We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clementines Restaurant and Bar

cnr Church St & Van Zyl, Clarens, South Africa
+27 58 256 1616
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“oxtail” (66 reviews)
“steak” (67 reviews)
“pavlova” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
cnr Church St & Van Zyl, Clarens, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This was locally recommended and now we know why. The staff could have been more friendly and knowledgeable but the food more than made up for it. The chef even came over and chatted with us!

Thank birdiesummer
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

First off - over a weekend make a booking otherwise you will not get a table. On first meeting the hostess comes across very abrupt, but actually she is quite friendly, attentive and runs a "tight ship". Food was amazing and service great. Will definitely...More

Thank Louise B
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

So super impressed by the food in this restaurant. Really awesome hostess and host. Excellent gin collection. Service was a bit lacking when we got to our table. Food made up for it though.

Thank michelle S
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Bit nervous to write an honest review, looking at the owner's attack on anyone giving Clementine's anything less than 5 stars! I enjoyed our evening at Clementine's. It's an intimate, bustling and quaint restaurant. Chef Addo is very talented - the pork belly was delicious!...More

1  Thank Jingolina
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Jingolina, Thank you for you lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything that we offer as a small country restaurant. Warm welcoming atmosphere, friendly efficient service and delicious food. Apologies that you think I 'attack' people in my responses. Please under...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for dinner at Clementines. Service was fast and friendly. We had soup and the stuffed chicken, which were both nice. The Gluwein was lovely and sweet and there is an impressive alcohol selection. Unfortunately the sago pudding was more of a tasteless cake...More

Thank Lisa V
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lisa V, Thank you for your review although a abit confusing. The service was fast and friendly, you enjoyed the soup, the Chicken Roulade and the Gluhwein but because you didn't enjoy the Sago you rate us 3 out of 5? Unfortunately you didn't...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited knowing that it is rated the number 1 restaurant to visit. Very busy, good ambiance. Menu is decent and food is average. When busy, service tends to suffer at the expense of big groupsMore

Thank Emma a
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

HI Emmaa, Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the the ambiance that we offer. Apologies that you only found our food only average. I see you have just started writing reviews, let me point out what a helpful review...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I just love this little treasure... great ambience and service. We started with the mussel starter to share and it was devine. I then had the BBQ rump.. perfectly cooked and delish. My wife had the sole and it was amazing. Will...More

Thank MelLee7972
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi MelLee7972, Thank you for you amazing review on our restaurant and mentioning what you had for dinner as that is helpful for future customers reading your review. Our rump is 28 day aged and absolutely delicious and tender, our chef worked in Cape Town...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our meal started with a smoked salmon appetizer that was utterly horrible. Our entrees were slightly better but overall extremely disappointing.More

3  Thank eam4586
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi eam4586, Goodness me! I have to sincerely apologise that you found it necessary to be such a martyr and sit though starters and mains in our restaurant, next to a beautiful log fire. Both my manager and chef came to ask you if everything...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So thankful we could spend our last Clarens supper at Clementines - our table enjoyed springbok carpaccio, rump steak, trout, duck and pork belly - all of it was outstanding! The service was amazingMore

Thank Nets1234
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nets1234, Thank you for your amazing review on our restaurant. Reviews like yours makes all the hard work worth every minute. Our goal is to provide a warm, welcoming atmosphere, with great service and excellent food and we are so pleased that we achieved...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food and atmosphere. Good menu. Wide variety. Cosy and warm, good service. Had a great Chicken tikka curry.More

Thank June H
Shelley T, Owner at Clementines Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi June H, Thank you for you excellent review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed everything that we work so hard to achieve. Warm and welcoming atmosphere, great service and excellent food with a drinks list to compliment all of the above. We look...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Clarens Brewery
587 reviews
.16 km away
Sugar and Cinnamon
240 reviews
.55 km away
Gosto Portuguese Restaurant
462 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Clarens Brewery
279 reviews
.16 km away
Clarens Xtreme Private Tours
74 reviews
.53 km away
Clarens Wellness Day Spa
60 reviews
.26 km away
The Ugly Duckling
51 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Laura S
6 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Shelley T | Property representative |
Hi Laura, With pleasure children are welcome and our kitchen closed at 8pm tonight. kind regards Shelley Clementines
1
Vote
smrgeog
15 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Shelley T | Property representative |
You are welcome to look at our website our menu is on there. I am not allowed to put the Web address here. It is the restaurants namE.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: cnr Church St & Van Zyl, Clarens, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Free State  >  Clarens
  • Phone Number: +27 58 256 1616
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing