We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn

€€ - €€€, Seafood, European
5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
+44 1569 762617
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good39%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cullen skink” (52 reviews)
“mixed grill” (17 reviews)
“fish sliders” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, European, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

My friend and I decided to have dinner here. Well, and few pints. Good selection of local beers. Quite a good menu to choose from. I had a trout with orange&gin sauce. My dish was a bit bland, I expected the sauce to have more...More

Thank Natalija T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dinner on Aug 22nd and breakfast Aug 23rd. Dinner was Haddock and chips with a side salad. Breakfast was an egg, bacon on a warm roll. The food was excellent, facility was clean, staff were very attentive and price was reasonable.More

Thank 132Karen132
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear 132Karen132 Thanks so much for the great review - we really do appreciate it when guests take the time to leave their feedback. Your very kind comments about the staff have been passed on to the team, and I know they will be very...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location of this pub/restaurant is very nice, as it is right on the Stonehaven harbour. We had the fish platter as a shared starter, which was outstanding. The seafood was cooked perfectly. Then we had the battered "fritto misto", which was a lot of...More

Thank LS1972
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear LS1972 Thank you so much for your great feedback. The fish platter is a very recent addition to the menu and it has been a real winner with customers! Seafood is our speciality - the quality of the raw ingredients in this part of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great little seaside town on the banks of The North Sea. If your driving around as we were and need a break, this is the perfect place. This restaurant represents all that is best about this town. Small, convenient, accommodating, with a...More

Thank DrDJPS
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear DrDJPS We're with Leslie! We would eat the fish and chips that are cooked by our chefs every day if we could...but there are too many other tempting things on the menu! Thank you for leaving such a great review for The Ship and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were here to celebrate a big birthday and we were treated very well. Food was delicious and prices were reasonable and atmosphere was nice.More

Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear WeeLuv2Travel2 The Ship loves nothing more than a special occasion, and we want to thank you for choosing us to share such a special event. We are thrilled that we were able to add to the memories of the day, and hope that many...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been here 3 times now and all for special occasions which were birthday. This is honestly delicious here. Lovely view of the harbour and most tables are next to the window. It's so nice here highly recommend.More

Thank ag1712x
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ag1712x Thank you so much for your continued visits to The Ship - we're delighted that we can play a part in such special occasions. We hope that we will continue to be a part of birthdays, anniversaries and other special days for many...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

A very good restaurant with knowledgeable friendly & helpful staff. Excellent range of food choices on offer on an ever changing menu. Offers locally sourced produce & supports sustainable sourced produce.More

Thank Colinkeenan19581127
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Colinkeenan19581127 Thank you so much for the five stars - we really do appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. It's great to know that customers recognise our support of local suppliers, as we really do believe that local produce offers a...More

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Terrible cullen skink - chef obviously doesn't taste their cooking - very watery and tasteless. Looking forward to the next course.More

1  Thank TheSkiMonkeys
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear TheSkiMonkeys Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Cullen skink. This dish is something of a speciality at The Ship and comes in for a constant stream of praise: we do know, however, that there are many variations on the recipe in...More

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Visited with friends whilst in the area. Excellent choice of food to satisfy Seafood, Vegetarian and Meat lovers. Also has an excellent choice of wines and Real ales. The view from the window table out over the harbour brought back may memories of my much...More

Thank Yocky8713
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Yocky8713 Stonehaven has so many happy memories for so many people, and it's always delightful when we can help rekindle those! We are glad you enjoyed your food with a side order of reminiscing! We put a lot of thought into our menu to...More

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Sitting in the sunshine at Stonehaven harbour is pretty special anyway but lunch at the Ship Inn made it extra special. Our sharing platter of seafood was exceptional. Everything on the plate was delicious - crab claws, king prawns, hot smoked salmon, mackerel pate and...More

Thank Helen M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
the villa
172 reviews
.25 km away
The Tolbooth Seafood Restaurant
477 reviews
.09 km away
Marine Hotel
454 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stonehaven Beach
266 reviews
.41 km away
Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool
203 reviews
1.04 km away
Stonehaven Habour
33 reviews
.10 km away
Stonehaven VisitScotland iCentre
30 reviews
.55 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sandranne C
18 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Simon C |
We allow well behaved dogs in the bar. They should be on a lead and stay on the floor - not on the seats.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Stonehaven
  • Phone Number: +44 1569 762617
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Ship Inn
Description
Historic inn (1771) on the edge of Stonehaven's picturesque harbour. Stylish glass-fronted restaurant (38 covers) with extensive and varied menu. Seafood a speciality and daily specials board. Meals also served in cosy bar which offers a good range of draught (including real Ales)and bottled beers and ciders. Wine available by the glass or from wine list. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wide selection of soft drinks and excellent freshly ground coffee.We also have an outside terrace overlooking the harbour where we serve meals (weather permitting).11 luxurious ensuite bedrooms (7 with harbour views).
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing