We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crabapple Kitchen

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
659 Glenferrie Rd, Hawthorn, Boroondara, Victoria 3122, Australia
+61 3 9078 5492
Website
Today
07:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 17:00
Fri 18:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 193: English reviews
Melbourne
Level Contributor
118 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Enjoyable experience, impressed by the service from the personable staff, very commendable and very prompt. Carole and I enjoyed a Chicken Schnitzel and a Steak Sandwich, respectively. Both were quite different and certainly different to what we were expecting, but in a positive sense. The topping provided with the schnitzel was excellent. Also recommend the cappuccino – they were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
VaporettoCrabapple, Front Office Manager at Crabapple Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks a lot Ron! We're very happy to hear that you both enjoyed your meals with us. Our chefs and front of house staff will be pleased to hear it. Don't forget to stop by again soon! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here with some friends this week, the cafe has a great atmosphere and cute seating arrangements! I'm not sure about the name of the dish (see image) I had but it was really tasty! The only disappointment here was my friend's dish, she had the pancakes with berries, the pancakes were so thick and somewhat oily. She's had it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Menaka G
VaporettoCrabapple, Front Office Manager at Crabapple Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Menaka! We're really glad you loved your Jum & Bender! We are sorry to hear that your friend's pancakes weren't up to our usual standards, as we always want to make sure that we are serving nothing but the best. Your feedback has been passed on to our chefs so we can improve our pancakes before... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great lunch food! It is a place to go if you prefer something special for lunch. Worth a try! Great selection for all tastes.

Helpful?
Thank Peggy L
VaporettoCrabapple, Front Office Manager at Crabapple Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks a lot Peggy! We definitely do try to offer a variety of different dishes and cuisines. We hope that you'll stop by again in the future! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
696 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three of us met for breakfast Sunday morning. The place is large, very busy, well organised and efficient but it lacks the soul you might get in a slightly smaller more personal restaurant. We were served by a succession of different staff so it was hard to build any rapport. Two Greek breakfasts, one Mexican, each perfectly good and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank John P
VaporettoCrabapple, Front Office Manager at Crabapple Kitchen, responded to this review

Hey John, our name comes from the owner's fond memories of sitting under the crabapple tree with a group of friends and sharing its fruit! We're sorry to hear that you didn't receive the personalised experience that you were after, though as you mentioned, to keep things well organised and running efficiently, we want to make sure we're able to... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

Porridge has very little fruit and minumal seeds/nuts. Had to ask for extra fruit. But muesli is gluten free friendly - but not particularly substantial. Milk is free but yoghurt costs extra! Poached eggs are the smallest size I have seen.

Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
VaporettoCrabapple, Front Office Manager at Crabapple Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Aaron, we're sorry to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with the meal you had with us, as we always like to hold our food to high standards! Your feedback has been passed on to our chefs because want to make sure that we're serving our customers nothing but the best! Thank you for taking the time to let... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

Weren't sure what to expect but wow... greeted nicely, menu is interesting and current. Definitely going back again.

Helpful?
Thank 80antonyy
VaporettoCrabapple, Front Office Manager at Crabapple Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks so much for stopping by and checking us out Antony, we're so pleased that we could make your experience a great one. We change our menus seasonally, so please stop by again soon to try out some new additions to our menu! More 

Level Contributor
70 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017

Cassidy – I went to Crabapple with my family for Sunday brunch, and I ordered the pancakes with bacon added on the side. They were delicious. The bacon was a welcome addition to the super fluffy and fulfilling pancakes. My only comment would be is that there was literally only one pistachio on my plate for the described ‘pistachio and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cassidy_and_Sneakers
VaporettoCrabapple, Front Office Manager at Crabapple Kitchen, responded to this review

Hey Cassidy, thanks for taking the time to leave us such great feedback! We're so glad that you enjoyed your delicious pancakes with us, although we apologise that you didn't receive many pistachios. We've passed your feedback onto our chefs as it's very important to us that we get our food right in all aspects! On weekends we can get... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017

Hard to go past CK when it comes to breakfast. The seasonal menu keeps it interesting all year round. Try the pancakes!

Helpful?
Thank metzadventure
VaporettoCrabapple, Front Office Manager at Crabapple Kitchen, responded to this review

We love to keep it interesting by changing up our menus to match the seasons, so we're glad that you came back to try our new additions! We look forward to seeing you again soon for another stack of delicious pancakes! More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Thought I would venture back here to see how the new owners were. Coffee was good but I ordered their so called big breakfast which consisted of eggs bacon tomatoes and mushrooms. Eggs were nicely poached tomatoes ok but with the tiny amount of mushrooms on the plate they were cold rubbery and very unappetising. Disappointing I don't think I'll... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
VaporettoCrabapple, Front Office Manager at Crabapple Kitchen, responded to this review

Hey Jenny, We can assure you that Crabapple Kitchen hasn't changed owners, but we really appreciate you letting us know about your experience with us. We apologise that you didn't have a great experience with us on this occasion, as this doesn't sound like the usual standard we hold our food to. Your feedback has been passed on to our... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

My partner & I both ordered coffees but we had two different dishes. Firstly the Mocha was one of the best I have tasted. The blend of hot chocolate & coffee was perfect; it was the best way to start my day! So thanks to the barista!! Food: I ordered the “Baja, Tijuana, Mexico” & my partner had the “Sweet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
VaporettoCrabapple, Front Office Manager at Crabapple Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks a lot Mark! Our baristas will be thrilled to hear that our mochas ticked all the boxes for you. It will surely make their day! We appreciate you letting us know about your thoughts on our Mexican dish and apologise that you didn't find it up to scratch on this occasion. Your feedback has been passed on to our... More 

Travellers who viewed Crabapple Kitchen also viewed

 
Hawthorn, Boroondara
 
Hawthorn, Boroondara
Hawthorn, Boroondara
 

Been to Crabapple Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$23
Cuisine
Cafe, Australian, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 17:00
Monday
07:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 17:00
Thursday
07:00 - 17:00
Friday
07:00 - 17:00
18:00 - 00:00
Saturday
07:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 659 Glenferrie Rd, Hawthorn, Boroondara, Victoria 3122, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Greater Melbourne  >  Boroondara  >  Hawthorn
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9078 5492
Description
Crabapple Kitchen was designed to be an oasis in Hawthorn where you can relax and get away from it all. It embodies the essence of old school hospitality, serving interesting and well executed breakfast and lunch menus that change seasonally. Only the best possible produce is sourced and it is then prepared and served by a team of talented and caring hospitality professionals. You will sense there is something special about Crabapple Kitchen the moment you walk in the door. For one thing, there is not an ounce of ego, you will be welcomed the moment you enter and all of your special needs and requests will be accommodated wherever possible.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crabapple Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?