Birthday Present For A Friend”
Restaurant Hours
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
111 Station Road, Stanley, Ilkeston DE7 7RR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2016

Last year I took a friend for afternoon tea in a hotel and while we enjoyed a pleasant afternoon The Garden Room is far superior. The quality and variety of food is excellent and I could visit simply for the lemon posset. Forget hotels go...More

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank Fou1ne
Reviewed 2 December 2015

I was looking for something out of the ordinary for my friend's birthday present which wasn't in the normal commercial environment. The Garden Room was very relaxing and the Afternoon Tea was excellent - we were greeted with a refreshing cool drink, followed by a...More

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Angie S
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

I booked the Garden Room several weeks ago on behalf of a group of work colleagues. We wanted somewhere to ourselves (how greedy we are) so we could catch up with our lives, but the food had to be good. We were not disappointed at...More

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank DianneW109
Leeann P, Owner at The Garden Room, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to provide such a fab review.

Reviewed 14 September 2015

My husband and were treated to afternoon tea at the Garden Room, Stanley Village by our daughter. We were welcomed and made to feel comfortable. We had a glass of fizz and then received a lovely afternoon tea served on a very posh cake stand....More

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Mary S
Leeann P, Owner at The Garden Room, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Reviewed 2 September 2015

My mum came here recently whilst on a trip away. She hasn't stopped telling us what an amazing afternoon she had. The food was all scrumptious and there was plenty of it. The host is welcoming and her food is amazing. One of the best...More

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank julesdp2014
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

I have visited The Garden Room a few times, firstly with friends and then re booked for my Mums 60th Birthday with her sister and friends. This is a very personal experience in a lovely garden/conservatory and your group are thoroughly spoilt by Leeann. I...More

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Sullifam4
Reviewed 26 August 2015

What a little gem! Heartily agree with the last few reviews. Two friends and I visited for afternoon tea (booking required) and we were delighted with our choice of venue. Despite a rather wet day, we were exceedingly comfortable in the clean, bright and beautifully...More

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank hcjg2015
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Went for afternoon tea with my mum and a friend of ours (who was the one who booked it. She asked Leeann whether a vegetarian option would be on offer and Leeann accommodated for that wonderfully!) the atmosphere was very relaxed and tranquil and even...More

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank Lena K
Reviewed 7 August 2015

What a treat. Lovely relaxed setting, which feels very comfortable and intimate. We enjoyed the fact there were several options of seating available. Leeann was extremely welcoming, and the selection of cakes, sandwiches, teas and coffees were truly diverse and totally delectable. Beautifully presented too....More

Date of visit: July 2015
1  Thank lem0nlady
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

I've visited the Garden Room on a couple of occasions and I can honestly say it's one of the best afternoon tea experiences I've encountered (and I've encountered quite a few!)... set in a private house, beautifully set-out conservatory and well-manicured gardens, we were given...More

Date of visit: July 2015
3  Thank gilllynam01
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Morley Hayes Hotel
752 reviews
2.45 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1,362 reviews
3.99 km away
Horsley Lodge
440 reviews
4.38 km away
Travelodge Derby Chaddesden
99 reviews
5.86 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Raheem Indian Restaurant
39 reviews
1.31 km away
Quality Fry
12 reviews
1.29 km away
The Punch Bowl
76 reviews
1.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
The White Hart Inn Stanley
22 reviews
2.07 km away
The Hermitage
5 reviews
2.39 km away
East Midlands Golf Academy - Day Classes
10 reviews
3.37 km away
St Matthew's Church, Morley
9 reviews
2.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Garden Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$15 - US$19
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 111 Station Road, Stanley, Ilkeston DE7 7RR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Ilkeston  >  Stanley
  • Phone Number: +44 7791 923053
  • E-mail
Description
The Garden Room serves Afternoon Tea in a bright and airy conservatory opening onto a mature private garden in Stanley Village. A selection of sandwiches, homemade cakes and scones with jam and clotted cream, served with a complimentary welcome drink followed by unlimited tea or coffee. Reservation Only - please call, email or facebook message for availability and to make your reservation.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing