We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant

€€ - €€€, British,
The Village Green | High Street, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4QF, England
+44 1494 871072
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good30%
  • Average23%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
The Village Green | High Street, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4QF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wide range of alcohol. Great interior and food atmosphere. Manager was very helpful in serving me and grabbing the post code for me.

Thank Paul G
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Paul, Great to hear you loved the decor and the range of drinks. No extra charge for the postcode!! See you again soon. All the best Jamie

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited on Sunday evening, the place was very quiet and a bit cold with fewer people. There were four of us and we ordered spatchcock chicken, pulled pork burger, roast chicken and salmon. All dishes that were served were decent without being amazing, but...More

Thank ENGLISH70
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello English70, Thanks for the feedback, this has been passed onto the head chef regarding menu availability and we hope we can welcome you back again for a 5* visit next time round. Kind Regards Jamie Peoples

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This pub really is worth a visit ! It has a warm welcoming feel with a lively atmosphere where anyone would feel at home. The food is superb and from a menu that has ample variety for everyone. This is a really versatile public house,...More

Thank Sarah K
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sarah, Thanks for your glowing review its great to hear that the locals are using the place for both food and drink. Look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best Jamie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant pub/restaurant with good parking and pleasant views. Meal was very good quality but surprisingly that at noon they were giving a list of what was not available from the printed menu.

Thank fareynolds
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Great to hear you enjoyed both the pub and the food. Look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind Regards Jamie Peoples

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Boyfriend took me here yesterday for my birthday brunch! Unfortunately as it was bank holiday we had to wait until 12 for it to open! Once inside we ordered the Seafood Board sharing plate and it was delicious! Staff plentiful and friendly

Thank Jo A
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jo Great to hear you enjoyed your birthday with us look forward to welcoming you back soon. All the best Jamie

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There was eleven of us all away for the weekend because we were at Harry Potter Studios so we were seven of us in a caravan, the other four were in an apartment close to Watford. We had visited Harry Potter Studios earlier on in...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, So glad to hear your weekend was enjoyed with us. Congratulations to the happy couple and I am glad you all enjoyed your food choices. Hopefully you will swing by again next time you are in the area. Many thanks Jamie

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in for a casual drink , very welcoming staff. Vast array of drinks to select from and a fabulous garden. This pub has an exceptional laid back feel. Will return soon.

Thank Damonwalker666
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Damon, So glad to hear you had a relaxed time with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best Jamie

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We walked here to sit in the beer garden and have a family lunch. Menu decimated, for example no steaks available and. I salmon. Tried to order food from the limited available, "but we don't have a button for that"... service with a bad attitude.More

Thank Andy R
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Andy, I am sorry you felt that there wasn't enough choice for you yesterday. Unfortunately due to the long weekend we can struggle to get the fresh deliveries in to replenish what has been used over the past couple of days. We were running...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We would have given this a 5 star rating. However, we had to wait for the for a while for the food. Also one of the risottos had the lemon mayo missing from it. We all enjoyed the food but with the high prices we...More

Thank DerbyshireGirls
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Great to hear you enjoyed the food and setting. I will pass on your comments to our Head Chef regarding the longer than usual wait on food. Hope to see you all again soon. All the best Jamie Peoples

Reviewed 17 August 2017

After the funeral of a much liked friend we were all invited for a buffet at the Merlin's Cave. The variety and presentation of dishes was amazing. The staff replaced dishes when the were low There was sitting in the beautiful garden. A really good...More

Thank lambkaroline3
Jamie P, General Manager at Merlin's Cave Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thanks for the kind review and I'm glad you all felt looked after on such a sad day. All the best Jamie Peoples

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Ivy House
204 reviews
.35 km away
The Deli
55 reviews
.03 km away
Milton's Head
59 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chiltern Open Air Museum
195 reviews
1.98 km away
Fired Works
17 reviews
2.93 km away
The Land of Liberty, Peace and Plenty
15 reviews
3.60 km away
The Craft Beer Shop
27 reviews
4.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Earthwatcher1957
30 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Vermy100 | Reviewed this property |
Dogs are allowed in the bar area and garden but not in the restaurant at the back.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:30
Thursday
11:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Village Green | High Street, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4QF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Chalfont St. Giles
  • Phone Number: +44 1494 871072
  • E-mail
Description
The newly renovated Merlins Cave is located in the heart of Chalfont St Giles on the Village Green, a beautiful village only a few minutes drive from the M40 and M25. Merlin's Cave has been rejuvenated into a beautiful country pub, with an all-fresh food restaurant and a bar serving hand-crafted beers from the cask or bottle. As well as our uniquely designed restaurant and bar, which draw their character from the stunning countryside which surrounds us, we also put the magic back into our garden which, incidentally stretches down to the River Misbourne. Food is served: Monday to Thursday: 11am - until 10:00pm Friday & Saturday: 1pm until 10:00pm Sunday: 1pm until 9pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing