We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ship Inn

) #3 of 23 Restaurants in Burnham-on-Crouch €€ - €€€ , British,
52 High Street, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8AA, England
+44 1621 785057
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good15%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“scotch egg” (9 reviews)
“stone bass” (5 reviews)
“steak” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
52 High Street, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8AA, England
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Started off with a special G&T with iced strawberries and then went inside to our table. I ate the duck with cherries which was excellent. My friend had the sea trout and he said it was the best sea trout he had ever tasted. Portions...More

1  Thank Susanner_11
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have eaten here before and enjoyed it. Though friends had told me of their poor experience lately, I was keen to have another go. There aren't many decent rrestaurants in this town. The new menu was uninspired and there was little of interest. Two of...More

3  Thank Annie B
J_Cracknell, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Annie B, Thank you very much for your time to write your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in getting back to you. I had to discuss your comments with duty manager, chef and team members first before I could respond....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friends recommended we went here but we were apprehensive for a couple of reasons, firstly it's a sister restaurant to The New London in Chelmsford where we hadn't had a great experience a few months before, and secondly it's a pub in a little riverside...More

1  Thank Barry H
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Barry H, Thank you very much for sharing your lovely comments. My team and I are extremely pleased you have enjoyed your experience here, at the Ship Inn and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Jasie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice ale. Modern decor, good and welcoming service. Probably more of a dining pub than a "local" but very comfortable atmosphere. We didn't dine here but it looked promising.

Thank gailjstrevens
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear you though the service was good and welcoming. Hopefully, we will see you again soon and you will try our homemade and seasonal food. Kindest Regards, Jasie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sat in the courtyard to eat on a lovely day,food was great and staff very friendly .Will return and recommend

Thank Beverley W
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Beverley W, thank you very much for your very kind comments. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our homemade food and thought team members were friendly. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Jasie

Reviewed 23 May 2017

The new rooms are so nice it was like being in a 5 star hotel. The food, wines and staff were faultless too. We will definitely be going back can't rate this place high enough.

Thank Dannyjclark
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dannyjclark, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are really much looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Jasie

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

We visited on a Thursday night which was very quite. I would recommend the scotch egg starter it was delicious. For mains we both opted for the fish and chips which was also good. The Ship inn does not serve pub grub but offers a...More

Thank mayland123
Reviewed 15 May 2017

When the previous owners were at this pub it was a bit run down and needed a lot of TLC, however, with the new owners/managers they have transformed the place. We were there on 14th May and had a fantastic meal. The decor is superb...More

1  Thank karl-n-sharon
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear karl-n-sharon, Thank you ever so much for taking your time to write this wonderful review. My team and I were extremely happy reading your generous comments. Our Head Chef and his kitchen team have the endless passion for what they do, and always make...More

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

First of all be patient the staff apart from being very laid back are still finding their feet? The food is very good and nicely presented. Everything is cooked freshly to order. Lovely lounge area at the back of the pub. Lots of event nights...More

1  Thank Anna R
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Anna R, Thank you very much for your time taking to the review. We appreciate your feedback and always strive to improve our service. I am glad you have enjoyed our freshly prepared food. Hopefully, we will see you again soon. Kindest Regards, Jasie

Reviewed 3 May 2017

We're often at the Ship for dinner and sometimes lunch, and are never disappointed. The staff are welcoming and gracious, the food is always delicious and the prices are reasonable. We highly recommend the ribeye steak and the triple cooked chips-it's never, ever a disappointment!More

Thank 2014Tasmin
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear 2014Tasmin, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us here at the Ship Inn. I will pass your very kind comments to my team. We do hope we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bella's Italian Bistro
186 reviews
.12 km away
The Oyster Smack Inn
292 reviews
.51 km away
Sgt. Pepper's
179 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Rio Cinema
127 reviews
.34 km away
Waterfront
64 reviews
.07 km away
Let's Go Bonkers
25 reviews
1.05 km away
Rio's Tapas Bar
14 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Crisweetie
This website is for you to voice your opinion of the ship, not to voice your opinion of locals. You have insulted the people of burnham which is disgusting and uncalled for. Please keep these kind of opinions to yourself
21 February 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Mark P | Reviewed this property |
This was a review of the restaurant, not aimed at the people of Burnham atall.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 High Street, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Burnham-on-Crouch
  • Phone Number: +44 1621 785057
  • E-mail
Description
The Ship Inn is a local pub in the heart of picturesque Burnham-on-Crouch, serving fine food, classic pub lunches, and a wide selection of drinks, in a casual and relaxed setting.

Three boutique en-suite guest bedrooms available for our visitors. All our rooms are beautifully decorated, with comfortable king size beds, and premium Egyptian cotton bedlinen, just what you need for a good night sleep.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing