We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ship Inn

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
52 High Street, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8AA, England
+44 1621 785057
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 128: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was here last weekend with my parents and sister's family (including a four year old and newborn). From the get go the service was fantastic. A few options of house wine and local beers. When we were ready to sit down to eat my sister was guided by one of the waiters through an easier way to get to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wooller84
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good surroundings & service, but the food was average. 4 of us went in for lunch. The beer was good and the wine reasonable. We had the lunch menu which was main course only. Alright, but the fish batter was soggy, bangers and mash served in a bowl, the burger was good. Desert was from the main menu and good.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PeterG9883
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Spending £200 on a mid week meal for four is, quite frankly, ridiculously expensive. Food and service is just OK. When I go to London, I can spend around £30 on a three course set price meal in a Michelin star restaurant. So sad, that there were just seven diners and nobody in the bar. Bar and restaurant, smartly decorated.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Eastwick58Essex
J_Cracknell, Owner at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Eastwick58Essex, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I just viewed your bill and was pretty shocked to read your comments. Our menus clearly state the prices of each food or drink item we sell. Our a la carte starters start from £4.95 and main courses from £11.95. Your total food bill was £136.75 and included... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

We only discovered this place recently but cannot stop coming back. Menus changing very often and keeps it very interesting. We love going back there and trying new things. We went there to try their new autumn menu and it was incredible. Potted prawns and pork cheek (starters) were to die for. Very generous portions too. As for our mains,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesleys1979
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lesleys1979, Thank you very much for this wonderful review. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your dinner. We cannot wait to welcome you back to the Ship Inn again. See you on Friday! Regards, Jasie More 

UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016

Atmosphere good, although a little too noisy. The layout was very well thought out, clean, spacious tables, staff were very friendly and polite. The menu seemed very limited and a little too expensive, that said, the selection was different and not boring, the food was plentiful when it arrived and hot. Sadly my brother in law is a plain eater,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rustie3andme
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rustie3andme, Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your dinner with us at the Ship Inn. The pub and dining room has a reputation for seasonally inspired menus where everything is homemade. Please let us know next time if you cannot decide on the dish and our team will be... More 

Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016

Six of us had lunch at The Ship. The food was quite good although the bread was stale, which is disappointing in any restaurant. Quite good value but the food overall could have been better. Service was good.

Helpful?
Thank SPJ9457
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear SPJ9457, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you though value and the service were good. All our dishes are homemade daily including freshly made bread and don't contain any preservatives. We are really sorry if you thought it was stale. We wish you would have told us you weren't satisfied and we would... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I visited today. It was very busy as the Burnham carnival was on, but the service was very friendly and attentive. Our starters were Scotch eggs & duck spring rolls, both of which exceeded what we were expecting. The mains were piping hot and exactly what we expected. The menu was a little limited, but the quality... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Visited on Saturday lunch time the food was excellent. There were 3 adults and 2 children aged 7 and 3. 2 of us had the scallops to start with the other person in the party went for the sweetbreads. Mains were two grilled half of chickens which were absolutely delicious. My son had the fillet of beef cooked to perfection.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay M
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kay M, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so pleased you and your little ones have enjoyed your lunch. our head chef aims to serve good honest food, locally sourced wherever possible and with equal care taken in every step from first preparation to final presentation. All our dishes are... More 

London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Had heard a lot about the ship and wanted to try it. Best meal I've had in a very long time. The marriage of flavours on my plate for all 3 courses were stunning. Very big shout out to the chef and Joe who looked after us brilliantly

Helpful?
Thank londonlad1959
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear londonlad1959, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are constantly changing our menus to reflect the seasons, availability and quality of ingredients. Our team at the Ship Inn strive to bring you a truly enjoyable experience from the moment you walk through our doors. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest Regards, Jasie More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Visited from Scotland at the weekend for lunch , dinner and drinks . Amazing food , great service and lovely atmosphere . I'd Definitely recommend the tasty scotch egg , delicious pork belly and my new fav drink Pinkster Gin ! Well done Jasie and the team , hope to see you soon !

Helpful?
Thank NikkiD599
J_Cracknell, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear NikkiD599, Thank you ever so much for sharing this great review! Our Head Chef was very pleased when he heard your comments about his new summer menu dishes. The whole team is always delighted to welcome you back. Kindest Regards, Jasie More 

Travellers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex
Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex
 
Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex
Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex
 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 High Street, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Burnham-on-Crouch
  • Phone Number: +44 1621 785057
Description
The independently-owned restaurant and pub offers fine food and wine in a casual and relaxed setting. Provenance is key to the success at the Ship Inn, and head chef has developed relationships with the best suppliers to keep consistency of quality.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ship Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?