We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound

) #1 of 2 Restaurants in Finchampstead €€ - €€€ , British,
Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
+44 118 973 2269
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (35 reviews)
“sunday roast” (13 reviews)
“cheese board” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Popped in for an early bite to eat. Menu is good, but specials took it to another level. In fact, we were so tempted by the choice we decided to order one of each & share both. Surf & turf with garlic prawns & Sea...More

Thank Lesley F
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Lesley Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and we are delighted that you enjoyed the specials so much. Our specials are constantly changing so do make sure that you pop back in again soon to try some more! All...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

There is black lady working behind the bar who was so rude she made us feel unwelcome and uncomfortable. She didn't look at us when serving us and threw the change on the bar. People like this lady should not be working in the public...More

Thank RLH4268
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The service was very good last night. Great Gin menu. Didn't order starters but I could see others going to tables. Went for the Vongole and flat iron but neither available. Odd. So Rib Eye it was and it was very well cooked BUT -...More

Thank Gary H
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gary Thank you for your review and constructive comments. I have spoken to my head chef about the portion sizes and we have changed the presentation and revisited our portion specifications so hopefully your next visit will not be a disappointment on value for...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was pretty good although portions are a bit mean especially given the prices which are not cheap. Waitress service with food was good however bar service was awful slow disinterested bordering rude. Worse problem however was the cleanliness of gents toilets which was shocking...More

Thank PAC6750
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review although I am disappointed to read it's contents. We have had an on going issue with the gents urinals which was resolved on 12th June, but re-occurred again on Sat morning with a pipe leaking which was called...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived early for out 7.30 booking tonight and were ignored for a good five minutes. We were then shown to our table and offered water, handed menus and told someone would come and take our drink order. That took a further 10-15 minutes, and...More

Thank Maxine B
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Maxine Thank you for your review and I am truly sorry that last night was not a great experience for you. The staffing situation was not ideal and I hold my hands up to that and am very sorry that you incurred delays as...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for the first time as a family for a sunday roast. We all had starters followed by mains. The portions were very generous - we have big appetites and even we struggled. The dishes were well presented and tasty. Service was good and we...More

Thank SimonaSaunders71
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Simona Thank you for lovely review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your meals so much and the visit. I look forward to seeing you back again soon. All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is not a Michelin star restaurant but they think that the food they serve justifies the high costs and small portions but falls well short . I ordered the Squid starter and was given 3 small pieces and a tiny piece of Choritso for...More

1  Thank Johnwarnertrip
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear John Thank you for your review and I am sorry to read that you were disappointed following your visit. We have just moved across to a new summer menu and some of the dishes have required tweaking in order to meet our clients needs...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and I will often pop in for a drink and snack and the Greyhound and fabulous staff always make us feel welcome. With wine & cheese nights, gin tasting, a fantastic food menu and a great selection of beers and wines this place...More

Thank James F
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi James Thank you for your great review and it's a pleasure to know that we are getting things right! I look forward to seeing you back again soon. All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here on a Sunday afternoon after hearing good things from various people. We sat out in the courtyard garden which was nice, busy but not crowded! The servers were very attentive and the selection of beer and ale was good. However the thing that...More

Thank Alex_C55555
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alex Thank you for your kind comments and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your roasts so much. I look forward to seeing you back again soon. All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Greyhound has an attractively decorated interior with pleasant outside eating area. Service was friendly and efficient and as well as the normal menu there was a good selection of specials. We shared a baked camembert with fresh crusty bread and followed this with the...More

Thank JayneHTB
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jayne Thank you for taking the time to review us and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your meal and visit so much. I look forward to seeing you back again soon. All the best, Vicki

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Chequers
539 reviews
1.48 km away
The Frog & Wicket
256 reviews
1.49 km away
Rosie's Tea Room
15 reviews
1.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
California Country Park
147 reviews
1.70 km away
Leisure Matters
34 reviews
3.16 km away
Jake's @ Tri-Lakes
122 reviews
3.63 km away
Cricketers
35 reviews
4.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jasimmons2016
5 March 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Vicki C | Property representative |
Dear Jasimmons Thank you for your contact and I am sorry that your review was missed for a response. I had been falling behind my responses and replied to a number of responses together and as I felt your review required... More
0
Votes
Karl_n_Cas
30 December 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Vicki C | Property representative |
Absolutely! With a name like The Greyhound we wouldn't have it any other way. We welcome well behaved pooches and their owners in the bar area and garden, we always have doggy treats on hand and bowls of fresh water. Thanks... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Wokingham  >  Finchampstead
  • Phone Number: +44 118 973 2269
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing