We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marsh Mill Tavern

Fleetwood Road North | North Thornton-Cleveleys, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 4JZ, England
+44 1253 862586
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good22%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (66 reviews)
“ice cream” (34 reviews)
“pudding” (44 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Fleetwood Road North | North Thornton-Cleveleys, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 4JZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 801 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

A straightforward pub menu with a good range of dishes. The Carvery is a highlight, 4 meats (properly cooked) with a wide choice of vegetables cooked to my liking, not too hard or too mushy.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank lewiso121
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

There is a great food choice and always the option of a vegetarian or meat carvery too. On Monday's the carvery is 2 for 1 which also applies to the take away carvery. We all had different meals which we enjoyed ..the Sea Bass for...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank SGMJBirch
MarshMillTav, General Manager at Marsh Mill Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there! Thank you so much for the great review! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit here to Marsh Mill Tavern! I will make sure the team hear about your review! Thanks Chris

Reviewed 1 week ago

I decided against the carvery because just the look of it was off putting. Grey cauliflower and mash and dry looking meat. My wife ordered it however and what we weren't expecting was it to be cold. Service was poor too, all the staff seemed...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank SooperDannyCooper
MarshMillTav, General Manager at Marsh Mill Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Danny, I am incredibly sorry to hear about your experience here at Marsh Mill Tavern! The way you have described the carvery does not sound like our usual high standard at all and I will investigate the kitchen team on shift at the time...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After visiting Santa Claus with my wife and daughter we stepped into the tavern for a spot of lunch. We both had a wrap and my daughter had pasta. All was quick and tasty and great value. My little one decided she wanted some ice...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank gianpaolot2014
MarshMillTav, General Manager at Marsh Mill Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello! Thank you so much for the great review! I will make sure to pass your kind words onto the team. I'm so glad we could make your experience here a nice and memorable one! Thanks Chris

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited for lunch yesterday which we have done many times before but what a change! My wife and I had the Medium Carvery meal to be given a portion of Turkey less than a Small plate, this we could live with but all the other...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank steve_bamford
MarshMillTav, General Manager at Marsh Mill Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Steve, I am very disappointed to hear about your poor visit here to Marsh Mill Tavern. If you could contact me on 01253 862586 or at marshmilltavern@joseph-holt.com I would like to discuss these issues you have raised. Thanks Chris

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself, friends and children went to marsh mill tavern for lunch- the carvery was lovely as always! Friendly and helpful staff/service. I was a competition winner cake and coffee for two, we left very full and happy ❤️ Definitely recommend to friends and family

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Wayne L
MarshMillTav, General Manager at Marsh Mill Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello there, Thank you so much for the kind review! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your carveries and cakes! I will pass your kind words onto the team and we all look forward to seeing you again sometime soon! Thank you Chris

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here with my partner and baby son on arrival we were stared at like we had two heads with out so much as a helloo, after 5 minutes of searching for a high chair we had to again ask for one amd then we...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Princespassionfruit
MarshMillTav, General Manager at Marsh Mill Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello there, I am incredibly sorry to hear about your poor experience here at Marsh Mill Tavern! This is not up to our usual High standards. I will investigate these issues with the team on shift at the time to get to the bottom of...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Seams a nice place good service food was fine beers were nice the cakes look beautiful but no room to order I would definitely go back for the desserts

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank k2468fishing
MarshMillTav, General Manager at Marsh Mill Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

HI there, Thank you some much for the great review! you will definitely have to come back soon and try our desserts! They're to die for! Thanks Chris

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

What a great place to visit. The food is fantastic and our server Sally was so attentive, polite and efficient. She made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy a family meal out. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Stephanie A
MarshMillTav, General Manager at Marsh Mill Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Hi Stephanie, Thank you so much for the great 5* review! I will pass your message on to Sally and the rest of the team for making your visit such a great one! We hope to see you again soon! Thanks Chris

Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

I must be invisible, stood at the food counter for about 5 minutes today. Whilst the staff just played on their phones ignoring me. 4 or 5 staff walked past me , after being ignored i decided to take my custom elsewhere. There was no...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank beef1992
MarshMillTav, Owner at Marsh Mill Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

I am very sorry to hear about your recent visit with us. Please can you give me some more information about the time you was in so I can investigate this further. This is not acceptable and again I am very sorry you experienced this....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Briardene Hotel
250 reviews
1.98 km away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
1,478 reviews
2.73 km away
Norbreck Castle Hotel
6,742 reviews
3.00 km away
Shard Riverside Hotel
638 reviews
3.75 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Twelve Restaurant
426 reviews
.08 km away
Rustic To Regal Deli & Bodega
47 reviews
.05 km away
Mimmo's Italian Restaurant
189 reviews
.93 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Plant Place
50 reviews
1.48 km away
Marsh Mill
107 reviews
.12 km away
Grace & Favour
10 reviews
.11 km away
Thornton Little Theatre
11 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sueew65
25 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Cruiser302285 | Reviewed this property |
I guess if you get in touch with yhe management then they will give a yay or nay :-D
1
Vote
Parker147
29 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from steve_bamford | Reviewed this property |
Hi I do not think so, Sorry
0
Votes
Judithooooo
22 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MarshMillTav | Property representative |
Hello, thanks for your question, they are more then welcome in our garden, it is just Guide dogs inside thanks Chris:)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fleetwood Road North | North Thornton-Cleveleys, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 4JZ, England (Formerly The Tavern at the Mill)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Wyre District  >  Thornton Cleveleys
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 862586
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing