We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 01/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen
Updated 01/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
105
85
20
25
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
105
85
20
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacket potato salad steak and kidney pie cakes bakewell tart beans sausage rolls ice cream pot of tea good quality food lovely lunch sunday lunch cafe aldeburgh ingredients
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We went here after a wonder round the car boot. We had a big breakfast and bacon sandwich. They were very very busy and the staff did not stop, taking orders, cleaning tables and bringing out orders. Got very confusing for staff when customers moved...tables. Well done you’re doing a good jobMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 December 2020 via mobile

A good variety of farm based produce. Cafe has a good choice of hot food and cake items. Perfect for a Sunday lunch stop.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Cracknell1981, Marketing at Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our farm shop and cafe. We hope to see you again soon. 🙂

Reviewed 7 December 2020

Tale was booked for three people, one person arrived seperately. Welcoming staff showed us to tht table and gave us a menu. Another member of staff came over to us and in a loud voice stated we should not be there as we were breaking...the Tier 2 rules. We pointed out that two of us lived together and the third person was in our support bubble (we did not give the reason why). Also we all work in the same "bubble" in school. The lady promptly stated "no your not thats not right" If you stay you will be breaking the law ....and it up to you". People were looking over at us and this made us feel very uncomfortable so we left. Tier 2 rules clearly state that:"you must not socialise with anyone you do not live with or who is not in your support bubble" Well we were in the same household and the third person was in our support bubble. How dare she call us liars. Needless to say even when this horrible virus is over we shall not be visiting again. Which is a shame as in the past we have been frequent visitors.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Cracknell1981, Marketing at Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2020

Hi there, I've spoken to our restaurant manager about your review. Your group arrived in separate cars and when the waitress came over to take your order, she was told that you were waiting for someone else. As stated by the government and is now...More

Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

Great selection of good quality food and drink. Went in the cafe for coffee and cake. Everything was homemade and very enjoyable. Lovely lemon meringue pie and icecream and fresh scones and cake.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Cracknell1981, Marketing at Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2020

Thank you for a lovely review 😊 We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 16 September 2020

The restaurant was clean and airy, the staff at first were attentive and helpful. I ordered chicken and mushroom pie and was told that it was fresh and made with shortcrust pastry. when it arrived the meal looked ok served with new potatoes carrots and...cabbage. The pie was inedible. the crust was thin leathery and managed to feel as though it was under cooked and burnt. The filling was salty. the new potatoes were perfect and of a good flavour however the carrots and cabbage were unevenly heated being both hot and cold, suggesting poor reheating in a microwave . from the moment that I stopped eating I found it impossible to attract the attention of a member of staff.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Cracknell1981, Marketing at Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2020

Hi Bilbbo, Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit. Sorry you weren't happy with your meal. We ask that any customers unhappy with their meals or drinks do let our staff know at the time so that they can try to put...More

Reviewed 6 September 2020

I use to enjoy coming here ,by my self or with family and friends, now i don't think i will go back again , specialty after last experiences. It is nothing personnel, as i said i always been a good customer ,happy to support the...local business, i hope you do something about it ,and you make things better ,for your staff, your community and your loyal customers.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Cracknell1981, Marketing at Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2020

Thank you for your review. We are unsure as to what happened on your recent visit to our cafe but we will be happy to discuss any issues via email at enquiries@fridaystfarm.co.uk many thanks

Reviewed 31 August 2020

I'll start with it's usually good here. Also, I appreciate it was busy - bank holiday Monday and a car boot on. Still... We arrived to find a long queue for the cafe so decided to eat in the marquee. We were then told by...the staff at the marquee that there would be a lot of tables inside - despite the long queue - and were encouraged to go back to the cafe. We declined and were promptly seated within a couple of minutes. I asked for vegetarian options for my wife - no full english alternative but avocado on toast or bean on toast were possible. Drinks: the pot of tea for £2 was weak tea in a takeaway cup. I understand takeaway cups are COVID related. May be state that on menu / tell people when ordering? Asked for a large coffee - received a small. Asked for an orange juice. Was told there were no juices whatsoever. Asked for a glass of water instead - it never arrived. A long wait ensued - understand it was busy but c. 1 hour? 'Toast': Smashed avocado on toast arrived as sliced avocado on (uncooked) bread Similarly the slice of toast with the full English was also just bread. Asked the waiter if the bread could actually be toasted (as well as for ketchup) - it returned 10 mins later as mildly warm bread. Asked if the toaster was broken (half-jokingly) - was told that was the best that could be done with the machine's settings without burning it. If the toaster can't toast may be best to take toast off the menu - or get a toaster that can make toast? Fetched own ketchup. (BTW, saw some friends. Asked them after if they had the same 'toast' issue. Answer - yes. Their young son left it). On leaving was asked if all was ok. Smiled pleasantly (youngish staff, not really their fault, all were polite) and said 'not really' expecting some interaction. Response was 'oh dear' and 'the kitchen is busy'. End of conversation. Calculated bill. When received I asked if it was correct. Was told it was as it was half price on EOTHO. Said I thought it was still too much actually. No response. Couldn't' be bothered to pursue further for what I thought was c. £1.50. Should've queued at Marlesford...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Cracknell1981, Marketing at Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Hi Derby C, Thank you for your review.... we are sorry to hear of your disappointment at your recent visit to our restaurant. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the restaurant manager. Many thanks

Reviewed 31 August 2020

I’m actually talking about the chips I made last night at home. I chose the ham, egg and chips because I fancied some more chips, I read twice cooked and I was SOLD. Twice cooked chips I thought, I bet they’re nice and crispy, maybe...even fluffy in the middle if I’m lucky! HOW WRONG I WAS! Instead before me sat a plate of what only can be described as a well chopped potato, which had paddled in the hot oil for no more than a minute or two. I asked my friend, ‘How can someone cook chips so badly?’ The ham was okay, a little thin and I was disappointed with only one slice. The eggs were very good, nice runny yoke. Will probably just go to KFC next time.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Cracknell1981, Marketing at Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Hi Daniel, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are sorry you weren't happy with your chips. If you had raised this with a member of staff im sure they would have looked into this for you. Kind Regards.

Reviewed 25 August 2020 via mobile

Came for a late lunch around 2:45pm on Tuesday 25th Aug and were greeted by a friendly lady. We were pre-warned that there was a 35 minute wait for food and that a few menu items weren't available. We didn't mind. We weren't in any...hurry and the tables looked well spaced apart (hadn't realised there was a marquee outside, sadly). We were seated and our order was taken fairly quickly. No macaroni cheese, no lasagne and no panini but fourth choice of a baked potato was successful. The wait time was now upgraded to 45 minutes. That was a fairly accurate assessment but we were on the end of a few jaded looks from a table of four in the corner that had arrived before us but had not received their food. Food looked really nicely presented. The only disappointment was the soggy jacket potatoes (microwaved instead of baked, perhaps) Covid measures? For those anxious about eating out during these difficult times, my advice would be that you would likely feel safer elsewhere. The hand sanitiser on arrival was empty, there were no screens up at the food counter, no face coverings/ shields worn by serving staff, no track and trace, people helping themselves to sachets of condiments... and the restaurant itself was generally a bit grubby e.g. Beams, bulbs, windowsills and the tops of the electric sockets (no covers in these, btw!) With the accumulation of all these things, we were all sadly left with the overall feeling that they aren't really taking the virus seriously enough at all. Government guidelines state "It will not always be possible to keep a distance of 2 metres. In these circumstances both employers and employees must do everything they reasonably can to reduce risk" Honestly, I'm not sure we noticed anything, let alone everything. As for test and trace. Okay, so the customer's compliance is voluntary, but the government are certainly encouraging businesses and their customers to all do our bit. We would have been more than willing to participate but, unbelievably, we were never even asked. Is it enough during a pandemic for a business to say 'well, we don't have to, so we don't'? I guess that's up to each of us to decide, when we are choosing where to eat.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Cracknell1981, Marketing at Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Hi Flump, Thank you for your review. Just to respond to a few of your comments. The Track and Trace is in place and is actually featured on our menus for customers to fill out. Unfortunately as this isn't required by law and down to...More

Reviewed 24 August 2020 via mobile

My husband and I came into the marquee Sunday morning. We ordered our breakfast, the young lady who served us was polite and friendly. Breakfast was good and they complied with our request for extra butter and sauces. I feel the young ladies and gentlemen...do their best considering how many tables they have to manage and the guide lines they have to follow.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Cracknell1981, Marketing at Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

361Nikki, Thank you so much for your review. It is indeed lovely to hear your mention of how our staff do their best in these times. We will certainly pass on your comments. 🙂

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The White Horse Hotel
83 reviews
7.40 km away
Satis House Hotel
961 reviews
8.81 km away
The Crown Hotel
398 reviews
9.30 km away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
503 reviews
9.37 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Sweffling White Horse
22 reviews
3.22 km away
Plough & Sail
727 reviews
3.39 km away
Ship Inn Blaxhall
96 reviews
3.46 km away
The Lion inn
77 reviews
3.83 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Glemham Hall
16 reviews
2.87 km away
Aldeburgh Music
54 reviews
3.46 km away
Leiston Film Theatre
90 reviews
7.53 km away
The Lettering & Commemorative Arts Trust
9 reviews
3.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
birdie250583
19 May 2018|
Answer
Response from jamesb3374 | Property representative |
Good Morning, We stop serving Lunches at 3pm, but light bites are available after that. Thank you James
0
Votes
ScarfManners
9 April 2017|
Answer
Response from FridayStreetFarm | Property representative |
Hi Scarfmanners, Unfortunately we don't have dogs allowed inside our cafe but we have some lovely outdoor seating on our picnic area where you are welcome to take your food and also outside on the patio area :-) Hope this... More
0
Votes
Nuala W
19 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from jamesb3374 | Property representative |
Hi our hot food is Chicken with cheese wrapped in bacon and the favourites of Steak & Kidney pies and lasagne plus all the other cold lunches. if any questions please ring the café on 01728 602783
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen

  • Yes, Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen offers delivery services.

  • Yes, Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

  • Friday Street Farm Shop & Kitchen is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4