We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ferry

€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Sutton Road, Cookham SL6 9SN, England
+44 1628 525123
12:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Sun 12:00 - 21:30
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

695 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 691: English reviews
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have visited few times with my family and friends. Dinner is a bit expensive but really lovely and presentation is beautiful. Lunches much more affordable, great coffees and desserts. There was amazing mulled wine in Christmas period. There are two fireplaces and if you get the seat by them you don't want to leave! Beautiful setting, by the river... More 

Thank Hanna L
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited the ferry on a few occasions now, more so because of its location than anything else as it is a convenient location to meet my in-laws. However I dread going. I myself have worked in the service industry. On each occasion I have found the service to be lacking severely. My most recent my small group had... More 

1 Thank Niamh W
FerryAdmin, General Manager at The Ferry, responded to this review

Dear Niamh, I would be grateful if you could contact myself directly at the pub as we are all really interested in gathering more detail from your meal with us. You have stated that you were waiting 3 hours for a one course meal which is simply untrue. This would never happen and it's a shame that you have chosen... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've been here so many times! I used to go here when I was young and I still go here if I eat out with my family or friends. You are guaranteed to have GORGEOUS food and in the summer it's lovely to sit outside by the river.

Thank Charlie B
FerryAdmin, General Manager at The Ferry, responded to this review

Thank you Charlie B for your review of our pub! Lots of changes are coming soon to The Ferry including a whole new look for outside so this summer you may even find yourself enjoying it more than previous visits! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon, Best wishes, Garry More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good, fun evening. Food was delicious and very good value. On the night, service was very good and friendly. Wine package was good value - but white wine not delivered chilled, although did chill in the table wine cooler.

Thank JuJo8
FerryAdmin, General Manager at The Ferry, responded to this review

Thank you Jul08 for your review and for choosing to come and spend NYE with us! Glad you had a great night and we look forward to seeing you again soon! All the best! Garry More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Seven of us popped in here for lunch on a cold winter's day. The view from the terrace was lovely though not suitable due to temperature. All had different food and all were excellent. The two course fixed price deal is very good value. Also there is a children's menu which is just right. There were two ales on hand... More 

Thank Ron A
FerryAdmin, General Manager at The Ferry, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Ron A! We're glad you enjoyed your visit, apologies the London Pride was temporarily unavailable on your visit, but say hello next time you're in and I'll buy you a pint to make up for it! Best wishes, Garry More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a brisk, fresh Boxing Day walk with family, it was lovely to pop into The Ferry for a welcome drink and nibbles. The homeliness of a real open fire was very welcome.

Thank William B
FerryAdmin, General Manager at The Ferry, responded to this review

Thanks William B for your review, glad to hear we served as a well deserved pit stop for you and your family! We'll always make sure the fires are roaring throughout the colder months, if you head this way again! Thanks again and best wishes, Garry More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Family of 8 arrived for a pre booked boxing day meal, we had already ordered our food a couple weeks before. When we arrived we sat in the bar as we were told our table wasn't ready. Still 35 minutes on no one had updated us, so when we asked it was almost as if we had been forgotten about.... More 

1 Thank shell7
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this review

Thanks shell7 for your review of your recent visit to the pub. Sorry that everything was so slow moving on your visit, I will look into exactly what could have happened. The Ferry is undergoing some very exciting changes within the next couple of months so please come and give us another go and 'watch this space!' Best wishes, Garry More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We signed up for the special 4 course New Year's Eve dinner which required a deposit and pre-order. This gave the impression that this was to be a well organised delivery of good customer service. Unfortunately it didn't look good from the time we arrived to find a queue at the downstairs front desk with people simply wanting to go... More 

2 Thank Michael61London
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thanks for your review and handling your feedback is such a constructive manner. I'm really pleased we've been able to make contact privately and hopefully go some way to making amends. We look forward to seeing you soon! Best wishes, Garry More 

Holyport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I start...I came here years ago and remember it being really nice, this time was a disaster...from the minute we walked in no-one was at the door to take us to our table for 20 minutes, so went to the bar. We got taken to our table which was blocking a fire exit and my partner could not... More 

1 Thank nikkielle
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this review

Hi Nikki, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review following your experience with us. I'm sorry the table you were allocated was not the one you were looking for, the tables by the window and balcony are always the most sought after! Sorry we did not have any other tables in the restaurant available at that time,... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have visited the Ferry Inn a few times and each time have found the food well cooked and well presented. Lovely river fronted setting. Can be a bit noisy in the diining areas.

Thank SueWkg
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this review

Thank you SueWkg! Great to hear you enjoyed both your visit and what we do here at The Ferry! Keep a close eye on the pub in the next few weeks as we have some amazing changes in store, which are only going to help us get better! We look forward to seeing you again soon, Thanks and best wishes,... More 

Travellers who viewed The Ferry also viewed

Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead

Been to The Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$49
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
12:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sutton Road, Cookham SL6 9SN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Cookham
  • Phone Number: +44 1628 525123
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings, The Ferry serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Ferry staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?