We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish, European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
+44 1569 762617
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

671 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 577: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were just driving around and stumbled upon this place - amazing fish and chips, really friendly service and it's a super cute place that has real character. During our whole trip we tried fish and chips at several spots all over the UK and this was def the best fish and chips - crispy, good quality fish and lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank sowpow
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ate here back in November as the Marine next door was closed (I normally eat there when in Stonehaven) and we were very pleased with the food in the Ship Inn. The service was good but the food spoke for itself.

Helpful?
Thank HollyJervis
North West
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The menu was well appointed. Lots of choice, without being overwhelming. Good flavour and portion size! Unfortunately, they'd sold out of mussels, but everything was available. We all enjoyed our menu choices.

Helpful?
Thank Gentle_Ben_27
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant with a party consisting of adults and children and am afraid we found the food to be overpriced and disappointing. The Cullen skink was served in a very small bowl and was far too salty, bordering on acrid. At nearly £6 we were expecting something a bit more hearty although it did come with some baguette. My... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Xtrailblazer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped by the Ship Inn for lunch with my wife. We both had Cullen Skink soup followed by sea bass. The sea bass was average but the Cullen skink was the worst and most expensive I have had served to date. Small bowl (£8) with undercooked potatoes and tasteless haddock. It certainly was not cooked in the traditional way and... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Ivor S
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our Cullen Skink. We have had it on our menu for over 12 years and serve thousands of portions every year to great acclaim. If you were not satisfied with the soup, you could have said something to one of our staff who would have addressed your complaint, instead of posting an unfair and... More 

Newtonhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service was good although the food was something to be desired.haggis croquettes were lacking haggis flavour an sauce was terrible very very runny an don't know where the whisky was main courses were just as bad mixed grill was under cooked an tough steak pie was beef chunks wrapped in inedible pastry and no gravy others were fine what was... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank milne6015
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All local food menu with nice seafood varieties. I had a lovely gratin with potatoes and salmon. Good service and beautiful view of the little harbor. Be sure to visit Dunnottar Castle just next door as well.

Helpful?
Thank Johann W
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We arrived at 5.10 and got told I can't get anything to eat until 5.30 so we had a drink and waited and waited, 5.50 I went to the bar and asked when we could get seated to be told all the tables are reserved! If I knew that I wouldn't of waited, dinner was nice although it wasn't a... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen2081
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016

We stayed at the Ship Inn and had reserved a table, which was good as it was quite busy for a while. We brought guest ales from the pub and settled down for a long meal of very nice seafood and good wine. A full moon lighted the harbour and a gale whistled through the cracks in the window frame.... More 

Helpful?
Thank matrosen2013
Ketchum
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Ships Inn for one night, we chose to make reservations at the Captains Table which is connected to their pub. Service was good, decor was homey and the food was truly great. I had Haddock and Chips, and I've had my share of good and bad fish and chips- this was really the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamesdD7188VD

Travellers who viewed The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish, European
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Stonehaven
  • Phone Number: +44 1569 762617
  • This restaurant is at Ship Inn
Description
Historic inn (1771) on the edge of Stonehaven's picturesque harbour. Stylish glass-fronted restaurant (38 covers) with extensive and varied menu. Seafood a speciality and daily specials board. Meals also served in cosy bar which offers a good range of draught (including real Ales)and bottled beers and ciders. Wine available by the glass or from wine list. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wide selection of soft drinks and excellent freshly ground coffee.We also have an outside terrace overlooking the harbour where we serve meals (weather permitting).11 luxurious ensuite bedrooms (7 with harbour views).

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?