We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Hall Hotel

) #3 of 6 Restaurants in Hope €€ - €€€ , British,
Market Place, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6RH, England
+44 1433 620160
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6RH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2016

Excellent homemade pies and chips, especially Steak and Ale! The best I have ever had. Defo worth the price. Would recommend!

Thank shezzad2016
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hello. That's great! Thank you for your recommendation and thank you for your review. Hope to see you soon. Rick

Reviewed 24 August 2016

We had lunch at the Old Hall Tea Rooms following a visit to Treak Cliff cavern. We stopped off on a whim as we had never eaten there before. I ordered a cheese, tomato and pesto sandwich and my husband ordered a ham and mustard...More

3  Thank Jaybird6
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hello. I must say that as soon as you walked into the building, It was very clear that you both seemed to be having some kind of argument. I am truly sorry that you both appeared to have fallen out earlier that day, but I'm...More

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

For an old traditional pub not a bad menu for Veggies. I had the halloumi salad with fries to bulk it out and it was very pleasant. Band on for the evening so nice experience in an olde style village pub.More

1  Thank Janine R
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hello. I must say, I find your feedback confusing. There was plenty of positive points but no negative ones. I really feel that if you are marking these hard working people down, maybe you should at least give them the decency of giving them a...More

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Go quite regularly! The pub food is excellent and reasonable! But the part of the place I visit the most is the tea rooms!!! Absolutely fantastic breakfast, great quality, well presented, good value and lovely staff!!!

1  Thank Sophie B
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hi Sophie. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoy my little tearoom. As you can imagine, we're all quite proud of the place. Thank you for your fantastic review. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Rick

Reviewed 16 August 2016

Popped in on a Saturday morning at 11.30AM. I wanted breakfast and my partner wanted lunch, but curiously, only breakfast was available until noon. I had a serviceable latte with the Full English breakfast with a poached egg and my partner had the vegetarian version...More

Thank Poly_Tribe
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hello. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with our food offering. Due to the size of our kitchen, we can only run one menu at a time. Therefor we can only serve our lunch menu at lunchtime. Our chefs are always more...More

Reviewed 15 August 2016

If this place ever goes out of business I wouldn't be surprised. Second time I've been here and struggled to get food! Arrived at 11:25 and were told the breakfast menu had finished. So I took a menu expecting to be able to order a...More

1  Thank BikerStu
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Hello. I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't get to dine with us that day. Unfortunately our kitchen is very small, and we often have to stop serving food between 11:30am and 12pm on Sundays as we have to clean down and get ready...More

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Called here for tea and it was really good. Hubby and I both had sausage with bubble and squeak - both agreed was very tasty. The staff are very friendly too which is a bonus Would I return ~ yes, good menu 😃

Thank blueblueLancashire
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hello. Thank you so much for your great review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your meal. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Rick

Reviewed 11 August 2016

Visited from the nearby campsite on our camper van travels. Generally all was good a good gluten free meal for my wife and my meal was good too! Service was a bit slow initially but all very friendly and helpful.More

Thank Wheatear09
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hello. Thank you for your feedback. We do indeed try to keep as many gluten free options on our menu as these have proven to be very popular. I'm sorry if you found service a bit slow at times, I will keep an eye out...More

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at caravan in Hope and called in to the Old Hall Hotel for drink and food. I had steak and kidney pie and chips and my husband had chicken pie. Nicely served lovely food and nice chunky chips. Staff very friendly . Bet nice...More

Thank Maureen T
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hello. I'm I'm so glad you enjoyed your trip to The Old Hall. Our steak and ale pie is by far the most popular thing we sell nowadays, sometimes we can't even make them fast enough. We have now started having a pie of the...More

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Great day out and weather saw us stop pf at he old hall hotel. Great service friendly staff and lovely menu.

Thank Paul W
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hello. Thank you for review, its great to hear that you enjoyed your little stop off at The Old Hall. I hope the weather is as good for you on your next visit. I hope to see you again soon. Rick

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cheshire Cheese
260 reviews
.71 km away
Samuel Fox Country Inn Restaurant
175 reviews
1.58 km away
Curry Cabin
217 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Losehill House Spa
31 reviews
1.63 km away
Peak Mountaineering Day Tours
396 reviews
2.13 km away
Ladybower Reservoir
537 reviews
3.88 km away
Stanage Edge
370 reviews
7.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Prank beast B
4 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Rick E | Property representative |
Hello. Sorry, we don't have the frailties to do room service at the moment. For all enquiries or if you wish to make a reservation, please contact me or one of my staff on 01433620160 between 0900 and 2300 7 days a... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Hope
  • Phone Number: +44 1433 620160
  • E-mail
Description
We have transformed the Old Hall and the service you will receive. My aim is to provide a relaxed atmosphere for family and friends to eat and drink with comfortable accommodation. We offer all your favourite classic pub meals from our experienced chefs using fresh ingredients and also have a variety of specials with a twist. We also have a tea room where you can enjoy breakfasts, a quick bite for lunch or afternoon tea and coffee. You must try our famous Old Hall Hotel Derbyshire Breakfast! The tea room can be hired for a special occasion with a variety of options catering for your needs. Please do come and visit us for a meal, drink or stay in one of comfortable bed and breakfast rooms. You can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Old Hall Hotel in Hope, Peak District.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing