We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Plough

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Macclesfield Road | Eaton, Congleton CW12 2NH, England
+44 1260 280207
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 133: English reviews
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely place & fine selection of beers. Menu a little disappointing though as was expecting a little bit more than ordinary pub food. They did have some specials, which were slightly superior but majority not to my taste. Maybe on a different day it would have been different. Staff were pleasant except for one sullen lady who finished her shift... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom C
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Tom C, thank you for taking the time to review The Plough Inn. We are glad to hear that you like our pub and our selection of beers. our menu changes every 6-8 weeks so we are always trying new dishes so there is always something new and exciting for our guests, we do however take your comments on... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please be assured that all at The Plough will do everything to make any occasion perfect. At the recent gathering for refreshments after my husband's funeral I am happy to say that the whole experience was excellent from the staff, refreshments and the venue as a whole. Nothing was too much trouble and we were treated with great respect as... More 

Helpful?
Thank mave312
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Mave312 thank you for taking the time to review The Plough Inn. We are glad to hear that you were very pleased with the refreshments for your husband's funeral, it is always a difficult time for everyone so we always do our utmost to make sure everything goes smoothly on the day. Many thanks for your kind words and... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Service was excellent and food delicious. I had the steak, it was perfectly cooked and the onion rings and chips were amazing. Thank you so much for the present, it was a really nice touch! The posh toilets were a real bonus!!. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary3012
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Rosemary3012, thank you for your lovely comments in regards to the food and service that you experienced here at The Plough Inn. We are indeed very proud of our steaks and we are very fortunate to have such a great butcher on board that supplies us only with the best cuts. Gllad to hear you like our toilets which... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great setting in the countryside. Service was a little slow but it was packed. 4 stars just due to a few mistakes but my food was nice. One ordered medium-well steak and it was rare. My dads starter was meant to be mushroom something and he found 1 mushroom! Also kids meals came about 10mins after adults not great. Other... More 

Helpful?
Thank danny0705
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Danny0705, thank you for taking the time to review The Plough Inn. Thank you for your great comments in regards to our setting. Please accept our apologies if the service was a little slow and for any mix ups when the food came out, this can sometimes occur on such busy evenings but it is great to hear that... More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the vegetarian Sunday lunch you made for Mr Salt. You made his day!! We have been to this pub on many occasions and never been disappointed. Excellent food and excellent service. A lovely country pub with a very big welcome.

Helpful?
Thank AntheaCheshire
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear AntheaCheshire, thank you for taking the time to review The Plough Inn. It is always a great pleasure to look after you and Mr Salt, we wish him a speedy recovery and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Feeling hungry after a morning's shopping, we decided to call in at the Plough for something to eat. We gorged on a delicious charcuterie platter followed by the best haddock, chips and mushy peas ever and a very tasty cheese and leek pie. Altogether It was a superb meal and I can't wait to repeat the experience next Sunday when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maccvisitor
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Maccvisitor, thanks for the wonderful 5* review! Our haddock and chips is definitely one of our most popular dishes and to hear it is the best you have ever had is such an excellent compliment.We look forward to seeing you again this Sunday! More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We had been told by friends to give The Plough a try and we weren't disappointed. The staff are friendly and polite and the service is excellent. We decided to go very early evening and had the pick of the tables - there are several smaller rooms to choose from, perfect for enjoying whosever company you're in. The menu has... More 

Helpful?
Thank li88yb
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear li88yb, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for all your kind comments in regards to the service and food. We are so glad you will be visiting us again and we look forward to seeing you! More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We called in at the Plough for lunch after a shopping trip. Good choice of dishes, well cooked at reasonable prices, good choice of beers, Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank ossiejolly
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear ossiejolly, thank you for you kind comments. We try to provide a menu which has something for everyone and offer a mix of beers including local micro-breweries, thanks for the recommendation and we will hopefully see you again soon. More 

Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Sweet little pub and we visited twice for drinks while we were staying in congleton. The first time we were served by a lovely girl, she didn't know what white zinfandel was but that's fine, nobody knows EVERY drink. We stayed for two drinks on this visit. However, on our second visit we were served by the lady that on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank soaps38
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear soaps38, we are so pleased to hear you found The Plough a lovely place. We always aim to make the customer feel comfortable and welcome here and we are sorry you did not feel this way. We pride our self on great customer service so we apologize again and hope it wasn't anything that would put you off visiting... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Last minute visit for my wife's birthday. Excellent food, friendly staff, cosy and a nice location. Will be coming again for sure..This place never disappoints and is an absolute safe house if taking friends. Never had a bad meal here. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Micky270566
Jose L, General Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Micky270566, we are so glad your wife enjoyed her birthday meal here! Thank you for all your kind comments, taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to seeing you next time! More 

Travellers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Congleton, Cheshire
Congleton, Cheshire
 
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$29
Cuisine
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Macclesfield Road | Eaton, Congleton CW12 2NH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Congleton
  • Phone Number: +44 1260 280207

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Plough and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
STAFFORD
3 months ago
STAFFORD
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?