We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 21/1
20:00

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$30 - US$48
CUISINES
French, Caribbean, European, Fusion
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
21
8
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
21
8
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuna main course courses whimsical island euros guadeloupe server
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 January 2020

The restaurant attempted an expensive (150 euros each) banquet-style New Year's set menu, and failed. The neither the kitchen nor the staff had the ability to cope with it. The food started dribbling out at 8 pm and by 11:30 many people were still being...served the main course. At that point many people left out of frustration with two courses left to go. Service was disorganized and ragged and empty plates left on tables for up to an hour at a time. And the food was not of the calibre of a restauarant that is supposed to be the best in the area and one of the best on the island. The pasta iin the lobster ravioli was far too thick and chewy an overwhelmed the delicate seafood and sauce. The cold and hot foie gras was far too large - the cold was great with the fruit condiment but the fried foie gras was tasteless. The two main courses (served together with huge portions) were roast pork, which was tender, but completely unseasoned, and a small chicken or capon which was undercooked to the point of being inedible. When that was noted to the server, he simply asked how the pork was! It was perhaps one of the most disappointing dinner i have ever gone to. A perfect example of the lack of thought and planning was the cheese course. A properly planned banquet-style dinner would have pre-selected the cheese so there was a chance they could be served at once. Not here. A poor guy with a large tray with at least 2 dozen cheeses was tasked with allowing each diner in a large restaurant an individual selection. We didn’t stick around, but the cheese course would have taken over an hour simply to serve. All this is to say that quantity does not trump quality, and that over-the-top is not better than good planning and finesse. I will long remember the reveillon of 2019, but not for the right reasons. A waste of money.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
TendacayouEcolodge, Responsable relations publiques at Le Poisson Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

A gourmet New Year's Eve dinner in 7 steps means taking the time.. You should have told us that you were in a hurry we would have done the necessary. it was a festive meal and we chose to be generous in our portions, to...More

Reviewed 5 August 2019 via mobile

Agree with the previous post: this place is not to be missed. Popped by at lunch to book for dinner later that day and the place looks amazing at both times of the day. It’s incredibly whimsical and so much love has been put into...the decor. Service was excellent: very friendly and efficient. Food was excellent too: changes daily and we arrived on a tuna day, so lots of that on the menu which we love so were happy.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
TendacayouEcolodge, Responsable relations publiques at Le Poisson Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2019

We are delighted to know you are happy and thank you for this beautiful message. Looking forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 31 May 2019 via mobile

Absolutely great place! Very witty and whimsical interior decoration, exceptionally friendly staff and fabulous food. Do not miss! The drive up to Tendacayou Lodge (where the restaurant is) is rather vertiginous, so it may be better to take a taxi if you’re not feeling super...confident in your hire car.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
TendacayouEcolodge, Responsable relations publiques at Le Poisson Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2019

Thanks a lot for your message ! Do not miss us when you come back !

Reviewed 18 April 2019 via mobile

Definitely worth the climb up narrow roads above Deshaies. Parking was a bit of a challenge! Beautiful and quirky decor, with a view from the upper restaurant deck to die for. Friendly and efficient service. My tuna main was absolutely delicious, although my daughter's steak...was a little too 'bien cuit' when she had ordered medium. She still said it was delicious though, and being British, of course we didn't complain! Desserts were delicious to follow, and it was definitely the best meal we had on our trip to Guadeloupe. Quite expensive, but worth it.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Tendacayou971, Responsable relations publiques at Le Poisson Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2019

Thank you for sharing your visit to our table. Looking forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 10 April 2019

Excellent. Beautiful, gorgeous restaurant with a Caribbean theme and excellent food. Don't miss it while visiting Base-Terre!

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Tendacayou971, Responsable relations publiques at Le Poisson Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2019

Best comment, thank you very much !

Reviewed 8 April 2019 via mobile

What a wonderful, somewhat eccentric, restaurant. Getting there involved quite the hill climb, but boy was it worth it. Fantastic duck dish, great, great avocado salad as a starter (very suitable for two) and one of the best fish dishes my wife has ever had....Service is friendly and efficient. The restaurant itself is peaceful eccentric with a very interesting decor. Our previous favourite Deshaies restaurant, Kawan, is now unfortunately closed. Somewhat bittersweet as Le Poisson Rouge is even better in our opinion. This restaurant is worth a return visit to Guadelopue.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Tendacayou971, Responsable relations publiques at Le Poisson Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2019

Thank you for your delicious comment, we hope to see you again at our table

Reviewed 28 January 2019 via mobile

I am reviewing this restaurant not based on food but on service. We booked a table for Sunday lunch on Trip Advisor using Open Table. We arrived to be advised we had no booking. I showed my email of confirmation only to be told, "we...dont use open table" .As I write Open Table is still accepting bookings for this restaurant, the restaurant are FULLY aware of this. A party of six were also turned away with the same issue. It is just sheer laziness and complete disregard for the customer that they have not told Open Table to take down their booking facility. We had driven some distance and could not get another booking for lunch. If no one protests against this lack of disregard for the customer then I am afraid many more will turn up to be disappointed. Also note parking is very very difficult so my advice if you do go, is to book for 12 oclock and you may be lucky. Bon chance.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?1  
Tendacayou971, Responsable relations publiques at Le Poisson Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2019

Dear Customer, We had a problem with opentable that put our reservations open online when we did not validate or set our booking times. You have unfortunately borne the cost of this miscommunication, in no case our jurisdiction but the precipitation of the commercial service...More

Reviewed 16 January 2019

We found Le Poisson Rouge via TripAdvisor, and I have to say, I'm glad we did. My husband and I literally had one of the best meals of our lives here. We started with a Marlon tartar, which was simply phenomenal. My husband had the...duck entree which came with a creole sauce (I think). He said it was absolutely spectacular. I ordered the seared tuna with a balsamic reduction for my entree. I don't even have words to describe how incredible it was. As soon as I took the first bite I was like, oh my goodness… how is it possible something can taste this good?(!) Simply to die for! Each of our meals came with sides of grilled okra and gratin potatoes. I'm not a big fan of okra, but I am now! For dessert we shared a salted caramel lava cake - superb. Totally worth the 4lbs. I gained on this trip! We were so impressed with the cuisine that we asked our server to give the chefs our regards, instead they asked us if we'd like to tell them ourselves, which we did. I have to tell you, I was honestly expecting them to be a couple of fancy celebrity chef-like dudes, but was pleasantly surprised to see that they were two local - EXTREMELY TALENTED - women. I'm trying to figure out how they're not known the world over! The restaurant interior is an eclectic mix of Japanese lanterns, and industrial fixtures/art. There are even actual fish swimming in portholes! We also LOVED the music selection, which was a great mix of cover songs - all of which were a lot more chill than the originals (how could a Nirvana song be relaxing? No clue, but it was!). Really fantastic ambience all around. The view from our table was stunning, although it got dark shortly after we arrived. I would highly suggest going for lunch if you really want to take in the scenery. When we were finished with our meal our server corked the bottle of wine we ordered so we could take it with us, which is a nice touch. My husband paid the bill and we went outside to wait for our taxi back to our hotel (which our server called for us). While we were waiting, our server ran out to thank us for coming and speaking with the chefs. Totally unexpected! I would also like to mention that we showed up around 30 minutes before they officially opened. We said we would sit at the bar and get a drink while we waited for the official opening, at which point our server said, "non problème" and sat us at their best table. That's what you call service. Easily one of the best meals I've ever had (right up there with Joe Beef and Au Pied du Cochon in Montreal) - i HIGHLY recommend checking it out if you're in the area!More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Tendacayou971, Responsable relations publiques at Le Poisson Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our table dear customer, we are delighted to read you. Looking forward to seeing you again,

Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

Somethimes you come to a place were everything is done the right way. Alexandra and Manon know what hospitality means. They are great! The restaurant is very cosy and if you have lunch you have a stunning view. Dinner is also great. The food is...very good. They sure know how to make a real good tuna. We cannot say it enough: the kitchen is very good but the hospitality is great!! Thank you Alex and Manon. Hope to see you again.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
Tendacayou971, Responsable relations publiques at Le Poisson Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2019

Thank you very much dear customer for this delicious comment. we will be happy to receive you again,

Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

Quite a long drive up the hill above DesHaies but worth it. This restaurant is designed to wow you on arrival. Lots of interesting artwork, signs etc. Looks like a fisherman’s shack. Menu interesting and varied. Creole style influences on French cuisine. Starters are expensive...14 euros but huge portions so good to share. Main courses varied quality. Ordered beef a point but got bleu. Still it melted in the mouth and tasted delicious in a foie gras sauce. The night we ate there was a table of 10 which caused a complete slow down in service for other diners. A couple next to us were kept waiting a long time for their main courses while the waiters poured the groups wine.....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
Tendacayou971, Responsable relations publiques at Le Poisson Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Thank you for sharing your visit to our table dear customers, we do our best to provide a smooth service, we hope that you will return to your next visit.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Caraib'Bay Hotel
369 reviews
1.63 km away
Tainos Cottages
56 reviews
2.12 km away
Le Rayon Vert
619 reviews
3.14 km away
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
1,284 reviews
4.76 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Paradise Kafe
687 reviews
1.12 km away
La Kaz du Douanier
428 reviews
1.10 km away
La Savane
911 reviews
1.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Jardin Botanique de Deshaies
5,069 reviews
1.59 km away
Plage de Grande Anse
1,810 reviews
1.09 km away
Spa Tendacayou
70 reviews
.02 km away
Calypso Plongee
206 reviews
1.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
RBal831
29 September 2018|
Answer
Response from Tendacayou971 | Property representative |
We will be open at christmas eve. to book, please send an email or give a call to 0590284272
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing