We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ferry

€€ - €€€, British,
Sutton Road, Cookham SL6 9SN, England
+44 1628 525123
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good32%
  • Average19%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (13 reviews)
“the river” (155 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sutton Road, Cookham SL6 9SN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Having got rather lost trying to get to Chalfont-St-Giles.....we stumbled upon The Ferry. We went in for coffee.... then we had lunch..... then a mini dessert and pot of tea. The food was good, hot and well presented. The ambiance was pleasant and welcoming. It...More

Thank Magicshaz
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I explained on booking that we were a group including a disabled person and two small dogs. I was reassured this was fine and we would be downstairs as there was no lift. The table was excellent for us with plenty of room and a...More

Thank Judy B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dinner for two Saturday eve 8pm 11/11. Ok to begin with staff helpful finding us a table upstairs and drinks orders taken promptly although we asked for tap water in addition to the wine but had to remind them for the tap Water which didn’t...More

Thank jonrosten
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jonroston, Thank you for leaving your feedback, As the manager in charge of the pub for the past week and for the next week as well as the waiter serving you I would like to apologise that you felt like I ignored you, this of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

There on a business trip, big table with 20 ppl. Good menu, great timing and good food qlty for me and others. Some colleagues felt disappointed though. Good alcohol choice and desserts

Thank Luca_KTM
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Luca_KTM, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to us, Great to see that we did well and you left feeling happy with your experience, We look forward to seeing you again very soon, Best Wishes Jack Assistant Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

This really exceeded expectations. The bar was comfortable and relaxing, clean with nice décor and a pleasant atmosphere. The staff were all polite and friendly. The roast dinners were the most amazing creations ever. The trio of roasts was especially delicious and we loved the...More

Thank trudiestottor
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Trudiestottor, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a great review; it is always appreciated to receive positive feedback from our guests. We love the roasts we serve here at the ferry so its fab to hear that you do...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location on River Thames lots of history associated with old part of the building very atmospheric. Nice decor bit pricey and parking can be a bit of a pain when it’s busy. Food is good but visited recently and was bit disappointed although it...More

Thank Jackie J
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jackie J, Thank you very much for leaving us your review, it is a real shame to see that we did not hit our usual high standards on your last visit, I will be speaking to the kitchen team to ensure that are maintaining our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for Sunday dinner as a spur of the moment thing. Having had a good Sunday lunch before we thought we would go back again. Whilst it was relatively quiet many of the tables had yet to be cleared. I just had pasta which,...More

Thank takeawaymike
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

takeawaymike,, I am sorry to hear that we didn't match up to your expectations this time round, It is a real shame that you feel you wont give us another chance to do better in the future, as I am sure we can prove we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly efficient staff. Three of our party ordered Roast Dinners. Yorkshire puddings absolutely immense. Lamb, beef and chicken lovely. Only niggle - Cauliflower cheese not really cheesy, but didn't detract from a lovely meal. Would definitely recommend.More

Thank maddieglen
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Maddieglen Thank you for leaving us your review and such a positive review as well, I will pass onto the chefs the feedback about the cauliflower cheese so that next time we get the full five stars :) I hope that you choose to come...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited The Ferry Saturday evening for a friend's birthday. Everything has improved since we last visited here a few years ago. The food was excellent and the service was great. We had a nice table (No 10) that is slightly set aside from the...More

Thank Iain B
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Iain B It is fantastic when we hear that we have restored faith with the guests who visit us who have previously had bad experiences, The team will be delighted to hear that their service was received so well. I hope that we see you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came with family and pet dog for Saturday lunch. Overall a good experience. We could not get a space in the car park, which is small but were able to park around the corner. Dogs are allowed in certain areas inside but We found...More

Thank TheProfessor_2012
FerryAdmin, Manager at The Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Theprofessor_2012 Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback iit s always appreciate . I am really glad to see that for the most part you enjoyed your visit with us, It is a shame that our pea puree let...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The White Oak
639 reviews
.80 km away
The Walnut Tree
217 reviews
1.31 km away
The Old Swan Uppers
156 reviews
.88 km away
The Garibaldi
200 reviews
1.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stanley Spencer Gallery
131 reviews
.26 km away
National Trust Cliveden
781 reviews
1.32 km away
Keg Craft Beer
24 reviews
2.04 km away
Boulter's Lock and Ray Mill Island
252 reviews
3.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Simon C
26 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from FerryAdmin | Property representative |
We do, Dogs are allowed in the bar area, and well behaved dogs are allowed in our downstairs Bar/Dining area. I hope this helps and we see you soon
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$53
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sutton Road, Cookham SL6 9SN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Cookham
  • Phone Number: +44 1628 525123
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings, The Ferry serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing