We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ons Huisie

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Generaal Jansens Road, Bloubergstrand, South Africa
+27 21 554 1553
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 532: English reviews
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The food is devine... it is close to the beach which is great. They are a little expensive, but worth it. The service is average. Visit this place for their food and to relax near the beach.

Helpful?
Thank SonyaNiemand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Service was better than previous experience. Food way below average. "Chips were the best part". Calamari came with a heap of carrots, broccoli and pumpkin boiled together. Why? No imagination. Only come here for the view. Expect nothing else.

Helpful?
Thank Ben A
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Ben A, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize that the food you received was not to our usual standard. We have addressed your comments with our chef to make the necessary adjustments to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We are hoping to continue the conversation with you privately.... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Was here a couple of years back and it was no great shakes then. Maybe the fish and chips and similarly easy cook/fried options are fine but sadly the pastas and potjie type meals are tasteless, over cooked and stingy with anything other than the line fish (I had one mussel and an empty shell, one prawn and a prawns... More 

Helpful?
Thank nicolaloughray
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear nicolaloughray, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the unacceptable food and service that you received during your recent visit. We immediately addressed all your concerns with the team to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We are hoping to continue the conversation with you privately. Could you please... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a must for visitors. Good breakfast and speedy service almost on the beach. Great views of Big Bay and of course the best views of Table Mountain.

Helpful?
Thank Capetownbrits
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Capetownbrits, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit for breakfast. It always makes our day to read reviews like yours and knows our hard work pays off. We will definitely share your comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our stoep soon. Kind... More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

One if my favourites when i visit Cape Town. Very quaint but we sat in the New part but would have preferred to sit in the original part

Helpful?
Thank erk911
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear erk911, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit. We are delighted that you keep coming back when you are in the area. We will happily share it with the team! Hopefully we can accommodate you in your favorite spot next time. We look forward to welcoming you back to our stoep... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous spot for casual meals and an authentic Cape experience. Huge portions. We loved the fish n chips. Kiddies under 10 play safely whilst the adults enjoy great food, even traditional dishes like Baboetie, Snoek, west coast pickled fish, all at good prices. It's a few meters from the beach with stunning views of Small Bay and Big Bay. Watch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luvtravellinglots
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Luvtravellinglots, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit. It always makes our day to read reviews like yours and knows our hard work pays off. We are delighted that you enjoyed you famous fish and chips and our kiddies corner. We look forward to welcoming you back to our stoep soon.... More 

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
170 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I first went there at around 8 at night and asked if they know where is a suitable place to stay. Three waiters went out of their way to help me and find the right place. Well done! I just came back for a beer, but love the whole atmosphere and super setting.

Helpful?
Thank Wim_traveler
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Wim_traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit. It always makes our day to read reviews like yours and knows our team is putting service first. We look forward to welcoming you back to our stoep soon on your next visit to the area. Kind Regards, Management More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stumbled on this place on my birthday last year. I am a sucker for a seaside view, so when we found this little jewel, We had to stop. We attended quite quickly even though they were busy for a Monday afternoon. The service was friendly and attentive. If you looking for wholesome south African food. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank meganado
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear meganado, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit and for coming back. It always makes our day to read reviews like yours and knows our hard work pays off. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. A five star rating is always a great motivator to all of us. We... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good and beautiful location. Child friendly with a small playpark. With our last visit we arrived at after 21:00 and waited no longer than 15 minutes for our food. Service great. Good food. Prices affordable. Definately going back.

Helpful?
Thank Virginia A
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear Virginia A, Thank you for taking the time to review Ons Huisie restaurant after your recent visit. It always makes our day to read reviews like yours and knows our hard work pays off. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. A five star rating is always a great motivator to all of us. We look forward to... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Hmmm! having not been back for 5 years because of poor service and underwhelming food I convinced myself to give Ons Huisie another chance.. Well nothing has changed! We got there at 1330 and by 1500 the main course had not arrived. After ordering oysters they were declared not edible (thankfully) and we had to wait for the fish cakes... More 

Helpful?
Thank 517Dissatisfied
OnsHuisie12, Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this review

Dear 517Dissatisfied, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the food and service (rather lack of) that you received during your recent visit. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will be using the feedback you have provided to implement improvements, and to ensure we offer a better experience for guests... More 

Travellers who viewed Ons Huisie also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to Ons Huisie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Generaal Jansens Road, Bloubergstrand, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Bloubergstrand
  • Phone Number: +27 21 554 1553

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ons Huisie staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?